We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amazing Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We thought we had discovered paradise when we found this retreat on the internet, but the website didn't even do it justice! This retreat is truly amazing, everything about it from the gorgeous lodge, to the wonderful dinners, to the incredibly relaxing massages (we got three each, they were so good) was just outstanding.

We stayed in the Water lodge, it is so peaceful, very tastefully decorated in the Balinese theme which we love. It looks down on a huge lake with birds and platypi, we saw the platypi playing each day, and we had never seen a platypus before so it just made out stay.

We sat by the fire each night with our complimentary port, and found ourselves more relaxed than we have been for ages, we have been travelling a while, and really needed this luxury stay. Casey and Phil have generously provided everything we could possibly need for peace, romance and relaxation.

We will be back!! Soon!! And we highly recommend you staying here if you want to retreat from the world for a bit. Five star!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We got to have a look at all the lodges while we were there, they are all gorgeous, no one better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed in the earth lodge which was simply stunning, the surroundings the service and the earthiness.

My girlfriend was greated with 12 roses and chocalate and champagne on arrival( part of a romantic break package)

We had beautiful meals delivered to us and has the best sleeps you can imagine with a view on wakeup to die for.

the spa was great the pampering session a yoga in the serenity perfect, and couldnt fault a thing.

i recommend this to anyone in need of a break or just to spoil that someone special.

loved it loved it loved it.

casey and phill your awsome..

p.s i highly recommend the hot stone massage.. damn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylanPortMacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed in Water in August 2011 and I would not recommend staying in this cabin during winter. As a large portion is outside in the breezeway it is way too cold. Also, as the room has a lot of glass it also cools the room down, even with the air conditioners on. You have to walk outside to get from the lounge room to the bedroom so you have to dress warm. The fireplace is outside too and it would have been nice to have this inside. We wanted to get the dinner in our room but the hosts were out that night so we had to drive into Murwillumbah so could not stay in and enjoy the bottle of wine we were going to bring (would not drink and drive). We also had the massage and neither of us thought it was very good (I often have massages while I am away), especially for the price charged.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

We are very sorry this guest feels so badly about not having an evening meal provided for her. We do our best to provide extra services for guests, but sometimes prior engagements hinder. We let our guest know well in advance we couldn't provide dinners on the Saturday night, but could help with Friday night. We also let them know of the restaurant three doors down the road from our property, walking distance.

Water lodge is a rainforest lodge, and it is winter. The lodge has airconditioning in the lounge, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom, so it is easy to keep warm indoors. The fireplace is in the breezeway (internal verandah), and has sliding doors to keep any heat in. We have many return guests who stay in Water because they love the winter here.

The comment about the massages is very unfortunate, as these guests didn't have massages with us at all. Please disregard this part of the review, as it is completely incorrect. We have very specialised massages, which are done by the owner, and it is very very unfair for us to be rated on something which hasn't been provided.

We are more than happy to offer (and already have offered) our reviewer a complimentary evening meal when she returns to compensate for not being able to provide her evening meal, but our offer has not been acknowledged or accepted. We hope she will return one day and we can try to remedy her ill-feelings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My partner and I had stayed before, This time we invited two other couples and booked out the three lodges for weekend for my birthday dinner. Absolutely unique accommodation indeed. Helpful hosts indeed. BUT a bit too much of the she‘ll be right in the cooking. First night we cooked our own and had a barbq. Second night the hosts cooked for us. Meals were supposed to be all different ( Thai fish, eye fillet, Moroccan chicken ) but as they were delivered, they said oh sorry all the veggies will be the same. The meals were rather ordinary. BUT I had advised them well in advance that I had a serious garlic allergy. They said they had run a restaurant before. During the meal, Casey came running down and said “oh I’m sorry but I’ve just realised that there was garlic in your meal .. I didn't realise that aioili was garlic“. ... but it was too late, I was already starting to feel unwell and got sick and had to leave the party early and go and be sick in the room. Rather put a damper on the birthday celebrations so would advise anyone with any sort of food requirement to not trust them.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDebTheTravelDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

We are so upset to read this review. We thought we had been very helpful by providing the BBQ ingredients for their first night without any extra charge to them for our expenses in driving 10kms to purchase the food and arrange in their fridge.

The second night we didn't know there was garlic in one of the sauces, as the container didn't have the ingredients listed, it wasn't until we put it on our own dinner after delivering to the guests that we tasted the garlic, and raced straight to the lodge to let them know. The answer we got was that it was alright, the guest in question had realised straight away there was garlic in the little bit of sauce on her potato, and hadn't eaten it, so not to worry about it. As there was no further mention, or complaint from them, we assumed that this was correct. Imagine our surprise when we read she became ill and had to go back to her lodge early.

All our meals are served with 'vegetables of the day' which is on our menu. In this case, because of the amount of guests in the one sitting, we plated up restaurant-style putting all the vegetables into dishes that they could help themselves to. We thought this would be easiest. It is always difficult to get that amount of meals down to a lodge far away from our house, but we did our best. We are truly sorry that this wasn't good enough, and would have loved the opportunity to be able to compensate our guests before they left our property. It seems better for some people to just put reviews on forums rather than speak in person, which is a shame.

We do hope that these guests will come again, and we will endeavour to better serve them, and promise all other readers that our meals are usually wonderful, we have had thousands of guests just love our dinners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My Partner and I (& our dog) recently stayed at Wollumbin Palms Retreat in the Earth Lodge. This place is the most unique and quirky place I have ever stayed and with all the mod cons you would expect at 5 Star Resort (probably more actually.. coffee machine!). You get so much more for your money in this place though than just a drab hotel room. I made sure I was awake before 8am every day to watch the basket of delicious hot bread being lowered down to me from above, all from the comfort of my nice warm bed.

It was breathtaking to look out the massive glass windows to see an always changing Mt Warning standing tall in the morning sun...or not at all of course if it was an overcast day. The Earth lodge was so perfect for a romantic private get away that included an outdoor spa which despite the cooler temperature we still thoroughly enjoyed.. we came back inside to a roaring fire and set in for the evening with a glass of red wine.

I would also highly recommend a massage from Casey and we both want to thank Casey & Phil for a truly remarkable holiday. Their attention to detail, hospitality, warm nature and their respect for privacy is commendable. One more thing, if you stay here you should also have lunch or dinner at Mavis’s Kitchen (right next door). It was delectable and has the most gorgeous country atmosphere!

We will be going back for sure!
Olivia, Beth (& Prince Zeke)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Had such a beautiful time at Wollumbin Palms. The lodge was amazing and secluded and it was a perfect honeymoon for us. We loved having the outdoor spas and the food that Casey and Phil made for us was 5 star. Excellent friendly service and i could not recommend more highly. HAVE A MASSAGE. You won regret it!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belindapagden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

This was the second time we have stayed at Wollumbin Palms and we will definitely be back. A wonderful escape to relax and unwind. Very romantic!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murwillumbah
4.3 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
#5 of 7 in Murwillumbah
108 reviews
9.2 mi away
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Crystal Creek
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
#1 of 7 in Murwillumbah
65 reviews
16.9 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning

Address: 112 Mount Warning Rd | Mt Warning, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Murwillumbah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Murwillumbah
Price Range: $269 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate In Seclusion - our very unique, secluded & luxurious eco lodges for couples are tucked in the rainforest at the base of magical Mt Warning in northern NSW. This retreat offers something truly different from all other accommodation in the area. Featuring just 3 luxurious eco lodges tucked far away from each other on our 80 acre rainforest property, each one extremely unique & themed in style and outlook and all fully self-contained with everything you could possibly need for your romantic break away or honeymoon - from spas on the verandah to wood-burning fires in winter and a fridge stocked with breakfast goodies at no extra charge! Choose from "Water' - a 300 yr old Balinese Kings Temple with a suspended king size bed in a glass walled bedroom overlooking a waterfall, hand carved teak ceilings & doors, spa in the breezeway overlooking your own lake & koi pond; or"Earth" - a very unique and fun hobbit hole built into a hill. The front and back of the lodge are glass, and the roof and sides are grass! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing