We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation but wary of the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My partner and I had stayed before, This time we invited two other couples and booked out the three lodges for weekend for my birthday dinner. Absolutely unique accommodation indeed. Helpful hosts indeed. BUT a bit too much of the she‘ll be right in the cooking. First night we cooked our own and had a barbq. Second night the hosts cooked for us. Meals were supposed to be all different ( Thai fish, eye fillet, Moroccan chicken ) but as they were delivered, they said oh sorry all the veggies will be the same. The meals were rather ordinary. BUT I had advised them well in advance that I had a serious garlic allergy. They said they had run a restaurant before. During the meal, Casey came running down and said “oh I’m sorry but I’ve just realised that there was garlic in your meal .. I didn't realise that aioili was garlic“. ... but it was too late, I was already starting to feel unwell and got sick and had to leave the party early and go and be sick in the room. Rather put a damper on the birthday celebrations so would advise anyone with any sort of food requirement to not trust them.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDebTheTravelDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollumbinpalms, Owner at Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

We are so upset to read this review. We thought we had been very helpful by providing the BBQ ingredients for their first night without any extra charge to them for our expenses in driving 10kms to purchase the food and arrange in their fridge.

The second night we didn't know there was garlic in one of the sauces, as the container didn't have the ingredients listed, it wasn't until we put it on our own dinner after delivering to the guests that we tasted the garlic, and raced straight to the lodge to let them know. The answer we got was that it was alright, the guest in question had realised straight away there was garlic in the little bit of sauce on her potato, and hadn't eaten it, so not to worry about it. As there was no further mention, or complaint from them, we assumed that this was correct. Imagine our surprise when we read she became ill and had to go back to her lodge early.

All our meals are served with 'vegetables of the day' which is on our menu. In this case, because of the amount of guests in the one sitting, we plated up restaurant-style putting all the vegetables into dishes that they could help themselves to. We thought this would be easiest. It is always difficult to get that amount of meals down to a lodge far away from our house, but we did our best. We are truly sorry that this wasn't good enough, and would have loved the opportunity to be able to compensate our guests before they left our property. It seems better for some people to just put reviews on forums rather than speak in person, which is a shame.

We do hope that these guests will come again, and we will endeavour to better serve them, and promise all other readers that our meals are usually wonderful, we have had thousands of guests just love our dinners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

My Partner and I (& our dog) recently stayed at Wollumbin Palms Retreat in the Earth Lodge. This place is the most unique and quirky place I have ever stayed and with all the mod cons you would expect at 5 Star Resort (probably more actually.. coffee machine!). You get so much more for your money in this place though than just a drab hotel room. I made sure I was awake before 8am every day to watch the basket of delicious hot bread being lowered down to me from above, all from the comfort of my nice warm bed.

It was breathtaking to look out the massive glass windows to see an always changing Mt Warning standing tall in the morning sun...or not at all of course if it was an overcast day. The Earth lodge was so perfect for a romantic private get away that included an outdoor spa which despite the cooler temperature we still thoroughly enjoyed.. we came back inside to a roaring fire and set in for the evening with a glass of red wine.

I would also highly recommend a massage from Casey and we both want to thank Casey & Phil for a truly remarkable holiday. Their attention to detail, hospitality, warm nature and their respect for privacy is commendable. One more thing, if you stay here you should also have lunch or dinner at Mavis’s Kitchen (right next door). It was delectable and has the most gorgeous country atmosphere!

We will be going back for sure!
Olivia, Beth (& Prince Zeke)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Had such a beautiful time at Wollumbin Palms. The lodge was amazing and secluded and it was a perfect honeymoon for us. We loved having the outdoor spas and the food that Casey and Phil made for us was 5 star. Excellent friendly service and i could not recommend more highly. HAVE A MASSAGE. You won regret it!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belindapagden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

This was the second time we have stayed at Wollumbin Palms and we will definitely be back. A wonderful escape to relax and unwind. Very romantic!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My partner and i visited AWPR for our 8 year anniversary. We were greeted by Casey very warmly before taken to our lodge. We found it so hard to choose which lodge to stay in but in the end chose water for the outdoor shower and hammocks in the tree.
It definitely was a great decision. As Casey was showing us around the lodge we couldnt help notice that the lodge was much more beautiful than what the photos showed.
Once settling in, we were left to complete privacy. It was soo beautiful and relaxing. The food was unbelievable, we couldnt fault it. Phil came and personally introduced himself which was great. I highly recommend gettin the meal plan to be a surprise, it was a nice treat.
I really cannot fault this beautiful retreat. We will definitely go back but would love to give Earth a go
Thanks Casey and Phil, for a truely amazing experience in every way.
Scott and Samantha

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smigglee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Stayed in water lodge with my partner and elderly beagle and we all had the best time. Phil and Casey were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed here last November as a belated 1st Wedding Anniversary and could not have picked a better property for some romance and relaxation.

Located in a breathtaking piece of rainforest at the base of Mt Warning, about 15mins drive from the town centre of Murwillumbah, is the Amazing Wollumbin Palms and Amazing it certainly is.

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Phil and Casey's golden retriever, and not far behind was Phil who greeted us and had us follow his little van to Kings Lodge, (Now called Water) our lovely home for the next 3 days. It should be noted at this point that it had been raining heavily for about a week but that didn't affect the ambience of the property at all. Phil took us on a brief tour of the lodge and explained all the various bits and pieces and advised us that if we needed anything just to let them know.

The lodge was very comfortably appointed with 3 main areas. The first being the Lounge/Kitchen, beautifully furnished with decor to compliment the focal point of the lodge - the Javanese Prayer Rooms. Going through a magnificent door with very funky carved door knobs, and you are in the indoor/outdoor area. This holds the bbq, an outdoor table, the Koi pond, spa and day bed and is open on one side to the rainforest. We spent most of our time here in the spa sitting and listening to the sounds of the rain patter through the rainforest. Very snugly and romantic.

After the outdoor/indoor area you go through yet another beautifully carved door into the Bedroom/Bathroom area. The bed is certainly the focal point here - suspended on heavy chains from the ceiling and with opulent linen it really makes for a stunning room. To top it off the bed faces outwards towards full length windows, with views looking down to the lake and towards the side, a waterfall. The bathroom area is through yet another gorgeous door and has lovely wooden fittings and amenities. The main focal point in the bathroom would be the floor to celing window panels fitted on two sides of the shower so that you can look out into the rainforest as you shower. It is a bit disconcerting at first but as the lodges are so private it really emphasises the feeling that you lodge is not just set into the rainforest but truly a part of it.

We had a wonderful time and loved our beautiful lodge. We also enjoyed sampling some of the amazing local produce; Murwillimbah is a haven for organic foodies and littered with organic eateries/coffee shops and produce stores. Phil and Casey were wonderful hosts and very untrobusive, in fact we hardly encountered them at all during the course of our stay. We will definitely be going back again to sample the other lodges and look forwards to another wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murwillumbah
4.3 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
93 reviews
16.1 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mt Warning Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
#1 of 7 in Murwillumbah
63 reviews
16.9 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Crystal Creek
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning

Address: 112 Mount Warning Rd | Mt Warning, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Murwillumbah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Murwillumbah
Price Range: $309 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate In Seclusion - our very unique, secluded & luxurious eco lodges for couples are tucked in the rainforest at the base of magical Mt Warning in northern NSW. This retreat offers something truly different from all other accommodation in the area. Featuring just 3 luxurious eco lodges tucked far away from each other on our 80 acre rainforest property, each one extremely unique & themed in style and outlook and all fully self-contained with everything you could possibly need for your romantic break away or honeymoon - from spas on the verandah to wood-burning fires in winter and a fridge stocked with breakfast goodies at no extra charge! Choose from "Water' - a 300 yr old Balinese Kings Temple with a suspended king size bed in a glass walled bedroom overlooking a waterfall, hand carved teak ceilings & doors, spa in the breezeway overlooking your own lake & koi pond; or"Earth" - a very unique and fun hobbit hole built into a hill. The front and back of the lodge are glass, and the roof and sides are grass! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing