We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I took the family for a camping weekend last weekend , we arrived at 5.20 pm , and the office was not attended , so we went and set up in the camping area , the peace and serenity that this place offers is fabulous , we were one of about a dozen groups , the toilets and showers we clean and the showers were hot and good ,although i am trying to wonder how they cope with the grounds full with only 2 for each sex !! the camp kitchen is pretty good for facilities , all in all the only down sides were the price $30 per night for a powered site in a place that is out of the way , i thought was a bit ripe ! , and the only real pain was other campers , kids aged 6 - 10 running around and screaming out at 6.15 am , parents need to tell the children that other people share the area too.John and Gina.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went for a drive from the Gold Coast to have a look at the camping grounds in hope of bringing the caravan for a few days. Drove in and I've never seen anything so disgusting full of permanents in horrible vans which should be dumped and place was dirty I didn't even get out of the car (too scared). First Impressions not good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Robyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent park with very accommodating staff. Nothing was too much trouble for our large group. Gorgeous rambling stream beside the park, huge camp kitchen and very scenic with Mt Warning in the background.

Room Tip: No rooms just very clean cabins and good van sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here in our caravan for 4 nights in the Wilderness section which was lovely, however there were only 2 showers & 2 toilets for around 60 camp sites. Luckily for us it was just about empty for our visit. Would absolutely hate to be here in busy season.
The amenities are clean but really in need of an update. Looks like nothing spent on them for 30 years. The showers operate on a 'push button' system to activate the hot water and you really have to be quick to get your shower in. The first shower resulted in me washing my hair and running out of water before I could rinse off. Luckily there was another lady outside to push the button again.
All the bush walks were closed for maintenance which the Park Managers never told us about we heard about it from family just before our trip.
It's a great place to use this as a 'base' and go travelling over to the Tweed etc around 40Kms away.
I wouldn't want to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Wilderness Site for caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

stayed here for a week, found the location fantastic but the serious need for a total clean in the cabin, the lack of maintanence and the poor service very disappointing.
Could do with a major overhaul of buildings and management.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmpPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a magic location! Despite Mt Warning National Park being closed due to flood damage, we had no regrets about staying here and found plenty to do in the local area. The park is set in lush rainforest beside a babbling brook. Kids especially enjoyed roaming free in the outdoors and the compulsory campfire at night. We stayed in a cabin, which unfortunately was quite dated and shabby. The linen seemed old, a few light switches fell off when you touch them. Our cabin smelt of dog despite the No DOGS sign on the front door. However, we weren't there for a 5 star experience! Overall, the cabin was livable and functional. I would recommend staying here for the location and experience, just don't expect too much from the available accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneysider70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner and I booked an unpowered camp site for one night online for over the easter long weekend and drove down from Brisbane for it. When told we could choose from one of 2 sites we thought it would not be too cramped. Upon arriving at our site we found tents already in both of the sites we had to choose from, and if we had of put our tent up we would have been very close to other tents with no privacy. There were people on top of people. The place did not have a good feel to it and was certainly not the rainforest escape we thought it was going to be, and as perceived on the website. Lots of uncontrolled small children everywhere and on the park road so made it hard to get around. When complained to reception we were simply told 'it's easter.' We turned around and went home. This was clearly a case of an uncontrolled booking system and an overbooking of the campsites.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murwillumbah
4.1 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
100 reviews
5.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
#1 of 7 in Murwillumbah
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Tweed River Motel
Tweed River Motel
#2 of 7 in Murwillumbah
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
6.4 mi away
Murwillumbah YHA - Riverside Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Warning Rainforest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Warning Rainforest Park

Address: 153 Mount Warning Rd, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia (Formerly Mt Warning Caravan Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Murwillumbah
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Murwillumbah
Price Range: $96 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mt Warning Rainforest Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Warning Rainforest Park is just 35 minutes drive south from the Gold Coast Airport. Whether it’s a family holiday you’re looking for a romantic couple’s getaway, group booking or your travelling solo Mt Warning Rainforest Park has a variety of accommodation choices at affordable prices to suite.Mt Warning Rainforest Park is situated at the base of the World Heritage listed Mt Warning on NWS far North Coast, set on sixteen acres and surrounded by natural waterfalls, rock formations, fresh water streams and subtropical rainforest is just minutes away from Murwillumbah city central. Accommodation includes 50 powered Caravan sites, 91 unpowered camping sites with individual campfires allocated throughout. We have a choice of standard cabins, a fully self-contained deluxe cabin and 8 fully self-contained Ensuite cabins that come with complimentary Starter Packs of tea, coffee, soap and towels two bedrooms and sleeps up to six people, and all linen provided. Cabins are also equipped with a large open plan living/kitchen area full cooking facilities, fridge, heater, fan, TV, sofa and dining settings for six people, outdoor setting and BBQ on a private the verandah. The Parks guest facilities include a general store, two shower/toilet amenities a fully equip recreation room with internet facilities and wheal chair access, swimming pool, kids playground, camp kitchen and laundry, tennis court, picnic and BBQ area. Children are welcome to explore the Park on their own scooters and bikes as well; any children under four years of age stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mt Warning Rainforest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing