We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go again on a long week-end!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go again on a long week-end!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Mt Warning Rainforest Park over the October long week-end and were disappointed. The position is excellent being close to Mt Warning and there is a great little cafe within walking distance. This place is OK to put up with so you can get an early start on the walk up to Mt Warning. However, we would not stay there again for a long week-end. People were packed in, we had tents encroaching on our site and our friends' site. This was because there were five tents put on the adjacent site!! (all on the one site). We were also surprised to see that there were even tents on the footpath as you drove into the park. We were so packed in that some people had to wait for others to leave before they could actually get their camper trailers off their site. The amenities were clean but totally inadequate for the amount of people that were staying there that week-end. There were basically 2 female showers and toilets and 2 mens showers and toilets for hundreds of campers. My son had to pee in the bushes as he was unable to hold as long as he had to wait to get into a toilet. Also, in the female bathrooms only one shower would be hot at a time so really there was only one shower!!! There was a family bathroom but it was filthy with mud and I wouldn't take the kids in there to shower.
When you go to a place like Mt Warning you go to enjoy being in the rainforest setting and getting close to nature. This place was worse than being in the city with the amount of people crammed in. On the positive side, our fellow camper were generally considerate and the camp ground was quite at night after about 10.30 p.m. Such a great location it is a shame that management go for making as much money as possible over the long week-end without taking into consideration their campers' comfort

Room Tip: Don't go over busy periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HapiCamper04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mt Warning Rainforest Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi Hapicamper, thanks for your time and comments, long weekends are a concern to us here at Mt Warning Rainforest Park, the number of people who want to be here for these short few days is encouraging however to catering for everyones needs and satisfaction in not always met and we are sorry to not have met your standards. The site layout was designed in the early 70's when campers had one car and a small tent, now camper have large tents and camper trailers trying to fit on small sites, policy is one tent and one car per site, however because of this reason we allow repeat customers to book 2 sites or 3 sites between 2 parties.

The campers at the enterance to the park are 'on sites' and these sites are generally overlooked as most campers prefer to be out in the wilderness section. The issue of the amenties is an ongoing concern and we would like to have more toilets and showers in the wilderness area, our longer term goal, at the moment is to encourage camper to use the main amentities block situated in the main park. With the extra number of campers here over the long weekend we use this money to cover the costs of extra activities we put on, such as a Wildlife Walks and Reptile Shows. Then on New Years Eve we will have a live band for guests of the Park, and at Easter more activites organised.

And indeed, being a family friendly Park, guests are usually extremely accommodating and considerate to one another.

I would encourage you to come back to this peaceful and beautiful environment another weekend to experience the contrast between high and low seasons. .

Regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    23
    13
    12
See reviews for
35
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a camper trailer for five nights in the wilderness area. The facilities are good for campers, the staff are friendly and welcoming without being intrusive and the location is lovely. Plenty of things to do within a short drive (or even shorter walk) and the village of Uki is close and well worth a visit. Or feel free to do nothing and just relax. Not an option for me, camping with a five year old to keep entertained, but even that was not difficult. There's clearly work underway to refurbish the park, which is needed in parts, but it's fine now. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Godot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We camped at Mt Warning Rainforest Park during Easter. We have 3 children & we all loved our stay. The setting is beautiful.There was plenty to see and do. The facilities were well maintained. A real bonus for our family was being able to sit around a campfire at night, as you are unable to do this at many parks where we have stayed. We found the Manager Mark & all the staff to be really friendly and helpful, even during one of their busiest times! I recommend this park to fellow campers, we will definitely be returning!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

As has been our practice over some years now we camped recently at Mt Warning with family and friends but were sadly disappointed. The site is as always remarkable and the new entry
is very well done but the attitude of the manager is somewhat disappointing. My son & his wife
who arrived earlier paid particular attention to keeping their campsite in the marked area as did ourselves and most other campers. However even though the area next to us was indicated as a thoroughfare a young group were directed there including their cars. I have no issue with the campers as they were given the site by the manager as we saw him take the there even though there were other sites available without compromising others. Some of the wives complained to him about the issue.The managers attitude was the mute point when questioned. One lady questioned him at another time about toilet paper and his response was pretty ordinary then as well. We appreciate problems can happen but its the way one deals with it that determines a return. We left earlier than anticapated leaving us not only disappointed but quite a bit out of pocket. We live in a village with several other campers who we had previously reccomended this site to. Sadly that recomendation has now been changed.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank sparrow65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mt Warning Rainforest Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi Sparrow, I am also disappointed to here your camping expectations were not met, just a few responses to your issues raised but not exclusive. The group of campers on the other side of the thoughfair were not on the thoughfare. It was infact your cars on the thoughfare which comprimised the others camping area, when you asked me if I could do something about this I got them to remove there cars from the site and park in an of site carpark, for the conveinece of your group. Another point which you haven't raised is the constant driving of cars to the amenties block, both blocks are less than 60m in either direction, there are signs erected in the park asking camper not to drive to amenties blocks. While one of the wives in your group drove to the main amenities she parked on another campers site who had booked two sites for his family, this resulted in the said wife causing and argument with verbal and racial tuants. Once again I had to come to the aid of your group and settle the argument. We have a lot of nationalities come throught the park and racial comments towards fellow campers will not be tolerated. When accessing people concerns and complaints you also have to take into concideration the other parties issues and hearing one side is not always right. I spoke to people from your group while here, replied to your email, and now you have brought this to an open forum, once again I am disapointed we didn't live up to your expections, I know you live locally and would to invite you back again.

Regards Mark



Regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

On the way south we decided to walk Mt Warning and have a round at beautiful Murwillimbah Golf Course. As we didn't have the motorhome we booked a 2 bedroom cabin. This is a place that could be stunning as the setting is beautiful and some of the camping and powered spots are lovely. However, the cabin we were in was very tired, smelt damp and was in great need of a refurb. How hard is it to get a paint brush, paint the walls and put up some bright curtains or blinds and replace with fresh bedding. I think for what you get this is grossly overpriced and disappointing. The owners need to spend a weekend or two doing some sprucing up, as these cute little cabins could be absolutely lovely. Until they are done - go somewhere else or take a tent.

Room Tip: Take the motorhome, caravan or tent - don't bother with the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gizmosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Mt Warning Rainforest Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to offer a brief comment, we at the Mt Warning Rainforest Park encourage and value guest feedback taking all comments on-board objectively to ensure your next visit with us will be more enjoyable. Although we routinely maintain and clean Cabins to the highest standards daily, the maintenance and refitting of Cabins is proving to be a slow process due to the Cabins being constantly booked throughout the year. We sincerely hope that your stay with us left you refreshed and relaxed.

Kind Regards,
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Murwillumbah hotels

Caboolture, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We went there as a base for our fossicing trip for our Gem Club. The shared toilet/shower block are the best I have ever seen, the staff were extremely helpful and it was a relief to have the opportunity to visit a place where you aren't treated like a leaper because you have a dog. We have an Old English Sheepdog that suffers from depression if he isn't with us and this place gave us the opportunity to take our best mate with us and so the whole family could be together. I have told many of my friends about this place and most are keen campers, we look forward to all going together in the near future. Great atmosphere, great place, well worth getting to.

Room Tip: We camped in a camper trailer, however, the games rooms are well appointed, great fro teenagers, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Mt Warning Rainforest Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment, great to know your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to looking after you all again.

Kind Regards,
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My partner and I camped at the park a few months ago and loved it. The campground is right on the edge of the Mt Warning National Park with a beautiful stream running through. The amenities are good, staff friendly and you can walk to the National Park although if you plan to climb the mountain it would be best to drive. One of the things we enjoyed the most was having a camp fire every night, no other campgrounds we've visited allow you to have a fire, it was the closest thing to camping in the wilderness that we experienced on our trip up the east coast of Australia. If you want to spend time around the Byron Bay/Gold Coast area then base yourself here as both are only an hour away. The closest beach at Cabarita is great and only 25 minutes drive.

Room Tip: make sure you camp in the wilderness area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baraka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Mt Warning Rainforest Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to offer a brief comment, we at the Mt Warning Rainforest Park encourage and value guest feedback. The Park’s location is indeed a true gem, we sincerely hope your next visit with us will be just as satisfactory.

Kind Regards,
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murwillumbah
4.1 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mt Warning Bed and Breakfast Retreat
0.5 mi away
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
#1 of 7 in Murwillumbah
63 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tweed River Motel
Tweed River Motel
#4 of 8 in Murwillumbah
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Warning Rainforest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Warning Rainforest Park

Property: Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Address: 153 Mount Warning Rd, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia (Formerly Mt Warning Caravan Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Murwillumbah
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Murwillumbah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mt Warning Rainforest Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Warning Rainforest Park is just 35 minutes drive south from the Gold Coast Airport. Whether it’s a family holiday you’re looking for a romantic couple’s getaway, group booking or your travelling solo Mt Warning Rainforest Park has a variety of accommodation choices at affordable prices to suite.Mt Warning Rainforest Park is situated at the base of the World Heritage listed Mt Warning on NWS far North Coast, set on sixteen acres and surrounded by natural waterfalls, rock formations, fresh water streams and subtropical rainforest is just minutes away from Murwillumbah city central. Accommodation includes 50 powered Caravan sites, 91 unpowered camping sites with individual campfires allocated throughout. We have a choice of standard cabins, a fully self-contained deluxe cabin and 8 fully self-contained Ensuite cabins that come with complimentary Starter Packs of tea, coffee, soap and towels two bedrooms and sleeps up to six people, and all linen provided. Cabins are also equipped with a large open plan living/kitchen area full cooking facilities, fridge, heater, fan, TV, sofa and dining settings for six people, outdoor setting and BBQ on a private the verandah. The Parks guest facilities include a general store, two shower/toilet amenities a fully equip recreation room with internet facilities and wheal chair access, swimming pool, kids playground, camp kitchen and laundry, tennis court, picnic and BBQ area. Children are welcome to explore the Park on their own scooters and bikes as well; any children under four years of age stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Mt Warning Rainforest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing