We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, homestyle service”

Mavis's Kitchen Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Murwillumbah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Your meal at Mavis's Kitchen reflects what's important to us: food grown organically (in our own garden where possible), sourced locally, harvested seasonally and prepared and served with love. Our food philosophy has always been about low food miles, environmental sustainability and supporting our local community. Our aim is to create a space where people can reconnect with nature and savour the flavours of a local food experience. The restaurant is open for lunch Wednesdays to Sundays, dinner Fridays (tapas) and Saturdays (a la carte) and for breakfast on weekends. We also cater for weddings, functions and corporate events.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Loved the packed picinic lunch for mt warning treck, was sooooo yummy at the end of the climb and thanks for the fruit from your trees. Loved the delivered birthday dinner...delicious! Highly recommend for all ecoasis guests!!!!

1  Thank tracy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thanks so much for your positive feedback! We will be sure to pass your comments along to our team. We would like to give you a $15 gift voucher for taking the time to share your experience. Please contact us with your email or home address so that we may arrange delivery.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Mavis's Kitchen Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 308 of 348 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went for a family gathering as a party of six. The surroundings are beautiful, and we had plenty of time to admire it as we waited for almost two hours for our food to be served. The frustration was heightened by watching the people around us that had arrived and ordered later than us receive their food quickly.

When it arrived, it was underwhelming, very average taste and small portions, especially for the exorbitant prices.

We had ordered a cake as we were there for a birthday, and it was the only palatable part of the meal, unfortunately this also took a long time to arrive after we requested it, and then another long wait when we asked for some of it to be doggy-bagged.

To top off this less than stellar experience, five of the six present suffered mild food poisoning later that evening. I don't think we will be returning to mavis's kitchen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank TomVandalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MavisesKitchen, Manager at Mavis's Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

I have tried unsuccessfully to contact the author of this review for nearly 3 months.

They have given no right of reply

This review in my opinion is very suspicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hmm! Husband and I were hoping to visit the cafe up the road from Mavis' but it was closed so we decided to go to Mavis'. Food and service not great - decided that we would have a break from Mavis' for a while.
Daughter had a work function there recently and had an unpleasant experience also.
Don't want voucher Peter - lift your game. Jan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Jan R. Sorry to hear that your visit to Mavis's was an unpleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently attended a High Tea and was disappointed by the quality and quantity of food provided. For a large table of over 20 people we were served only three x three tier platters consisting of one tier of sandwiches, one serving of slices & cupcakes and one serving of scones......we had to serve our own tea from a side table with teabags! Come on guys, for $27.50pp you must be kidding! how much can a few quality ingredients cost? very disappointing.............

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Eva H, thank you for your comments regarding our 'High Tea' here at Mavis's.

To avoid any future disappointment we will now be serving our local Madura Tea from teapots at our High Tea functions.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is one of the five restaurants we regard as a "must visit" every time we head for the Gold Coast (usually four times a year).
The rainforest setting is somewhat remote in Uki near Murwillumbah about an hour from the coast and a car is essential (or a helicopter as one foursome arrived in on the day we were there). The restaurant is housed in a beautiful old Queenslander which the owners moved from its site at Labrador a few years ago (where we used to eat when owners Charley and Peter operated it as the "Harley Street Brasserie"). Now named after Charley's mum, Mavis.
We go there for lunch because we like the very pretty drive from Currumbin and for the rainforest and garden view from the restaurant upstairs. Friends have been there for dinner and stayed overnight at the cabins (which they loved).
The food is wonderful and prepared very simply and is always very fresh (the pate and the ham salad are standouts). The menu changes seasonally and is on a blackboard. You order drinks and meals from there. Overall atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. Waitstaff seem to change regularly but hostess Megan is lovely and keeps a close eye on everything.
Bookings are essential because it is a deservedly popular place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank gwegwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mavis's Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

Murwillumbah, New South Wales
Murwillumbah, New South Wales
 
Murwillumbah, New South Wales
Murwillumbah, New South Wales
 
Murwillumbah, New South Wales
Mount Warning, New South Wales
 

Been to Mavis's Kitchen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing