We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean”
Review of Valley View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley View Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murrurundi
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

A nice surprise with the motel. It is only 3 star but was very clean and the room was big enough for the four of us (2 adults and a 7 & 9 yo). The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was nice for the kids to have a swim after a hot day in the car with beach towels. Recommendation for dinner was spot on at the White Star hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Owner at Valley View Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We do appreciate your comments - glad you enjoyed your meal at the 'local' too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
18
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here in June 2012. The room was big enough for two people, and was very clean. The owners were really warm, welcoming and helpful. Murrurundi is a beautiful place, and we found this motel to be quiet, which one of us needed because we were in the middle of a very long distance walk! it was a great motel to rejuvinate!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Customer255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Owner at Valley View Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are delighted to have met you Sarah and pleased to have helped you on your long walk to Melbourne! Glad you enjoyed staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Good location as you come into town. Super check in , good price and excellent rooms for the price . Milk for tea and toaster for crumpets in morning - nice stay near road so one hears trucks in the distance . Clean bathrooms and overall a great stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregers1Indonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Owner at Valley View Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us - we do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Room was well supplied and clean but the air-conditioner was noisy and could not keep up the heat in the room (measured 12 deg C, which the manager disputed). The front door didn't seal, so cold air flowed freely into room. Placing a spare towel at the bottom of the door helped, as did the heater the manager supplied after some discussion and reluctance.
Very noisy, with semi-trailers using exhaust brakes down the hill which ended near the Motel.

Otherwise fair..

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 16 on a cold night! Wear earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaiDeeHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Owner at Valley View Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to add this review. We are sorry your stay was not up to standard - our aircon units are extremely reliable, but in accordance with Murphy's Law............ what you may have perceived as reluctance on my part, was more a concern with what had gone wrong with it, given that your room had been occupied for the previous 3 nights with no apparent problem. We are happy that the portable heater did its job and a draught excluder has been fitted to the door as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

The service at the Valley View was friendly but the motel gas many drawbacks. It is located on the edge if Murrurundi on a long hill traversed by the New England Highway. The motel rooms face the highway with ensuites facing the view. So not only do the rooms miss the view, they also coo the noise of trucks going up and down the hill. Like other motels in Murrurundi the rooms are desperately in need of a makeover. I was so far down the row of rooms I couldn't pick up the wireless Internet.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PadreJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Owner at Valley View Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for you comments Padre Jose - the motel has been here for over 40 years and in that time there has been a huge increase in traffic flow and a number of large native trees have grown and obscured the original valley view. By leaving them in place, it helps to lessen vehicle noise. Our WiFi service has been boosted since your visit and we have begun some room renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

received a friendly welcome at the valley view as a blow in recently. walking distance into a quaint town for dinner. the room does what it says on the box, clean, sleep quality good, nothing fancy

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Owner at Valley View Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We're pleased you were happy with your stay - thanks for taking the time to comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This motel is situated on the outskirts of Murrurundi and has very pleasant views of the upper Hunter Valley. It is situated in nice gardens with lots of roses and a covered BBQ area by the pool. The room was a compact older style room that was spotlessly clean and in good repair. Car parking is outside the door and covered with shade sails. The host was very helpful in explaining how to get to the walking track to “Eye of the Needle” which is well worth the climb and suggesting places to eat. The downsides to this motel are the highway noise, not really within walking distance of town - especially as you would be walking along the highway.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, Owner at Valley View Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback - next time you come through, we'll be happy to run you down to the local for dinner and a drink to save you driving - we've done it countless times! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrurundi
19.5 mi away
Best Western Quirindi RSL Motel
20.0 mi away
Scone Motor Inn
Scone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Scone
106 reviews
20.8 mi away
Airlie House Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Isis Motel Scone
Isis Motel Scone
#2 of 5 in Scone
69 reviews
20.1 mi away
Colonial Motor Lodge
Colonial Motor Lodge
#2 of 3 in Scone
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Motel

Property: Valley View Motel
Address: 244 New England Hwy, Murrurundi, New South Wales 2338, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Murrurundi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murrurundi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is on the NW boundary of Murrurundi, on the Tamworth end of town about 50 metres back from the highway & NO STAIRS! We have one room for those with a disability - sleeps 3 people in a queen and long single. Complimentary use of a shower chair and commode chair if needed. We also have one 'pet-friendly' room, so ring us well in advance to check the availability of either! If you plan to arrive late and/or leave early, please ring us, as plans can be made for payment and keys, etc. Plenty of space to park vehicles with trailers - ring and tell us if you are towing - we can offer advice before you arrive! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Valley View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing