We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elopement!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Mullumbimby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elopement!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were looking for a incredible location to have an Elopement Wedding for just us and 2 witnesses to share our day. We found Koonyum Range Retreat online and was amazed by the amazing pictures.
I contacted Koonyum through their website and they were more than happy to provide a package including organizing the celebrant and make up. Piari was also great allowing us to view the property while we were in Byron for a weekend visit.
Leading up to the day, Piari and Kirstie were happy to answer any questions and also provided information on getting a treatment done while staying there and kept us posted closer to the date and made sure we had directions and a suggested list of preferred photographers etc.
The location was amazing and everything we had hoped for with our big day. We stayed in the Koonyum Villa and the spa on the deck was amazing. Only draw back, there is no table and chairs on the deck - would be great to be able to eat on the deck and take in the view.
Piari made us an amazing dinner for our wedding night and everything was so relaxed, including the facial I had onsite and their choice of make up artist and celebrant were all great.
Its definitely a location you can go to for a relaxed private retreat.
From our experience Koonyum is set up as a private retreat where you are left to your own devices (no phones!) where you can come to relax without interruptions from the outside world. Piari is only a phone call away at the main house if you need anything and was more than happy to help with anything leading up to and on our actual visit.
We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piari L, Manager at Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Matt & Jen, thank you for your wonderful review - we are so happy to have assisted you in creating such a wonderful experience for you on your wedding day. You inspired us to create a special Elopement package as a result!
We welcome your feedback in regard to having a dining table on the balcony of the Koonyum Villa - we have been trying to work out where to put one without losing the outdoor lounge area, so we will have to put our thinking caps back on.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kirstie & Piari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    21
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
96
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July (The Edge) and it was perfect. We loved everything about The Edge and the Koonyum from the villa itself, the heated spa (especially being in there at night with the stars above) the fridge was stocked with breakfast options, the privacy and the amazing sounds of the wildlife at night time. This was the perfect retreat and the owners were charming. We will return again and enjoy the infinity pool when there is no building work going on in the main house. If your hesitant than don't be it's a winner!

Room Tip: Make sure you take some good BBQ food with you although a quick drive to town will sort whatever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbaneManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a weekend here (the Edge) and it was amazing. Wonderful location and views. We had a meal on our first night and it was delicious - I would absolutely recommend the sashimi. Best eaten outside on the balcony under the stars. We'll be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Globalreefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at Lotus, very pleasant and private, great view, but I felt better that we got a discount, the full price seems a bit over the odds.

No stove, but you can easily get by with the microwave and the BBQ. Dining table is outside, but under good cover.

I notice a few other guests have commented on the dog inviting itself over. This is not actually cool or 'eco' in a bush location, so I strongly suggest restraining it.

As a positive 'eco' suggestion, I'd make more of Mt Jerusalem NP, and put the right maps in the rooms. You might not realise, that the retreat is right on the road into this attractive park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We recently stayed at Koonyum for two nights for a 5th Anniversary. It was everything we thought it would be... Very private, beautiful setting... Did not see another soul following being greeted on the first day... Owners will need to be careful with upkeep as it is running the risk of getting a little tired but nothing that is not easily upgraded... We had a fantastic time and definitely would return to Koonyum, just for the view and the spa...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piari L, Owner at Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we're so happy that you had such a wonderful anniversary stay with us. Thank you for your feedback in regard to your villa, we agree! The Edge is being renovated in 2 weeks time, with new paintwork, polished floors and new blinds. We hope that when you come next time you will appreciate the fresh changes. Warm Regards, Piari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently for the purpose of some badly needed R & R. Once we arrived we did not leave. It was absolute bliss. With exquisite views over the valley back to the coast, even the beautiful photos don't do it justice. We stayed at the Lotus Villa and with the exception of a welcome visit, didn't sight anyone else the whole time we were there. We read, lounged, cooked and watched the view change as the sun went across the sky. This place is a great example of a real retreat from the outside world and we certainly look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Koonyum Range Retreat for a week and it was amazing! The views from our villa were breathtaking, with hills that go on for miles around you - its perfect if you are looking to have some peace and quite. It really is like stepping into another world. The villa is spacious, very stylish and comfortable and the staff/owners are all very nice and helpful but also give you your space which is perfect. I particularly loved sitting in the outside spa at night, under the stars. We didn't want to leave! Will be going back for sure.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullumbimby
11.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
10.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
12.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
10.1 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay

Property: Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay
Address: 192 Koonyum Range Rd | Wilson's Creek Road, Mullumbimby, New South Wales 2482, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Mullumbimby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mullumbimby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our private, award winning sanctuary is nestled among billowing eucalyptus with stunning panoramic ocean views. Perched on the edge of an amazing cliff, Koonyum Range Retreat offers ultimate rejuvenation and the perfect escape. Breathtaking ocean views across rolling hills, and beautiful sunrises in the privacy of your very own sunlit villa or studio, are just the beginning. Here time flows to the gentle pulse of nature. Koonyum Range Retreat is nothing short of spectacular. Just far enough away to be secluded, but only a short distance to both Byron Bay and Mullumbimby, our retreat is ideal for a romantic getaway, honeymoon, fun adventure, or a rejuvenating rest, where you can escape your busy life to enjoy special moments. Our 3 luxurious boutique villas and studio are suited to couples looking for that extra special romantic getaway or honeymoon, or singles looking for a self-indulgent break. We also have a beautifully appointed private studio located below the Main House next to the Infinity Pool with it's own separate entrance. Each villa has beautiful Japanese inspired red cedar interiors, providing a luxurious haven within cool Mediterranean style rendered walls, beautiful bedrooms, and spectacular views from your very own privately heated mosaic or sunken deck spa. Our poolside studio features rendered walls, marble flooring, kingsize bed, beautiful views and is fully self contained with it's own balcony area. All of our villa guests are invited to use the stunning infinity pool and gazebo perched on the edge of an amazing cliff. The panoramic mountain range, complete with waterfall and ocean views, are some of the most spectacular to be seen anywhere in Australia. At Koonyum Range Retreat we can also provide the experience of delicious gourmet dining and relaxing treatments, all in the privacy of your very own villa. All rates include a Gourmet Breakfast Hamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing