We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Mullumbimby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shellharbour, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“A slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

What an amazing time we had in Nov for four nights......we lived in complete five star luxury. The villa was spectacular, everything we expected. Thank-you to you Piari & Michael for making our experience truly relaxing, nothing was too much trouble......you regularly checked that we were satisfied and in need of anything......and all this done with a friendly smile. If you’re looking for a private break with a unique location, this is it!! We both thank you again and we will be seeing you soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandyo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    21
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
96
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Our stay at Koonyum was truly amazing. We came with high expectations and they were certainly exceeded. The Villa had an uninterrupted phenomenal view of the valley and the ocean, which we never wished to leave. The amenities supplied by Piari and Miki meant that we could maximise every moment of this little piece of heaven, as we did not need to leave often. We could not have asked for a better place to spend our peaceful getaway that we had desired. We would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Koonyum Suite for three nights and loved every minute. Next time we will need to stay longer to give us time to enjoy Koonyum more, but also to explore the area in more detail. Even though the weather was not ideal the warm spa on the balcony and the fire place in the lounge made life good! When we woke on the second day clouds were in the valley below and drifted up and down all day. This was a magical experience. The view over the valley from the balcony and the main bedroom at night is spectacular. The cleanliness, friendliness and peacefullness of Koonyum Retreat is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolf m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 nights in paradise. This was our first visit to Koonyum Range Retreat and definitely won't be our last. We are a stressed and busy couple that spends a lot of time overseas on business and a lot of time apart and this little hidden gem was just the tonic we needed. Lovely host and owner Piari accommodated us in the 2-bedroom Koonyum Villa and it was perfect. Piari met us on arrival to give us a brief orientation of the villa, pointed out the delicious and generous breakfast supplies, offered her services should there be anything we needed and then left us in peace to enjoy our break. We didn't see another soul at Koonyum until we left and on this occasion, that was just the way we wanted it. The villa has everything we needed and is clean and luxuriously rustic. Little things like tea candle supplies, filtered water and a coffee machine were wonderful. The views from the bedrooms, living area and deck were to die for. The wine flowed, the music played and our private hot tub and wood burning heater were fabulous additions to the well equipped villa. We felt we had complete privacy for the duration and it could not have been better. We left feeling refreshed and totally in sync. Can't wait to escape to Mullumbimby again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leajoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We first visited Piari and Micky @ Koonyum Range Retreat about 5 years ago.

Back then, when my wife first walked through the sliding doors of the Lotus Room, looking out over the valley to the ocean in the distance, she thought she was a rock star. 5 years later she still thinks this!

Where else in the world do you have a magnificent waterfall and national park on the left, deep valley with dairy & sugar farms below, and the Pacific Ocean out in the distance. Panoramic. Beautiful. Private.

We've come to know Piari and Micky over the years, hearing their story(ies), watching them and their place grow. As much as you can feel like extended family at a holiday retreat - we do. They really look after us. And they know how to observe privacy.

I imagine we'll be coming back for years to come. There are few places in Australia that are as uniquely spectacular, private and homely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xyzzy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast qld
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The most beautiful little place. We stayed for 2 nights but should have stayed longer. The villa is amazing and the views awesome. The outdoor spa on the deck that was so warm on such a cold wintery night very romantic. The breakfast hamper was gourmet and more than you could ever eat and was available to be replenished at your request I would highly recommend this as a romantic getaway or just a little rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Koonyum Range Retreat in May 2011. We went away because we wanted to get escape work and have a week of total relaxation together. We were at Koonyum for five nights in total and it really was perfect for what we wanted. It was like our own little home tucked away in the mountains. It was very private - not at all like a hotel or a resort. At times we felt like we were the only ones around, which is exactly what we wanted.

To get to Koonyum you have to drive through the township of Mullimbimby, which is surprisingly busier and bigger than we expected. Then it takes about another 15 minutes of driving up the mountain on a very narrow, windy road. The last half of the climb is on a dirt road and is quite bumpy. If you are precious about your car this may be an issue, but my boyfriend and I thought it only contributed to the "retreat" feel.

When we got there Piari, the owner, met us in our room - well, actually it was more like a little home all to ourselves. We stayed in the Koonyum Suite. Piari dropped us off a big breakfast hamper of croissants, jams, eggs, muesli, yoghurt and juice. It lasted us a couple of days and we just had to call her when we wanted more and she would leave it at our door for us. The suite was absolutely beautiful. The bedrooms and bathrooms have amazing views out to the mountains. The deck is huge, looks straight out to the mountains with a spa and beautiful big couch. We had breakfast out there every morning - it was so relaxing!

One of the best things about the suite we stayed in was that it had a kitchen with all the basic cooking ingredients. So my boyfriend and I were able to do some grocery shopping in the day, come home in the evening, have a spa, then cook a nice dinner together with a bottle of wine,. We would then rug up on the couch and watch a movie on the big screen TV.

We were worried we might run out of things to do or get a bit bored staying there so long, but this definitely wasn't the case. In the day times we would take trips to Byron Bay, or go on the walks in the nearby national parks. We also went swimming in the pool at Koonyum, which is absolutely stunning. It is an infinity pool so it completely drops off on the edge with a beautiful view of the mountains. One afternoon Piari even came for a run with me along Koonyum Range Road - that was great fun!

My boyfriend and I opted not to make use of the food options at Koonyum, probably because we thought they were quite expensive and we were looking forward to taking the time to cook meals together. We did however make use of the massages on offer. A lady came to our room and gave us both one hour massages, which was very enjoyable.

I think that's about all the detail I can give you but all in all our stay at Koonyum was just what we needed. If you are after a hotel/resort feel then this definitely isn't the place for you, but if you want a private, quiet getaway with tranquil surrounds then you will love Koonyum.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLaurenOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullumbimby
10.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
11.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
12.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
20.3 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay

Property: Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay
Address: 192 Koonyum Range Rd | Wilson's Creek Road, Mullumbimby, New South Wales 2482, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Mullumbimby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mullumbimby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our private, award winning sanctuary is nestled among billowing eucalyptus with stunning panoramic ocean views. Perched on the edge of an amazing cliff, Koonyum Range Retreat offers ultimate rejuvenation and the perfect escape. Breathtaking ocean views across rolling hills, and beautiful sunrises in the privacy of your very own sunlit villa or studio, are just the beginning. Here time flows to the gentle pulse of nature. Koonyum Range Retreat is nothing short of spectacular. Just far enough away to be secluded, but only a short distance to both Byron Bay and Mullumbimby, our retreat is ideal for a romantic getaway, honeymoon, fun adventure, or a rejuvenating rest, where you can escape your busy life to enjoy special moments. Our 3 luxurious boutique villas and studio are suited to couples looking for that extra special romantic getaway or honeymoon, or singles looking for a self-indulgent break. We also have a beautifully appointed private studio located below the Main House next to the Infinity Pool with it's own separate entrance. Each villa has beautiful Japanese inspired red cedar interiors, providing a luxurious haven within cool Mediterranean style rendered walls, beautiful bedrooms, and spectacular views from your very own privately heated mosaic or sunken deck spa. Our poolside studio features rendered walls, marble flooring, kingsize bed, beautiful views and is fully self contained with it's own balcony area. All of our villa guests are invited to use the stunning infinity pool and gazebo perched on the edge of an amazing cliff. The panoramic mountain range, complete with waterfall and ocean views, are some of the most spectacular to be seen anywhere in Australia. At Koonyum Range Retreat we can also provide the experience of delicious gourmet dining and relaxing treatments, all in the privacy of your very own villa. All rates include a Gourmet Breakfast Hamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing