We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice It Up

Spice It Up
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Mullumbimby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really great Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Prawns, pork , everything was tasty. Funny little place but great food. We all enjoyed our meals and shared around a bit.

Helpful?
Thank ArtieEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Tasty Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our extended family of 11 people organised the complimentary shuttle bus to/from Brunswick Heads. We had a lovely time. The venue has no atmosphere whatsoever. The only way I can describe it is casual. However, what it lacks in ambience it makes up for in good, tasty, Thai food. Our highlight dishes were the curry puffs and the Penang and Masaman curry. We were disappointed with the signature dish - the whole snapper. The fish was very strong tasting with too much thick, overpowering curry. We will come back again next year when next in Bruns.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Tasty & consistently good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Have been a regular at Spice it Up for years & never have been disappointed. The food is always good and staff really friendly. Love the curry puffs, masaman & green curries. Not mad about the new venue though in the bowls club. Not as private for couples as all the other tables face you & more screaming kids running around. Been getting more takeaways lately.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Webtones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bit of a barn but super food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Soft shell crab, scallops, duck, beef and steamed veggies - all great in this large and very popular restaurant at the Mullumbimby bowling club. Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, if very young, waiting staff. And a very reasonable price (around $100 for 4 with a bottle of wine, a beer and a generous and well-deserved tip).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiceMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Busy times need better service to go with the great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

After hearing various positive comments in recent months, I saved up for when my friend form Sydney was visiting the area. We ordered a shared mixed entree plate which was generous with calamari rings alongside the sweet potato filled curry puffs, chicken satay and spring rolls. I ordered the Pad Prik Sod with pork and found the dish full of fresh flavours. For my friend's dish the staff belatedly explained that they'd out of egg noodles, so fat rice noodes were requested instead. Maybe the order went to the end of the queue after that as there seemed an inordinate delay. I actually think they forgot we'd already had the entree when another was rerouted after leaving the kitchen. When it arrived, the Gang Dang red curry was not very hot for a medium heat request, and resembled a Masuman without the potato. The chef's signature dish of a whole Snapper cooked with a topping of dry curry sauce and crispy basil seemed to be popular, if the number coming out of the kitchen was an indicator. Maybe we should have selected that one - but we were happily satisfied with the two main dishes. Only 4 more curries and 6 wok dishes to try beside the 3 signature dishes, 5 salads, 2 soups, laksa, 5 rice & noodle dishes... Another evening after the school holiday crowd has gone home perhaps!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PlanetPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice It Up also viewed

Mullumbimby, Byron Shire
Mullumbimby, Byron Shire
 
Mullumbimby, Byron Shire
Mullumbimby, Byron Shire
 

Been to Spice It Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing