We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a magical place!”

Crystal Castle & Shambhala Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.82*
and up
Byron Bay and Beyond Tour Including Cape Bryon Lighthouse Crystal Castle and...
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Mullumbimby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A short scenic journey into Byron's hinterland lies a faraway magical place.Walk among gods through the famous Buddha Walk, lined with rose quartz, hand carved statues and home to four metre blessing Buddha. Breathe in the stunning gardens, rainforest and find yourself in the ancient labyrinth.
Behold the southern hemisphere's only Kalachakra World Peace Stupa, an amazing monumental project blessed by His Holiness the Dalai Lama.Everyday at 3.10 pm, find peace with 'The Crystal Castle Peace Experience', a unique free offering that deepens sense of wellness with enriching sound healing baths, meditations and sacred 'Kora' walks.Marvel at the exquisite jewellery and amazing crystals from all corners of the globe. With an extensive collection of books, CDs, body products and unique gifts ideal to suit any occasion.
Relax at the Lotus Cafe and drink in the breathtaking views of the Byron hinterland while enjoying amazing healthy food and tempting treats. 
Only 20 minutes from Byron Bay and 40 minutes from the Gold Coast airport.Ignite the senses, enrich your spirit.Discover the jewel of Byron.Open 10am - 5pm NSW time. Except Christmas Day, Boxing Day and Good Friday.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a magical place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Everything about Crystal Castle is magical: the gardens are fantastic, peaceful and surreal. The restaurant offers fantastic food, reasonable priced and you can spend hours wondering in the different shops or attend free meditation classes! Love it!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perlini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    145
    58
    31
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for a day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've been to Crystal Castle a number of times and we're more likely to come back. It's a lovely spot to spend a day with our young family, walking the maze, relaxing in the gardens or enjoying the shade of the bamboo. The shop always holds an interesting find for us and the café serves refreshing drinks and a delicious bite. I usually bring our visitors here and have never walked away disappointed. Sometimes we stumble upon extra activities such as a free art class or a performance. Crystal Castle is a great attraction to have in one's backyard, and even though the entry fee is slightly high for a family, one can clearly see where the $$ get re-invested.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poohooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friends and I went to visit the Crystal Castle. We had such a wonderful day. Just as well that we arrived just after it had opened as we were there until closing time.

As we arrived at the Crystal Castle we noticed the large World Peace Stupa on our left. It is a wonderful structure. On entering the grounds we firstly walked around the labyrinth and the garden area at the front looking at the large crystals. When we got to the courtyard we were amazed at the size of the crystal sphere in the large bowl. We decided to have coffee and cake for morning tea in the Lotus Café which was very nice.

We started at the Discovery Room and then went to the bookshop. There is a great selection of books, CDs and card sets. I bought a boxed set of crystal cards “Crystal Spirits”which are so lovely. They have a large selection of crystals bowls. A couple of my friends had readings done and also their aura photos taken.

We then went to the showroom. A lot of time was spent here as it was hard to decide which jewellery and gemstones to buy. They have such a huge selection and the staff are very helpful.

Finally we finished there and it was lunch time. We enjoyed a delicious meal as we looked at the stunning view of the valley below. It is such a beautiful and peaceful place.

After finishing lunch we walked down the back steps and went and stood inside the Rose Quartz Sacred Circle and then walked through the Amethyst Gateway. We then walked down to the Buddha and Lotus Pond. It is such a beautiful statue.

We continued to walk around the grounds admiring the huge statues, plants and crystals. We then walked down the bamboo grove which was a wonderful experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KezzaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The most amazing place I have visited. It is so peaceful because it is up in the mountains and away from the hustle and bustle of any town. You can visit all the different areas they have and make an offering to all the different deities, walk the peaceful labyrinth, walk the rose quartz circle, see the big Buddha and so much more. They have some of the most amazing flowers that I had never seen before. You can have a reading done and you can have your aura photo taken. They have two shops and they have a cafe as well. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford NSW Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow! Wonderful place for a day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place is just beautiful - great for a wander, great to look at the gardens, cafe is great, shopping is good, although not cheap.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeminiDreama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Castle & Shambhala Gardens also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Mullumbimby, Byron Shire
 

Been to Crystal Castle & Shambhala Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing