We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luhana Motel & Horse Stables
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moruya
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Budget motel with a big price tag on January long weekend. Tired, tiny and tacky. Cleanish but a depressing spot. Paid for two nights but left after one. Bed is very small and you could hardly swing a cat in the room. Laundry didn't look great either. Do yourself a favour keep driving...unless you are the horsey type!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Luhana Motel & Horse Stables
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 45 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My mother & I stayed at the Luhana Motel for 2 nights while visiting relatives in Moruya. Our check-in was easy & our room was clean & comfortable. Breakfast was delivered to the room each morning at the requested time. Overall, a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenTraveller1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Greeted by a freindly manager who went out of his way to accommodate our requests. Room was clean and comfortable including tea and coffee making facilities, toaster, microwave and cuttlery. Provided excellent advise on local beaches and places to eat. While the cost was a bit more than expected the pool, tennis court and play area were wonderfull for the kids and an added attraction. Very nice full cooked breakfast got us off to a good start. Highly recommended would go back again.

Room Tip: Many room options to chose from
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Initial phone calls as per other posts gave the impression, staff were friendly and welcoming but our 4 stay day was the opposite. Difficult to get a smile out of the Managers each day as they went about servicing rooms and breakfast - almost felt we were in their way. The room we had was very basic and again showing its age. The reading lights for the double bed were attached to the bedhead itself, preventing sitting up in bed without knocking your head on the two fixtures each time. The position of the toilet in the ensuite, was also impractical, particularly for other half at 6 foot, with no room to...unless you were a contortionist, doubt the toilet position would meet basic Aust. design standards. The rates charged were excessive for the quality (just under $800 for 4 nights). At check out, same unfriendly, gruff lady too. We have stayed at many budget and high end accomodation - this motel did not measure up. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Island-Miti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night late December. When I had called to book the room the lady had seemed very friendly and helpful, ensuring we had a bigger room to fit our portacot for our baby and talking about the home cooked breakfast we could get etc etc. We had the impression that it would be a welcoming and friendly place to stay.

When we checked in we asked for some recommendations about good local places to eat...being told there are lots of places on the Main Street and walking away was not helpful at all. Lucky we chose the Thai place to eat was delicious and reasonably priced. The room was big, and we were thankful for that. The room was dated and there were dead cockroaches on the floor. The bathroom was also dated but a good shower. Microwave and some crockery in the room which was good.

Breakfast was an overpriced disappointment. To pay $15 for poached eggs and tomato on 1.5 bits of plain white toast was not ok. My partner had scrambled eggs and bacon- the bacon was cold and hard and the eggs were omlette like. We did note the night before that some of the cafes in town did breakfast for less. Breakfast was delivered only between 7 and 8 and was by the same unfriendly man who had checked us in the night before.

Maybe we struck them on a bad day. But we were disappointed and felt ripped off - $145 plus another $35 for breakfast was too much for this tired and unfriendly motel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OscarMikewithIggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were surprised at how small the room was. It may have been OK for a single traveller who didn't have to negotiate around another person as well as the limited furniture in the room. We did notice that some rooms were a bit larger, so suggest looking for these if more than one person. Although the motel as a whole is a bit tired looking, some recent furnishing improvements and painting have being undertaken. The shower was fine and the microwave also appreciated. Our window curtain didn't cover the whole window and let in light from the lighting outside, but fortunately these went off at 11pm. Units were back from the road, and we didn't hear any road noise, making for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burdekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Within walking distance to shops, clubs and restaurants. Fairly average motel showing its age. Bed was a bit uncomfortable. $145 per night seemed a bit high for the quality of accommodation. Traffic was noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDHBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moruya
14.9 mi away
Quays Hotel
Quays Hotel
#2 of 18 in Batemans Bay
85 reviews
15.8 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort Batemans Bay
1.3 mi away
Moruya Motel
Moruya Motel
#1 of 3 in Moruya
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moruya Waterfront Hotel Motel
4.2 mi away
BIG4 Moruya Heads Easts Dolphin Beach Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel Motel
Monarch Hotel Motel
#3 of 3 in Moruya
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luhana Motel & Horse Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luhana Motel & Horse Stables

Address: 82 Princes Hwy, Moruya, New South Wales 2537, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Moruya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moruya
Price Range: $77 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luhana Motel & Horse Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Luhana Motel Moruya Moruya's Premier Motel Accommodation Award Winning, AAA rated 3.5 Star Motel in Moruya. 18 comfortable rooms of different configurations and rates, recently refurbished to suit all needs and budgets. Great central location, all conveniences at your fingertips. Facilities include:- Free Wireless Internet - Outdoor Saltwater Swimming Pool- Children’s Playground - plenty of space to stretch and run around! - Tennis Court (free)- BBQ Area (free)- Guest Laundry - Reverse Cycle Air Conditioning - Conference Room & Catering - Horse Stables (horse accommodation)- Plenty of Parking - Delicious Room Service Breakfast (using our own free range eggs)- Spacious Grounds with lovely rural views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luhana Motel & Horse Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing