We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Bar - view to die for, food and service to match.”

Rick Stein at Bannisters
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Mollymook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant is a reflection of Rick's passion for seafood and the coastal lifestyle which he has enjoyed for most of his life. As he says: "nothing is so exhilarating as fresh fish, simply cooked". He believes that fresh seafood should speak for itself. While he enjoys occasional fine dining, his food is much more about what he really likes to eat: a plate of Clyde River oysters, a pot of Illawarra prawns with mayonnaise, a mound of spanner crab, a slice of blue eye or a perfectly grilled sand whiting.We like our service to be informal but observant and enjoy employing local people who may lack the total polish of fine dining restaurants, but who more than make up for it with a genuine welcome.Peter Bacon, General Manager
Malua Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pool Bar - view to die for, food and service to match.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We were staying up the road and popped in for a drink and dinner at the Pool Side Bar. The view is to die for, with food and service from the friendly staff to match! Highly recommend the Salt & Pepper Squid and Pumpkin Rocket Pine Nut Pesto Pizza YUMO! Small cocktail list but not a bad selection. Great place to chill and relax on a summers evening :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirrel0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear squirrel0021,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Pool bar with the Tripadvisor community.

It's wonderful to hear you had such friendly service with great food and cocktails.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the pool bar in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    243
    146
    51
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Rick Stein at Bannisters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Located at a gorgeous spot where drinks can be enjoyed by the bar before dinner by the infinity pool looking out to views of the sea. In the restaurant we looked out at the trees framing the ocean beyond & received friendly & helpful service. We have eaten here before. The food is almost all seafood. It is beautifully cooked & presented. And I love desserts - mine here was delicious: a chocolate fondant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PamAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear PamAlbury,
Thank you for your review of Rick Stein at Bannisters, we appreciate your continued support of the restaurant.

I am delighted to hear that your service was friendly and efficient and that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bannisters in the future.

Best regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food with Bowling Club service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

When a restaurant charges prices comparable to Aria in Sydney, you'd better ensure the service is top notch. Sadly, despite the excellent cuisine, Bannisters complements its menu with bowling club service. It took a good twenty minutes to get a glass of water let alone a drink. Other diners alongside us were just as frustrated and i was almost tempted to get up and go to the bar while our two drinks sat tantalisingly on the bar as staff rushed passed them. Luckily a camaraderie between diners ensued and we even shared our salt and pepper shakers with one another when various ones didn't work. The waitress spent endless hours on the table service computer tapping away like a woman possessed. She either needed more help, or perhaps a pen and paper for the orders. It verged on the comical. A quick visit for staff to a five star establishment in Sydney would do them the world of good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelReviewerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Hotelreviewersydney,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback from your dining experience at Bannisters. I thank you for your compliments about our cuisine however I am very disappointed to hear our service fell short.

We aim for our service to be casual, friendly and attentive, obviously we have dropped the ball on his occasion.

Please accept my sincere apology on behalf of our team and Rick. This is certainly not the standard we expect for our guests and rest assured we have taken your comments seriously.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to make up for this less than ideal experience. Should you be heading south again please feel free to contact me directly.

Best regards,
Peter Bacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bannisters is Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Bannisters, Rick Stein's Australian signature restaurant (he has another in Cornwall) is simply brilliant. Bannisters is part of a small hotel perched high on the cliff of Jones Beach, a couple of kilometers from Mollymook beach NSW. The evening started beautifully by being picked up at our hotel in Mollymook beach by the restaurant courtesy car. When we arrived for a late dinner at 9:00pm the restaurant was packed. Saturday is very popular and you should always make a reservation. We had a pre dinner drink in the poolside bar where guests were relaxing in the sea air.

Our table was ready right on 9:00pm and the restaurant had a very modern Australian feel with light seaside tones. The menu was quite extensive with 90 percent sea food on offer, but this is what you come to Bannisters to eat. We both selected the South Australian mussels in black bean, garlic and coriander. The mussels were outstanding with the black bean broth just perfectly light but salty enough. For mains one of us had the deep fried baby snapper in chili sauce. The fish was sweet and delicate and the sauce had the wow factor, though fairly hot, even for a chili lover. The other main was an Indonesian seafood curry with green beans and fresh coconut meat. The curry was fresh, fragrant with the right amount of spice. The fish was meaty and melted in your mouth and the huge king prawns were delicious. The calamari was beautifully tender, in fact the whole main was faultless.
We did not have desert but the home made chocolate brownie petitfour on the side with a beautiful long black coffee and a glass of sticky wine finished off a perfect meal. I must say the service was also excellent and the Irish house manager made guests feel right at home and went the extra step to make the night a special occasion. To top it off we were offered the courtesy car ride back to our hotel. Absolutely brilliant and truly a five star experience as the numerous awards on the wall confirm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Gavin P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community and your compliments.

I am absolutely thrilled that you had such an enjoyable dining experience and that Lola and the team provided you with a excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rick Stein at Bannisters on the future on your next trip to the South Coast.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great range of seafood, beautifully prepared and presented. Good wine list. Knowledgeable, happy staff all help to make it a great dining experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear HoildayMice,

Thank you for taking the time to write a separate review for our restaurant, we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

Our restaurant is a reflection of Rick's passion for fresh seafood and the coastal lifestyle, I am very pleased that this shone through in your dining experience and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bannisters in the future.

Best regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick Stein at Bannisters also viewed

Mollymook, Shoalhaven
Milton, Shoalhaven
 
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Rick Stein at Bannisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing