We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay was a pleasure”
Review of Mollymook Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mollymook Shores
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I recently stayed at Mollymook Shores while attending the South Coast Tourism Conference, and was pleasantly surprised to find it so close to the ocean I could smell the salt!

From my arrival until check out, the staff were very friendly and helpful, which contributed to my enjoyment of the visit.

The rooms are very spacious - mine had a queen sized bed, and a single bed, and a couch, spread across two almost separate areas, each with its own flat screen TV and lighting control - good news if you have a child in tow!

I have a personal dislike for shower curtains, but both the room itself and the bathroom were very clean and tidy, and the view of the ocean more than made up for a bit of water on the bathroom floor.

The restaurant, Citrus, is separately owned, but services house guests with options for chargeback to your room, or in room dining (room service). I ate in the restaurant, and the food was great - try the venison, it was delicious! The waitstaff could have used a little training (as in, knowing what was on the menu, and where it came from), but they were very friendly and happy to help. I was disappointed to find that only one dish on the menu - the blue eye trevella - was locally sourced. There are obviously some talented chefs in the kitchen, it would be great to see them make better use of the local produce!

Overall, a pleasant stay. Not top of the range accommodation, but certainly very comfortable, with welcoming and hospitable staff. I suggest it would be great for families and very close to the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiefoodie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 111 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had a great experience staying at this property!
So handy to the beach & directly across the road from the Golf club for evening meals.
The unit was spotless, the beds were firm but comfortable, the room has air conditioning a small deck to sit on & enjoy the afternoon sun.
Tea & coffee making facilities.
The building from memory was opened in the eighties & designed for what was popular at the time. I notice a few reviews are critical of the layout, we think this is a minor issue & would return again.
The hosts were most accommodating & helpful, & took pride in the property.
Another bonus as a traveller was the guest laundry available along with a clothes drier.

Room Tip: Would return again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night back in November. We were in a spa room on the ground floor and loved that we felt really beachfront nearly and skipped over to the beach in the morning for a quick dip. Agree with others that layout of room is strange. We thought it is a shame that none of the rooms have kitchenettes so not ideal for a long stay. Spa was nice but paper thin walls so we could hear the entire conversation of the couple next door while we sat in the spa! Would stay again for the location.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights pre Christmas in December .Our room had a view of the beach and was well appointed .The layout was strange .Beds were comfortable and it was roomy.Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Position is excellent opposite the beach and cheap meals at the Golf Club across the road.
On the second night we had some very noisy guests staying .
The restuarant there called Citrus we found to be excellent

Room Tip: We stayed on first level with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Got saturated running from the motel to exposed gravel carpark to get the car so the others could get in under the small covered area near reception. Our room had NO power points near the tables for laptops to be used we had to sit on the bed. 3G reception was poor and so was the in-house wireless. There is NO exhaust system in the bathroom and we almost choked in the steam filled room. The beds were like rocks. In general it was run down and in need of a clean up.

The good points - the reception lady was pleasant and we had a room with a glipse of the ocean. It was quite although the beds made it hard to sleep.

Won't go back regardless of the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1MSM, Owner at Mollymook Shores, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear Rakaia

Whilst constructive feedback is welcome, loose or misleading comments are not.

1. Yes, Mollymook does get rain. Complimentary umbrella’s are at Reception for the use of all guests had you asked. The small covered area you refer to is the portico at the Main Entrance to the Motel (two driving lanes wide and providing all weather coverage for up to 4 cars).
2. Power points are situated along both sides of our rooms. If your laptop lead is limited, an extension cord is available at Reception had you asked.
3. We are not responsible for the strength of Optus 3G coverage in Mollymook. This may be impacted by the age of your wireless device.
4. The Motel’s FREE in-house wireless internet is used by up to 80-90 of our corporate guests every month. The system uses Telstra Business Broadband routed through numerous access points within the Motel. Wireless strength can also be impacted by the age of your laptop.
5. A ducted exhaust system is integrated to every bathroom. Saunas would be outlawed if choking on steam was possible.
6. All bedding is less than 5 years old. We choose to use A.H Beard due to their 100 year standing in the industry.

To say the Motel and/or your room was run-down and in need of a clean-up is dishonest. Photos featured on our website were taken this year (2011) and are a true reflection of this Motel. We are not self-rated but AAA rated by an approved assessor. We comfortably retain our 4 Star rating year-after-year based on a vigorous assessment program.

You have made the right decision not to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Very nice hotel for a short business trip. Clean, comfortable and close to the beach. Across the road from the Golf Club, which had a charge back system and good quality food. The only down side was the top floor unit with two flights of stairs, but the plus was that it was very quiet (I would simply ask for a ground floor unit if that is a concern). Plenty of secure parking, and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussietravller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Mollymook shores has to be one of the best picks in Mollymook. This was our 2nd stay there and won't be the last. A spacious, modern suite room. Comfy king bed, 2 x flat panel TV's, balcony with good view of Mollymook beach which is just a few metres away. The friendly, informal reception staff freely offered sound advice on local facilities. Easy parking etc etc. Try asking for the best available beach view when you book.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelabit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollymook
1.4 mi away
Bannisters by the sea
Bannisters by the sea
#2 of 8 in Mollymook
597 reviews
21.8 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allure on Ocean Motel
Allure on Ocean Motel
#1 of 8 in Mollymook
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mollymook Surfbeach Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Mollymook Seascape Motel
Mollymook Seascape Motel
#6 of 8 in Mollymook
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphins Mollymook
Dolphins Mollymook
#5 of 8 in Mollymook
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mollymook Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mollymook Shores

Address: Corner Golf Avenue and Shepherd Street, Mollymook, Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Mollymook
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Price Range: $116 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mollymook Shores 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mollymook Shores is the only 4 Star (AAA rated) motel in Mollymook AND Ulladulla.The beach is just the beginning.....At Mollymook Shores treat yourself and experience 4 star accommodation by the sea.With Mollymook Beach at our doorstep and the nine-hole golf course only a four wood away we provide the perfect location for your next getaway. Relax by the pool, steam up in the sauna.OUR DINING ROOM IS CURRENTLY CLOSED HOWEVER COOKED MEALS ARE STILL AVAILABLE VIA ROOM SERVICE 7 NIGHTS A WEEK. Breakfast is STILL available DAILY via room service only.Mollymook is a pleasant three hour drive from Sydney or two and a half hours from Canberra and once out of the city both routes feature a scenic drive. The art, craft and antique shops of Milton or the picturesque harbour in Ulladulla are only minutes away by car.Mollymook Shores would like you to experience the delights of our area - we have a variety of stylish accommodation to suit your needs and budget. When thinking about your next short break, business meeting, wedding or function, contact our professional friendly staff for details of our exciting accommodation and conference packages.RECEPTION OPEN FROM 7.00AM TO 8.00PM Monday - Friday. 8.00Am - 8.00Pm Saturday,Sunday and Public Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Mollymook Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mollymook Shores Hotel Mollymook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing