We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bannisters by the sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bannisters by the sea
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Certificate of Excellence
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The pool bar, after 6pm , if you are not staying at the Lodge, is a great venue to relax with friends, share a cocktail, tapas and pizza. Not as expensive as people think and the pizzas are pretty good in size. Sit in side or out depending on the weather it has a pleasant atmosphere and of course top views.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you Lovista, for taking the time to share your experience at Bannisters Pool Bar. It’s a great place to relax with friends and enjoy some cocktails and pizza by the pool.
Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    166
    68
    15
    2
See reviews for
49
365
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our first stay at Bannisters & we were not disappointed. We arrived without a reservation & they only had a luxury suite available - it did not disappoint! The views across the coastline line were amazing, not to mention the sunset! The suite was lovely, with seperate lounge & bedroom, plus a spa bath that was in-suite (sep bathroom but open plan to the lounge & outside views) Decor was light & understated - loved the Aboriginal artwork in the bedroom and the leather pouffes.

We didn't have dinner in the restaurant, as we had had a large lunch on our travels, however we were not over impressed with the menu upon review, and didn't feel we were missing out. We did however order up a pizza to our room later in the evening, and it was by far one of the best pizzas we had eaten since moving to Australia. The $10 service/delivery fee for the pizza however, is excessive by international standards. I understand this delivery fee, when the food arrives on a dressed trolley under a cloche, the waiter sets the table for you, and pours the wine (that's service). But to walk up 10 steps from the pool bar to our room, with pizza in hand?

Comparing it to other top hotels around the world, that we've been privileged to stay in, I think there is some room for improvement, especially at this calibre of hotel, but that said, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your review SAinOz,Its always wonderful to hear from seasoned travellers. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Luxury Suite and its clifftop views.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you welcome you back to Bannisters in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Have stayed at Bannisters on numerous occasions usually with a girlfriend to celebrate our birthdays and the fact we have been friends for over 50 years. Usually we stay in one of the luxury suites which are fabulous but this time we were given an upgrade to the Pinnacle penthouse. WOW this was absolute luxury. Larger than an average house with 2 bedrooms,walk-in robe, study, media room, sitting/dinning area,open fireplace, sauna the list goes on and on. The decor is sumptuous without being pretentious and with its huge sun drenched balcony and the most amazing view looking out to the ocean it was a place we did not want to leave. Bannisters is an unexpected bit of luxury in a sleepy coastal town and a great place to get away from it all. To top it all off we had a lovely dinner at Rick Steins restaurant and one of the best facials you'll ever have at the Day Spa and the Pizza Bar by the pool make the best Piña Colada ever.

Room Tip: Second and third floor rooms have much better views.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 2happytravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you 2happytravellers2014 for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community! It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us once again and got to experience our Pinnacle Penthouse and all its inclusions.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bannisters soon.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

With its lofty perch on a rocky headland, the boutique hotel is perfectly positioned for some whale-spotting. Should you be lucky enough to see one as it meanders by. For those that are familiar with Bannisters, you may notice that it's looking a little differently to what you remember thanks to a $1 million refurbishment. A fresher look for its rooms, suites and penthouses; each of them a little (or a lot) different from the other.

We stayed in one of the Luxury Suites that take corner position overlooking the ocean and surrounding gardens. Cosy living area, fireplace, a Roman bath with ocean views and a separate king bedroom - all with a private wrap-around deck that's a perfect possie to sit and dose up on vitamin D.

It's difficult to miss the swimming pool on the north side of the lodge; a wedge of water that strangely never got used during our stay. It may have been heated but with outside temperatures now in their teens, getting wet outdoors wasn't an option.

A variety of room types is available at the lodge and one that we were lucky enough to check out was The Pinnacle. This 243 sqm penthouse is the ultimate pad for luxury. Large open-plan living space, a library, home cinema, study, steam room, walk-through wardrobe, three showers and a sprawling ocean-view deck and private roof garden.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heneedsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Heneedsfood,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bannisters with the Tripadvisor community, your photos are fantastic! I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay in Mollymook and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Bannisters.

Best regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

A truly beautifully redesigned lodge has Bannisters at the top of my want to stay again lists. Great staff, facilities, amenities and location. The only let down was the night time restaurant experience. The fabulous views you get through the day are lost at night and the space becomes just another hotel eatery, albeit an extremely expensive one. If you are after a great meal in the same area, do yourself a favour and go to St Isidore in Milton.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverTams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Olivertams,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. It’s lovely to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed by the night time view from the restaurant, if you would like to make the most of our headland views we are open for lunch on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday.

Kind regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalmeny, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband & I had high expectations for our stay at bannisters & they were pleasantly exceeded! Staff were friendly & courteous, pool bar was fantastic in view & drink selection, room was luxurious ( we loved spa on deck), our 3 course meal in restaurant was amazing! We enjoyed the most beautiful bush/ beach walk as well. We will definitely be back & highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jassmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review Jassmark. I’m thrilled to hear your stay exceeded expectations and you enjoyed all our area has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We attended the Day Spa at the Bannisters hotel for a girls weekend. The hotel overlooks Mollymook beach and the view is spectacular. There were 7 of us celebrating one of our girls 60th birthday. We stayed locally and arrived at Bannisters about 8.30am and firstly went to the breakfast bar where we were made feel so very welcome and then on to the DAY SPA OMG what an experience we were greeted by Lora who immediately made us feel at home and that we were old friends. The jacuzzis was wonderful we had the use for the whole period that we were in attendance at the Day spa. Firstly spa and champagne and then four ladies went away the have a hot stone massage for 80min and facial on return to the jacuzzis the comments were all the sameOMG I WENT TO HEAVEN AND BACK then the final 3 ladies went in and the same experience. When the massages and treatments were completed we were all feeling wonderful and very keen to find out about the products used during our treatments. Lora again was so helpful and knowledgable about the products that we all purchased products to take home. Overall the experience was wonderful and the cost for our treatments and the use of the facility was very reasonable. We had such a wonderful time that we are planning on making our visits to Bannisters Day Spa at least once a year and more if we can manage it. After the treatment we were all feeling wonderful and enjoyed the sights of the Mollymook and surrounding areas. This is a must visit experience if you are in the area or planning pamper weekend away.

Room Tip: Although we did not stay at the hotel. The rooms looked very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Margie052,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Day Spa. We very much appreciate your kind comments which I will certainly pass onto Lora and all of our Spa staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banisters Day Spa.
Best Regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollymook
20.4 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bannisters Pavilion
Bannisters Pavilion
#2 of 13 in Mollymook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allure on Ocean Motel
Allure on Ocean Motel
#2 of 8 in Mollymook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mollymook Shores
Mollymook Shores
#4 of 8 in Mollymook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mollymook Surfbeach Motel & Apartments
1.8 mi away
Mollymook Seascape Motel
Mollymook Seascape Motel
#5 of 8 in Mollymook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannisters by the sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannisters by the sea

Property: Bannisters by the sea
Address: 191 Mitchell Parade, Mollymook, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia (Formerly Bannisters Point Lodge)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Mollymook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bannisters by the sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1970s as a seaside motel, a succession of upgrades and refurbishments now sees our accommodation offering 4.5 star rooms with panoramic ocean views and private balconies. We offer a choice of ocean deluxe, spa rooms, luxury suites, jacuzzi decks and penthouses as well as Rick Stein at Bannisters restaurant, a pizza bar and rejuvenating day spa. With close proximity to local surf beaches, Bannisters makes an excellent choice for your coastal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bannisters by the sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannisters Point Hotel Mollymook
Bannisters Point Mollymook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing