We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorified Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bannisters by the sea
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Certificate of Excellence
sydney australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Glorified Motel”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked early for a family wedding, they charge at a rate my dad would have called Highway Robbery, but what do you do. The options are not great in this area.

Booked for dinner on the Friday night at Rick Steins.

Wet when we arrived - the carpark was pretty full - but we managed to find space on the upper level.

Room was well appointed but only a motel size, nice little balcony with an ocean view.

Dinner was awesome, as were the breakfasts.

Location is amazing - but the pool area is very small and could get crowded.

Would not race back - there are much better seaside resorts for the same price or less

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank our001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear our001,
Thank you for your review of your stay at Bannisters.
I am very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your dinner at Rick Stein at Bannisters and complimentary cooked breakfasts. Our basic rooms, Ocean deluxe, are a standard hotel size however we offer a range of room types that enjoy the same appointment and view that you appreciated with additional space and facilities. During non-peak times we offer a range of great value packages and deals that include the restaurant, bar and spa that may be of interest to you.
I do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Bannisters.

Best regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    179
    69
    16
    3
See reviews for
54
384
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ok, if you've read any of the less than happy reviews about this place, you'll know by now that this is not a glamourous, purpose built 5* hotel, it's a posh motel.
BUT
It really is in a fabulous location, with stunning views and lots of 5* attention to detail.

We had a corner suite and it was lovely, with incredible views over the ocean.
Our room had a huge gorgeous roman bath the size of a double bed with views out across the ocean.
The shower however was a big rain shower above this bath, and with such little water pressure it was basically useless.

The lounge area featured a cosy gas fire which was romantic and super cosy for winter, (the room also heating via reverse cycle air con if required).

All the usual robes, slippers and toiletries were given, and the mini bar was full of all sorts of nice (expensive) things to eat and drink; plus it was big enough to fill up with your own wine/nibbles if you wanted which was a nice touch.

Downsides?

Ok, yes a few.

This suite is expensive, in peak season it's very expensive and I'm not sure that it's quite up to the prices being charged.

The rooms are all non-smoking, but smoking is permitted on some of the balconies (which were all the ones near to us) and we could not open our windows and let in the fresh ocean breezes because every time we did so huge wafts of cigarette smoke filled the room. Not so much of an issue in winter, just keep the windows closed, but in summer it could be a real problem.
The room next to us was accessible by an internal door, and this allowed us to hear the heavy smokers in there coughing their lungs up all morning, and watching TV all evening.

The corner suite's bedroom was above the pool bar, which was rather dormant in winter but I imagine it's probably quite lively in the summer and you would hear everything from your room unless you closed all the windows and cranked on the aircon.

So...yes, it's great, but maybe shop for a discounted price and use what you save to upgrade your room!

Room Tip: Worth spending a bit extra on a good room. The corner suites were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella_Ischia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Bella_Ischia,
Thank you for your review of Bannisters and your honest feedback.
Firstly, I am thrilled that you appreciated the ambiance of our clifftop location. Luxury Suite 7 has amazing corner room views to both the north and east that makes it a favourite among many of our guests. We have some great value packages running throughout most of year that include deals with our bar, restaurant and spa. During Mollymook's peak summer holiday season our prices do rise at a usual rate for our region. As you have noted, room 7 is closer to the pool bar than our other suites in order to make the most of the views of the pacific and for this reason we are double glazing the suite this month. We encourage any guests concerned about potential noise to contact us directly when making a booking, we offer a range of rooms to suit every guest and their preferences.

Best regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Rick Steins seafood restaurant is not to be missed...it's now my favourite seafood restaurant! The lobster raviolo entree and seafood pie were standouts. Service was also great.

Poolside bar and lounge has amazing service and a relaxing ambiance with a seaside view and cosy fireplace to sit near during Winter. Food was also nice if you are looking for a casual night out.

There was nothing to complain about with the rooms...however I have stayed in better. The views were amazing though and the beds are really comfy.

The day spa was a real treat - I had a pregnancy massage and left feeling relaxed and stress free.

The rooms come with breakfast included. A small buffet is provided as well as a cooked to order menu you can select from so your meal is served nice and fresh.

Overall a great Babymoon hotel destination.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear spilks,
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay and for taking the time to share your photos.
It sounds as though you truly enjoyed all that Bannisters has to offer and had a relaxing babymoon. I will certainly pass on your compliments to our staff.
We look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Cove, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a beautiful suite above the pool and overlooking the ocean. The rooms are airy and spacious and nicely decorated in neutral colours with bold artwork to accent the space. We loved the double spa and the cute tea lights that are provided were a lovely touch, there are DVD's available from reception for free too!
We dined at Rick Steins for dinner and had a lovely night. Staff are fantastic as is the service.
Our special thanks goes to manager Peter Bacon for his thoughtful consideration and assistance to make our stay at one of the South coasts most outstanding destinations... Stay you will love it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanroad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Oceanroad 4,
Thanks you for your review and kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you both!
All our staff work hard to exceed expectations and I am very pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bannisters on your next trip south.
Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We just spend a beautiful 2 nights at Bannisters during Rick Stein's visit to Australia. We were lucky enough to get a room for the long weekend and attended the Night with Rick Stein event.
As a huge Rick Stein fan I thought that whole experience was wonderful of course.

Check out my blog for a full review of the night and photos: http://spicybite.com.au/rick-stein-bannisters/

The lodge itself is a gorgeous hidden gem positioned perfectly on the point overlooking uninterrupted ocean! All the rooms have water views and we stayed on the ground level in a standard room (room 8) and it was perfect. It is obviously more expensive for the higher rooms and the rooms with jacuzzi's.
The pool bar was awesome with yummy bar snacks available all day long. We enjoyed a delicious Tandoori Pizza for lunch on our first day and it was so tasty I was dying to have another. The cocktails were also great and what I loved about the pool bar was that even though it was winter and freezy cold, we could still enjoy a cocktail on sunset while the bar staff ensured all the heaters and the fire were turned up to keep us warm. What a great way to spend a lazy sunday afternoon??
We had breakfast included both mornings, I ordered the Breakfast Bruschetta both mornings it was so yummy and light. The big breakfast looked just as good with some English favourites such as black pudding! They also had a spread of fruit and pastries to enjoy.
We went to Rick Stein @ Bannisters restaurant on our second night which was pricey but well worth it with the fresh seafood and delicious entrees!! Highly recommend a dinner there.

The beds were comfy, everything in the room works and I was even informed they are refurbing most of the rooms next month which will make it even better. It was a shame it was too cold for us to swim because the pool looked so inviting. This is the perfect spot for a weekend getaway to unwind and relax. Plenty of walking tracks and free bike hire at reception. We even hired a few DVDs from reception and watched them on our second night because it was too cold to stay out. I will most definitely return to bannisters again. I loved it and the service was great!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room (room 7) - it has a larger balcony and views of both sides. Arrive early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear JessEttia,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bannisters. We thoroughly enjoy hosting 'An Evening with Rick Stein' as there is always a wonderful atmosphere around the hotel. I am thrilled you had such an enjoyable long weekend and I will certainly share your blog with Rick.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Bannisters on your next visit.
Best regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent two nights in a suite in May (thanks Bannister's for the upgrade!) - the room was on a corner with views over the pool and ocean. There is a nice, constant background noise of waves breaking which is very peasful

We had a large deck, nice bedroom, lounge room and a bathroom with spa / shower above that opened to the lounge. At first glance, this looked liked the water would run into the lounge, but it seemed to work.

The bathroom set up worked for us - but couples who wanted privacy might find it "confronting". The other strange design was the wardrobe was in the door way - well away from the bedroom.

Overall the fit out and furniture were good but I think you have to accept this facility is a converted older hotel and it shows through in parts. The other negative comment I'd make is the noise from the entertainment in the bar came right through to our room on the Friday night prior to going out - however it finished by the time we got back so wasn't a major issue.

The staff were good and gave good ideas on day trips. The Spa was nice and I've reviewed the restaurant elsewhere. I'd recommend the climb up Pigeon House mountain if you are feeling active and need to work off breakfast - it's a bit of a tricky drive over dirt roads and a steep climb in parts (ladders / steep steps) but the view at the top is amazing . A run down to Mollymook is also nice.

The rooms all come with a lemon, knife and instructions on starting the day with a boiling water / hot lemon drink - it's now become part of my morning routine and I feel much better for it - certainly cuts through a rich meal the night before. Thanks for the tip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreww w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Andreww w,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bannisters.

We like to offer upgrades when we can and I am very pleased you enjoyed the Luxury Suite.
It sounds as though you certainly made the most of the area and for your next trip south ‘The Castle’ is definitely worth the hike.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Bannisters.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views, very clean and comfortable rooms.
We had a very comfortable bed we noted one previous reviewer had complained about the bed and also the room. Our room was in great condition and we had a great sleep on a pillow topped mattress
Friendly professional staff
Great pool area and bar
Fantastic food at the pool side bar along with cold beer
Well worth the drive, we will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Rod G,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bannisters with the Tripadvisor community.
I am thrilled you had such a wonderful long weekend at Bannisters and I hope you welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollymook
20.4 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bannisters Pavilion
Bannisters Pavilion
#1 of 13 in Mollymook
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allure on Ocean Motel
Allure on Ocean Motel
#1 of 8 in Mollymook
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mollymook Shores
Mollymook Shores
#4 of 8 in Mollymook
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mollymook Surfbeach Motel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Dolphins Mollymook
Dolphins Mollymook
#5 of 8 in Mollymook
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannisters by the sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannisters by the sea

Property: Bannisters by the sea
Address: 191 Mitchell Pde, Mollymook, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia (Formerly Bannisters Point Lodge)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Mollymook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bannisters by the sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1970s as a seaside motel, a succession of upgrades and refurbishments now sees our accommodation offering 4.5 star rooms with panoramic ocean views and private balconies. We offer a choice of ocean deluxe, spa rooms, luxury suites, jacuzzi decks and penthouses as well as Rick Stein at Bannisters restaurant, a pizza bar and rejuvenating day spa. With close proximity to local surf beaches, Bannisters makes an excellent choice for your coastal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bannisters by the sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannisters Point Hotel Mollymook
Bannisters Point Mollymook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing