We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bannisters by the sea
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights here in the wonderfully huge and spacious Narrawallee Suite. We had spent a few days in Sydney and were on our way down the south coast on our way back to Melbourne. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Right from the moment we entered the reception area we were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff, once they found out we were travelling from Sydney to Melbourne with no actual accommodation plans they were only to happy to help us out with advise on where to visit and stay on the rest of our travels. Whilst we were here all the staff from the bar to the restaurant to the cleaners were extremely friendly and professional. The bed was comfortable, the room clean and the views were magnificent. I don't think we have relaxed so much or so quickly as we did here. Sitting in the bar by the pool looking out over the ocean it doesn't get any better. We ate in the restaurant on both nights, the food was superb, you must have the Fish Pie, and the Kippers for breakfast took me back to my childhood. If you are travelling the coast you must stay here you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heybails_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear heybails_18,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel and Rick Stein at Bannisters.

I very much appreciate your compliments, all our staff work very hard to ensure you have the best stay possible.

I am pleased to hear you had such enjoyable dining experiences during your stay, the Fish Pie is also one of Ricks favourites!

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip south.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    178
    69
    16
    3
See reviews for
54
383
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My stay in Bannisters was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food excellent and the spa delightful. I was made feel very welcome by everyone from the General Manager to the night porter who collected me from a visit to Milton which is nearby. I look forward a return visit to Bannisters.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killinick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Killinick1,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Bannisters with the Tripadvisor community.

It is wonderful to hear you had such a fantastic time and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the restaurant last night. Started with a drink at the pool bar before dinner. The view was fantastic, the food was superb and the staff were very attentive but not intrusive. Would thoroughly recommend the Stir fry chilli squid and the seafood curry. We were both surprised when we received chocolate brownies with a Happy Anniversary in chocolate writing - compliments from Bannisters. A special mention goes to Emily our waitress who looked after us brilliantly. Can't wait until we can come back again. Next time we will stay in one of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Helen B,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our restaurant.

I am very pleased that you choose Bannisters for such a special occasion and that Emily looked after you both so well.

We hope to welcome you back to Bannisters in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband & I celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary at the Bannisters late February 2013. Our first impressions were a "WOW" to see a beautifully renovated motel styled hotel. We stayed in the spa retreat room. Although the room was much smaller than the website photos but it was very nice, clean with amazing view of the ocean and the pool.
We loved the pool area as we could relax, swim, and enjoy the beautiful surrounding views and their pizza/bar area. The food served at breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious.
We also tried their day spa and the experience was absolutely heaven!
Overall, a wonderful stay and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Wonderful & Relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBM1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear 22lmd,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bannisters and thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion!

Overall it sounds like you had a relaxing, enjoyable stay and were well looked after by the staff.

We hope to welcome you both back to Bannisters in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just had a very quick weekend away at Bannisters. Would have loved to have stayed much longer. We stayed in an Ocean Deluxe Room and whilst the room was not enormous, the absolute ocean views were breathtaking. The decor was very tasteful and the bed and pillows very comfortable. We dined in the restaurant which was lovely, and the seafood so fresh and deliciously prepared. Breakfast was included and was just beautiful (the Breakfast Bruschetta was magnificent!). Staff all very friendly and grounds immaculately kept.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katec62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Katec62,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

It’s wonderful to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable time on your mini-break.
I am also very pleased that your experience at Rick Stein at Bannisters was first class for both dinner and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to bannisters in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I love wandering down the coast and sampling the hospitality of venues Bannister Lodge was special. We were greeted in a friendly and professional manner and all staff from the spa, pool bar, restaurant were what we had expected courteous and prompt with their attention. Our room was lovely with the sound of lapping waves and the views were absolutely sensational. Cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Travelned,

Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

I am very happy that you received such professional and friendly service across the board; we pride ourselves on welcoming and efficient team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bannisters on your next trip south.

Best regards,

Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A friend recommended Bannisters as a good stop on our honeymoon, so glad we found it!

We had a spa suite with ocean views. The room was well appointed and the bathroom was amazing. We had a spa on the balcony as well.

We sat by the pool, but didn't go in as it was a colder day. It was nice sitting there having a drink and relaxing though.

We had dinner in the pool bar rather than the restaurant and my husband has voted it the best burger ever. My pizza was great as well.

We had breakfast included at the restaurant and it was delicious.

If you are looking for a private escape with great food and service, then this is a great place to visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view spa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters by the sea, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Hayley M,
Thank you for choosing Bannisters for such a special occasion, Congratulations to you both!

I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and made the most of our Pool Bar, it is certainly a great place to soak up the view and enjoy a casual dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Bannisters.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollymook
20.4 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bannisters Pavilion
Bannisters Pavilion
#1 of 13 in Mollymook
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allure on Ocean Motel
Allure on Ocean Motel
#1 of 8 in Mollymook
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mollymook Shores
Mollymook Shores
#4 of 8 in Mollymook
106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mollymook Surfbeach Motel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Dolphins Mollymook
Dolphins Mollymook
#5 of 8 in Mollymook
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannisters by the sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannisters by the sea

Property: Bannisters by the sea
Address: 191 Mitchell Pde, Mollymook, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia (Formerly Bannisters Point Lodge)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Mollymook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bannisters by the sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1970s as a seaside motel, a succession of upgrades and refurbishments now sees our accommodation offering 4.5 star rooms with panoramic ocean views and private balconies. We offer a choice of ocean deluxe, spa rooms, luxury suites, jacuzzi decks and penthouses as well as Rick Stein at Bannisters restaurant, a pizza bar and rejuvenating day spa. With close proximity to local surf beaches, Bannisters makes an excellent choice for your coastal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bannisters by the sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannisters Point Hotel Mollymook
Bannisters Point Mollymook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing