We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay in a beautiful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Darnell Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Mittagong B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay in a beautiful B & B”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked our stay at Darnell based on a recommendation from the Calmbirth Course instructor and we could not have been more pleased with the recommendation. We stayed in the Bay Room for two nights and it was superb. Being the middle of winter, it was freezing outside but inside it was beautifully warm thanks to the awesome heating system they have. My husband especially loved their heating as the "rads", as he calls them, are just like the ones from Ireland. Mel and Jerry were kind and hospitable hosts but also left us to our own devices ...just the right balance! The breakfast was beautiful and whilst I only partook in the continental breakfast, my husband delighted in the full cooked breakfast which left nothing out. I would absolutely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Most B n B's in Australia don't live up to thrill like those I have visited in the UK. These guys are getting it right however and perhaps it's from their UK origins.
I really liked the bath in the white room, the complimentary tawny port and chocolates, the fresh baked chocolate cake, the friendly hosts, the high quality bed linnen and towels.

Once they finalise their gardens in the vacinity, this place will beat out most of the competition.

Room Tip: White room - ensuite bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beagletrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Bay room had a wonderful time.
The house is extremely well appointed with modern finishes including a spa in the Bay room. The guest lounge is very comfortable and has an extensive library if that takes your interest. The breakfasts were excellent home made full breakfasts.
Mel and Jerry were extremely helpful in providing information on local restaurants and activities, so don't forget to ask if you want ideas.
It is located between Mittagong and Bowral, and is just as easy to get to either town, letting you explore both. Set back from the road the property backs on to reserves give absolute bush setting. It is a little difficult to find from the road, so make sure you follow the excellent instructions they provide.
There a lot of stairs so this may be an issue if mobility is a concern.

Room Tip: The Bay room includes the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyYager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed two nights in the White room and loved it. Mel and Jerry were welcoming hosts with just the right amount of attentiveness and giving us our own space. The guest area, including a cosy lounge (a great place late at night to eat the yummy chocolate cake Mel left for us) and a guests dining area, gives you a sense of privacy and space even though you are in someone's home. Nicely finished rooms - light and bright but still cozy. Comfortable bed, great bath, yummy breakfasts. Would recommend to anyone and hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

On a weekend we attended the Calmbirth course in Mittagong and had this perfect bed and breakfast booked. Just between Bowral and Mittagong- close to restaurants and cafes but hidden away up the mountain. A kangaroo greeting us in the garden, fireplace on in the breakfast room and great hosts. The room stylish and cozy and a large modern amazing bathroom. I have only positive things to say about this place and the price extremely fair.

Room Tip: White room modern romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiemortensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Although it was difficult to locate in the dark, this B & B was a great find. We stayed in the Bay room which was impeccably furnished and had a beautiful en suite with underfloor heating - perfect for a winter's night. The guest lounge was cosy and provided a delightful ambience in which to enjoy the delicious chocolate cake. In the morning we were treated to a scrumptious hot breakfast. Mel and Jerry were lovely hosts. The house is relatively new and has a clever design. We would gladly stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in the white room which was lovely and romantic, super clean and plush. Great location and the breakfast was great!! We loved it and the lounge area was great. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful. I would stay again for sure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
1.8 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
1.2 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
2.2 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
8.9 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
722 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darnell Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darnell Bed & Breakfast

Property: Darnell Bed & Breakfast
Address: 197 Oxley Dr, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mittagong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Darnell Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover Darnell Bed & Breakfast, ‘the hidden spot’. Nestled among the peaceful upper slopes of Mt Gibraltar, we are only 5 minutes drive from Bowral and Mittagong, in the heart of the Southern Highlands. Architecturally designed and recently completed as a B&B, Darnell is unique to the area with untouched nature at your doorstep.The large Bay Room features a king sized bed and a romantic bay window seat for two. Relax in your spacious ensuite including a double-ended sunken spa bath set into a light filled bay window.The spacious White Room features a queen sized four poster bed and a private balcony overlooking the garden and Mt Gibraltar Reserve beyond. We hope you also find time to soak in the freestanding double-ended bath in the ensuite.Use our local knowledge to make the most of your stay, but be assured of complete privacy in the dedicated guest wing of the house. Upon arrival, enjoy a delicious homemade afternoon tea on the sun filled patio or curl up in your cosy guest lounge. In the morning, a full cooked gourmet breakfast by the open fire in our dining room will be the perfect start to your day. Features include:Dining Room with open fire; Guest lounge with tea and coffee; Bay Room with king sized bed, romantic window seat and ensuite with sunken double-ended spa bath and underfloor heating; White Room with queen sized four poster bed and private balcony. Ensuite with freestanding double ended bath and underfloor heating; English style radiators for winter warmth; Air conditioning for summer cooling; HDTV Homemade afternoon tea upon arrival; Full cooked breakfast (alternatives available); Free WiFi; Privacy and tranquillity; Only 5 minutes from restaurants in Bowral and Mittagong; Bushwalking in Mt Gibraltar Reserve from the bottom of the garden; Friendly local advice. To discover Darnell, wind your way up the slopes of Mt Gibraltar from either Bowral or Mittagong to find us tucked away just below the summit. Leave the stresses of the modern world behind at the top of our tree-lined drive and immerse yourself in the calmness of Mt Gibraltar Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Darnell Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing