We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend”
Review of Mittagong Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mittagong Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having stayed at your motel twice when travelling from the Gold coast to Melbourne and return recently, we found it very comfortable and the owners and staff very accommodating. When we are travelling and looking for a motel all we require is room that is clean and comfortable with a Tv. We are usually only stopping for one night and on both occasions found this motel to satisfy our needs. Also the added extra of breakfast was a bonus. It started off our day just right.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here last night and we were very disappointed, bathroom was very old and looked like it was the original bathroom installed 40plus years ago, really someone at sometime should have thought to renovate the bathrooms, this is just basic common sense to me. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone. There could be some simple cost effective changes that could be made to improve it, like washers and hand towels in the rooms, shampoo in bathroom, a shelf to put things on in bathroom, a coat of paint would do wonders, the skirting boards had peeled paint on them, window in bathroom had cobwebs and could not be closed... Great security guys, door to bathroom only closed if pushed hard to close. For $150 this was a rip off. I know it's only a 2 and Half star rating but really... Please!

Room Tip: Chose one of the other hotels in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hi
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate your comments. Some of the issues you have raised we will attend to very quickly - thanks for bringing these to our attention. From the price that you have given, you must have had one of our family rooms, which cost a little less than $150 on a weekend with no minimum number of nights, and occupy up to 4 people. Our family rooms are ideal for people who are looking for a basic room for their family at an affordable price. We do provide handtowels and washers in our queen and queen twin rooms, but I don't think we will be providing these in our family rooms in the foreseeable future. We have also been considering providing shampoo, but again probably only in our queen and queen twin rooms at this stage. We have shampoo and a range of other toiletries available for free at our reception area. In terms of bathroom renovations, our first priority is to improve access to a few of our bathrooms for frail and disabled people.
Thanks again for your feedback.
gill@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Everything was clean & tidy. Yes its old and no its not 5star but it serves the purpose. We had room 8 which even had a small microwave. Breakfast was communal and had a good choice. We will return if back this way again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank jkwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hi
Thanks for doing a review on our accommodation.
gill@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

we had a stop over for one night, we were very happy as the room was very clean, comfortable bed, tea and coffee, toaster, microwave and fridge. Free wifi, the room had everything you would need. Breakfast was great and there were single serves of jam, peanut butter, vegemite etc so you didn't need to use from the jars.
we will be staying again as it was clean, comfortable and friendly, and a great price.
Thankyou Mittagong Motel.
Tracy and Chris

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Hi Tracy and Chris
Thanks so much for your feedback and really glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Gi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Disappointing, the sheets and pillow cases were very crumpled, even a budget motel should provide pressed sheets. We gave the continental breakfast a big miss, communal jars of jams and spreads are bad enough, so unhygienic, but when we checked in, mid-afternoon, the jars were still sitting on the tables, some in full sun, when they should be refrigerated. Are the single serves so expensive to buy? We wouldn’t mind paying a few dollars extra for a suitable continental breakfast. It wasn’t all bad, quiet room, bed was comfy, free wi-fi and although the bathroom was very tiny, the shower was great, however we would not recommend this motel or stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Hello Suzie
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We do appreciate your comments... have given them serious consideration, and made some adjustments to our practice. We will continue to monitor the feedback from other guests on the issues you have raised. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Just a comment in relation to the breakfast - we have always provided individual servings of spreads for those who prefer this. The individual servings are prominently displayed near the toaster.
There are some very lovely accommodation options available in the Southern Highlands. The staff at the Southern Highlands Visitors Centre are always happy to discuss the accommodation needs of prospective visitors to the area. You can ring them on 024871 2888 or visit them online at www.southern-highlands.com.au
Kind regards
Gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights (us as a family of four and my friends a couple). Both rooms were well appointed, clean, air con worked well to keep us warm, electric blankets, extra blankets, pillows, etc. kettle, toaster, tea/coffee, etc. beds comfortable, bathroom a little dated but very clean and didn't hear any noise from the highway. Staff friendly. Breakfast included was great with juice, several different cereals, toast, jams, peanut butter, vegemite, etc. tea/coffee. Very well set up. Front verandah of the dining room was a lovely sun trap morning and afternoon to sit outside and keep warm in the sun. Close to town, we walked in and walking distance to Golf Club which does an excellent meal. Overall good value for money for a short stay. Would stay again.

Room Tip: All appeared to be okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie333Lithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Hi
Thanks for your review and your positive comments.
Gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Mittagong Motel is a good 3 star Motel, breakfast is complementary and they provide a good selection of foods. (Continental style).
The Motel is situated close to town and there is a selection of restaurants available. The RSL has a large dining area at affordable prices, they also have shows every now and then.

Room Tip: l think that all rooms would be of equal standard, one excellent bonus is that they offer free Wi-Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Hi
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review. By the way, we are actually only accredited overall as 2 and 1/2 stars with the AAA star rating scheme, although our ongoing program of upgrades is continuing and some of our rooms have been accredited at 3 star. In the meantime, we have a strong quality improvement culture and receive feedback from our guests in a variety of ways. We prioritise our improvements and upgrades based on what our guests tell us is important to them.
Regards
Gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
3.3 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
6.4 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#2 of 9 in Bowral
396 reviews
10.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poplars Inn Mittagong
Poplars Inn Mittagong
#5 of 5 in Mittagong
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittagong Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittagong Motel

Address: 7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range: $85 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mittagong Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittagong Motel has 26 ground floor units, including twin rooms and family rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean and comfortable motel while maintaining the affordability, friendliness and charm of a family owned and operated business. We endeavour to do everything we can to make your stay with us really enjoyable. Whether you are looking for affordable accommodation for your family, or you are a single traveller simply seeking a cozy room with a double bed and large digital TV, Mittagong Motel has the room to suit your desires and budget. All our rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen TV's, microwaves and on-site parking as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We have 24 hour a day reception. Mittagong Motel offers a complimentary continental breakfast to all our guests. Mittagong Motel is centrally located in Mittagong, a township in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW. The motel is just a short stroll to the centre of Mittagong, and to golf and service clubs. Mittagong is just 10 minutes off the Hume Hwy south of Sydney and is the perfect place for an overnight stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mittagong Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing