We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend”
Review of Mittagong Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mittagong Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Disappointing, the sheets and pillow cases were very crumpled, even a budget motel should provide pressed sheets. We gave the continental breakfast a big miss, communal jars of jams and spreads are bad enough, so unhygienic, but when we checked in, mid-afternoon, the jars were still sitting on the tables, some in full sun, when they should be refrigerated. Are the single serves so expensive to buy? We wouldn’t mind paying a few dollars extra for a suitable continental breakfast. It wasn’t all bad, quiet room, bed was comfy, free wi-fi and although the bathroom was very tiny, the shower was great, however we would not recommend this motel or stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hello Suzie
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We do appreciate your comments... have given them serious consideration, and made some adjustments to our practice. We will continue to monitor the feedback from other guests on the issues you have raised. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Just a comment in relation to the breakfast - we have always provided individual servings of spreads for those who prefer this. The individual servings are prominently displayed near the toaster.
There are some very lovely accommodation options available in the Southern Highlands. The staff at the Southern Highlands Visitors Centre are always happy to discuss the accommodation needs of prospective visitors to the area. You can ring them on 024871 2888 or visit them online at www.southern-highlands.com.au
Kind regards
Gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    116
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
77
108
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lithgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights (us as a family of four and my friends a couple). Both rooms were well appointed, clean, air con worked well to keep us warm, electric blankets, extra blankets, pillows, etc. kettle, toaster, tea/coffee, etc. beds comfortable, bathroom a little dated but very clean and didn't hear any noise from the highway. Staff friendly. Breakfast included was great with juice, several different cereals, toast, jams, peanut butter, vegemite, etc. tea/coffee. Very well set up. Front verandah of the dining room was a lovely sun trap morning and afternoon to sit outside and keep warm in the sun. Close to town, we walked in and walking distance to Golf Club which does an excellent meal. Overall good value for money for a short stay. Would stay again.

Room Tip: All appeared to be okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie333Lithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi
Thanks for your review and your positive comments.
Gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Mittagong Motel is a good 3 star Motel, breakfast is complementary and they provide a good selection of foods. (Continental style).
The Motel is situated close to town and there is a selection of restaurants available. The RSL has a large dining area at affordable prices, they also have shows every now and then.

Room Tip: l think that all rooms would be of equal standard, one excellent bonus is that they offer free Wi-Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review. By the way, we are actually only accredited overall as 2 and 1/2 stars with the AAA star rating scheme, although our ongoing program of upgrades is continuing and some of our rooms have been accredited at 3 star. In the meantime, we have a strong quality improvement culture and receive feedback from our guests in a variety of ways. We prioritise our improvements and upgrades based on what our guests tell us is important to them.
Regards
Gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Angie and I have been travelling here for weekend escapes for nearly a decade now. It is excellent value for an escape from a busy lifestyle to recharge in the scenic Southern Highlands. For a good, peaceful rest in clean accomodation with good people and service we could not recommend the Mittagong Motel any higher. Although we prefer a sleep in, the complimetary continental breakfast is great value. See you again soon.
Angie and Tony

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Lovely feedback. Thank you!!
gill@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here as it was number 1 on Trip Advisor,and were very disappointed, the room was small and the bathroom very small, and both were in bad need of a complete renovation.
Frig in the room was not turned on and had to ask at the desk for shampoo, milk etc
Should have smelt a rat when it was very cheap and included continental breakfast, skipped breakfast when the milk was sitting on a bench with the sun beating through window directly on it and the honey, jam etc were in communal jars on each table.
Certainly a long way from number 1 in my book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hello William
I'm really sorry about your stay - clearly you didn't have a positive experience. Also sorry that I am only just responding to your review.
For some reason it sounds like you ended up in one of our cheapest rooms. Possibly you booked with us on a night when we had no better rooms available. We have done some additional work on some our cheaper rooms recently, but overall we have been focusing our main effort on our better rooms. We do turn our fridges off during the winter months (but guests can turn them on anytime if they require the fridge), however fridges are kept on all the time during the warmer seasons. This is an energy saving measure. We provide UHT milk in the rooms... I am sorry if there was no milk in your room. We don't provide shampoo.
Many thanks for giving us your feedback which we value.
Regards
Gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here the other night based on the other great reviews (thank you TripAdvisor) and let me tell you the reviews did not let us down. Great little motel, with the extra touches (microwave in the room) that we did not expect. Friendly service, lovely coffee from the new machine at the included breakfast all equaled fantastic value for money. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossy2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi
Glad you found our reviews to be so reliable and that you had a great stay.
Gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The motel was run by a great family and made me feel at home they were very helpful and friendly would stay here again it was very convinient and practical for me the rooms are very comfortable depending on the size of room you need the rooms get checked on every day if you need clean towls or other essentials

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi Rocco
Thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion. Sounds like you had a pleasant stay.
Gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
3.3 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
3.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
10.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
681 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittagong Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittagong Motel

Property: Mittagong Motel
Address: 7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mittagong Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittagong Motel has 26 ground floor units, including twin rooms and family rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean and comfortable motel while maintaining the affordability, friendliness and charm of a family owned and operated business. We endeavour to do everything we can to make your stay with us really enjoyable. Whether you are looking for affordable accommodation for your family, or you are a single traveller simply seeking a cozy room with a double bed and large digital TV, Mittagong Motel has the room to suit your desires and budget. All our rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen TV's, microwaves and on-site parking as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We have 24 hour a day reception. Mittagong Motel offers a complimentary continental breakfast to all our guests. Mittagong Motel is centrally located in Mittagong, a township in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW. The motel is just a short stroll to the centre of Mittagong, and to golf and service clubs. Mittagong is just 10 minutes off the Hume Hwy south of Sydney and is the perfect place for an overnight stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Mittagong Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing