We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value plus - and that muesli!!!!”
Review of Mittagong Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mittagong Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed in this Motel because I wanted clean, cheap accommodation to crash in at night. Have now been back 3 times and will stay again....and again!!!

Very friendly Management and staff - couldn't do more to help.

Have noticed a range of comments about the breakfast.....who gives you breakfast in a $70/night Motel??? Mittagong Motel does!! And as far as I'm concerned it was a cracker of a breakie!! And the boss's muesli (sorry Gillian - the co-boss's muesli) is to die for - truly!! He even told me his recipe, and I now have it every day!!

Take the hint, if you want a really good, value for money place to stay in Mittagong - this is it!! It's not "The Ritz"....Just good, honest, basic, great value for money accommodation.

Keep up the great work - Cheers, Laurie M.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 265 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

We even stayed a second time, because the first time, the owner and manager was so nice and very helpful to us.
The room was both time clean and well kept. For a double incl. breakfast, the price of $79 is very good value. Nice TV screen.
We will be back, if we are traveling again in this area.

Wir kamen ein zweites Mal, da wir beim ersten Mal so positiv ueberrascht wurden von der Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft des Managers/ Besitzers.
Das Zimmer war beide Male sauber und gut in Schuss. Die 79$ fuer ein Doppel inkl. Fruehstueck waren ein guter Preis. Wenn wir in dieser Gegend sind, werden wir wieder hier uebernachten.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ursula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Hello Ursula - thank you for telling us your experience and for providing a review for other Swiss and German travellers. We are very grateful
Gillian @ Mittagong Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Mittagong Hotel the first time we stayed in the cheaper room $70 p.n. which included breakfast, we were very happy with that, this time they had no cheaper rooms available but because we weren't going to use the single bed in the room we paid $89 instead of $99 which we were happy with, although the room was a little outdated it was very clean & fresh, the Queen size bed was very comfortable and for one night was just what we wanted, the breakfast was great with cerials, toast, plenty of spreads etc, orange juice, tea & coffee, enough to get us on our way, I would recommend this motel to anyone and would certainly stay there again. I think the only down side to this Motel is that it is a fair walk into the centre of town which is where the restaurants & eating places are especially if you want to have a drink, but in saying that if you don't mind driving it's the cheapest place in town to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hello Vivian
Great feedback. Thanks a lot.
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

on arrival greeted by receptionist??? Room was tidy but did not have fresh smell,appears only suitable for workmen to stay overnight. no basin in bathroom,Have to use basin in kitchen area for shaving etc. just not a nice motel in general.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hello Ray
I appreciate your feedback - we'll review the concerns you raised.
Regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we booked a room a few days before staying after deciding to have a random girls night away. The man we spoke to when booking was lovely and gave me advice where we could go out that night as none of us had been to Mittagong before. When I arrived at the motel i felt it had abit of an old school feel to it which was nice but the trees and site all looked well maintained and tidy. the rooms were a little out dated but they were very clean and tidy with a remote control flat screen TV and reception staff advised us they were in the middle of trying to do everything up so we weren’t concerned.
The motel offered free Wi-Fi and complimentary breaky (which we didn’t make it to as it goes from 7-8am and that is a little too early on a Sunday morning for me).
The only thing that i could fault which isnt even a massive issue is that our room was next to the laundry so in the morning from about 8.30-9am the cleaners were walking past talking loudly and the washing machines banged a little but again this wasnt to much of a problem and it wouldnt be the case in any other room besdes the one we were in.
If i was in Mittagong again i wouldn’t hesitate in staying there and recommending it to friends as a clean basic motel with very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmieB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi Amie
Thanks so much for your feedback - we'll follow up on the issue you raised.
Regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Travelling as a family.I stayed in many road motels before but this motel really surprised me.You can tell that the owners love their property and their guests. Friendly service, there is somebody at the reception till 2.am, clean, comfortable beds, complimentary breakfast, free wifi.......
I booked the same day over the phone, which was easy and fast. And recommend everybody to write down their contact details just in case you need a good sleep and a hot hot shower!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lieumoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hi
Thanks so much for your feedback. It's great encouragement for us and our staff!!
Cheers
Gillian at Mittagong Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here on our way back to Victoria. This is your basic motel, which is now under new management. The room was good, and rates were reasonable. A continental breakfast is complimentary (although we didn't partake) but that was a pleasant surprise. Free wi-fi and friendly service. Good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillbilliechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Manager at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hi Hillbilliechic
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.
Happy travelling!
Gillian at Mittagong Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
2.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
3.3 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
10.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poplars Inn Mittagong
Poplars Inn Mittagong
#5 of 5 in Mittagong
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittagong Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittagong Motel

Address: 7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range: $82 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mittagong Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittagong Motel has 26 ground floor units, including twin rooms and family rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean and comfortable motel while maintaining the affordability, friendliness and charm of a family owned and operated business. We endeavour to do everything we can to make your stay with us really enjoyable. Whether you are looking for affordable accommodation for your family, or you are a single traveller simply seeking a cozy room with a double bed and large digital TV, Mittagong Motel has the room to suit your desires and budget. All our rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen TV's, microwaves and on-site parking as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We have 24 hour a day reception. Mittagong Motel offers a complimentary continental breakfast to all our guests. Mittagong Motel is centrally located in Mittagong, a township in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW. The motel is just a short stroll to the centre of Mittagong, and to golf and service clubs. Mittagong is just 10 minutes off the Hume Hwy south of Sydney and is the perfect place for an overnight stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mittagong Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing