We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy to book, very clean and tidy”
Review of Mittagong Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mittagong Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we booked a room a few days before staying after deciding to have a random girls night away. The man we spoke to when booking was lovely and gave me advice where we could go out that night as none of us had been to Mittagong before. When I arrived at the motel i felt it had abit of an old school feel to it which was nice but the trees and site all looked well maintained and tidy. the rooms were a little out dated but they were very clean and tidy with a remote control flat screen TV and reception staff advised us they were in the middle of trying to do everything up so we weren’t concerned.
The motel offered free Wi-Fi and complimentary breaky (which we didn’t make it to as it goes from 7-8am and that is a little too early on a Sunday morning for me).
The only thing that i could fault which isnt even a massive issue is that our room was next to the laundry so in the morning from about 8.30-9am the cleaners were walking past talking loudly and the washing machines banged a little but again this wasnt to much of a problem and it wouldnt be the case in any other room besdes the one we were in.
If i was in Mittagong again i wouldn’t hesitate in staying there and recommending it to friends as a clean basic motel with very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmieB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi Amie
Thanks so much for your feedback - we'll follow up on the issue you raised.
Regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 262 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Travelling as a family.I stayed in many road motels before but this motel really surprised me.You can tell that the owners love their property and their guests. Friendly service, there is somebody at the reception till 2.am, clean, comfortable beds, complimentary breakfast, free wifi.......
I booked the same day over the phone, which was easy and fast. And recommend everybody to write down their contact details just in case you need a good sleep and a hot hot shower!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lieumoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hi
Thanks so much for your feedback. It's great encouragement for us and our staff!!
Cheers
Gillian at Mittagong Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here on our way back to Victoria. This is your basic motel, which is now under new management. The room was good, and rates were reasonable. A continental breakfast is complimentary (although we didn't partake) but that was a pleasant surprise. Free wi-fi and friendly service. Good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillbilliechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Manager at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hi Hillbilliechic
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.
Happy travelling!
Gillian at Mittagong Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We unexpectedly needed to stay a night in Mittagong so we wanted something cheap. The Mittagong Motel was a pleasant surprise for the price. Friendly staff, reasonable rooms, good wi-fi and gushing hot showers. Some of the furnishings look a little dated and we'd probably arrange our own breakfast next time. Apart from that everything was clean and we had a great nights sleep. I'd definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hi Eddie, we really appreciate and value your feedback. Thanks for all your comments.

We are with you about the furnishings being dated....upgrades are high on our list of priorities.

In regards to the breakfast, we agree that the complimentary continental breakfast provides a limited choice for our guests, really just 5 or 6 choices of cereal, toast and spreads, tea or coffee and sometimes juice. We are hoping to offer a hot breakfast for our guests in the future, especially on the weekends. The complimentary continental will still be perfect for families and those who just want a light breakfast, but hopefully we'll better meet the needs of those with a hearty appetite. We might need to look at the coffee issue too.. at the moment the cafes up the road are much more appealing...!!

One last point - for some reason TripAdvisor doesn't have a motel category, which is a bit of a gap in the Australian context (or maybe I've missed something on TripAdvisor). At the moment we are listed as a B & B, which may suggest that breakfast is an integral part of what we provide, but really, in the motel context, the free breakfast we offer is a little bit of 'cream on the cake'.
Thanks again
Gillian at Mittagong Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are looking for a cheaper accommodation alternative in the Southern Highlands, this is it! The owner/operators made us feel so welcome, lovely people, friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean, freshly painted and had a new flat screen TV with all the channels. Tea and coffee facilities available as well as a toaster. What you would expect from a well-run 21/2 - 3-star motel. Overall an enjoyable and friendly stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thanks Jill for your encouragement. We have just past our first year anniversary of taking over the motel, so great to have such good feedback.
Cheers
Gillian at Mittagong Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A lovely place.
We stayed here one night durng the long week-end over 29-Sep thru 01-Oct 2012.
Friendly owners;
Well laid out rooms;
Good location on the main highway;
Easy access;
short walk to eating places and shops if one would like to go to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BharatBalsavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hi Bharat, thanks for much for being our inaugural TripAdvisor reviewer!!! We are so grateful that you got us up and running.
Thanks as well for raising the issue of the restaurants and cafes in our local area. We are lucky to have some really lovely places to eat.
Regards
Gillian at Mittagong Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ich denke alle Räume sind gut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 249jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
2.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
3.3 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
10.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poplars Inn Mittagong
Poplars Inn Mittagong
#5 of 5 in Mittagong
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittagong Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittagong Motel

Address: 7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range: $82 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mittagong Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittagong Motel has 26 ground floor units, including twin rooms and family rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean and comfortable motel while maintaining the affordability, friendliness and charm of a family owned and operated business. We endeavour to do everything we can to make your stay with us really enjoyable. Whether you are looking for affordable accommodation for your family, or you are a single traveller simply seeking a cozy room with a double bed and large digital TV, Mittagong Motel has the room to suit your desires and budget. All our rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen TV's, microwaves and on-site parking as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We have 24 hour a day reception. Mittagong Motel offers a complimentary continental breakfast to all our guests. Mittagong Motel is centrally located in Mittagong, a township in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW. The motel is just a short stroll to the centre of Mittagong, and to golf and service clubs. Mittagong is just 10 minutes off the Hume Hwy south of Sydney and is the perfect place for an overnight stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mittagong Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing