We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, adequate with pros and cons.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milton Village Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Milton B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Small, adequate with pros and cons.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This simple motel is on the northern outskirts of Milton and is okay. The room was a triple (queen bed with one single). It was very small however organised in a smart and effective manner. It is a functional plan that flows well and didn't actually feel small. It was obvious that the room had been freshened/updated in the last couple of years and this helped give the room a warm, welcoming feel.

The bits you would expect from a motel were here, including two twin packs of complementary biscuits, shampoo, conditioner, etc. An added bonus was the fresh milk provided for coffee (I do hate UHT sachets). The bathroom was spacious and had been updated relatively recently. The shower had a great shower-head with fantastic water pressure. Always welcomed!

Out the back of the room was another door to your private balcony that overlooked a serene country view, with the Tasman Sea bracketing the horses eating in the green pastures. Breathtakingly beautiful. This was contrasted by the noise and closeness of the Pacific Highway out the front door. Throughout the night, our sleep was punctuated by trucks and road noise.

The bed was too soft for our liking. While a firm bed is always a preference, a softer bed is okay. This was too soft but this is always a very personal perspective. Additionally, there were some marks on the bedspread that should have been noticed by housekeeping.

In balance, the small problems are outweighed by the pleasant room. The biggest negative for me was the road noise and, sadly, it was enough to push me to decide that I wouldn't stay here again until the highway noise was managed. We had brief interactions with the Managers and found them to be nice, helpful people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellSmart86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    32
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
50
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

stayed for 2 nights in triple room,
No room service attended, came back to room after function and had not been serviced,
No clean towels, no tea or coffee supply, room not made up,
Manager stated was too tired to do

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieandKels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Milton Village Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Our chambermaid was unable to service this room during her work period in the morning as several guests were using the room to have their hair done for a wedding and did not want to leave until just before the 1 o'clock ceremony. I apologised sincerely for my oversight later that day and offered a $25 refund, which was accepted. These matters would have been corrected if a request had been made on their return. A telephone call was made to one of the guests after their departure as some items had been left behind. We try very hard to please our guests and I regret that the refund was not accepted in the spirit in which it was offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

On a road trip along the South Coast we were lucky enough to stay at the Milton Village Motel for 1 night. At $120 per night it is great value.

LOCATION: The Motel is located on the main rd through Milton, and although it’s the main rd Milton is a very small town, with no real traffic to speak of.

TYPE OF ROOM: We had room number 6 (I think all rooms are the same). Our room had a lovely little back balcony area which looked out over the fields to the ocean.
In addition to having a QS bed in the room there was also a small sitting area.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: The bathrooms appear to have been renovated in the past couple of years, and was very clean, with plenty of bench space.
The water pressure was good.

CLEANLINESS: The room and bathroom were very clean. Its obvious the owners take great pride in their motel.

CLOSET SPACE: There was a closet in the room and enough space for our bags.

TV: There was a TV in the room with local stations.

SERVICE: Although we had a slight mix up with our booking, the lovely couple who own the motel were very helpful and friendly, they know the town inside out and gave us a great recommendation for dinner at the Tipsy Fig.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at this motel on Saturday 11 August 2012. We were impressed by its cleanliness, convenience and the charming proprietors. Despite it being on the main road, we were not disturbed by the traffic and had a fantastic night's sleep. We found the motel both comfortable and affordable. It is centrally located to the Milton attractions we were interested in. There is a lovely view towards the sea from the private rear balcony. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We think that rooms 5 to 8 are more sheltered than Rooms 1 to 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

While the photos of this motel seem to indicate it is good quality establishment, the reality is somewhat different. The doors to each unit face, and are just a stone throw from, the main highway. Good if you like counting trucks - and the complete opposite of the pastoral/coastal scenes in the advertising.
We had a queen room that was average in size and fittings. However, the colour scheme made the room feel bleak at night and the old-style bedspread wasn't something you would cherish pulling up around your ears in the middle of winter.
The reasonable tariff and the handy location make this motel reasonable value for the weary motorist in need of a shower and somewhere to sleep. Just don't get the impression that this motel would make a great base for a holiday in lovely Milton.
The best part of our stay was finding the Tipsy Fig restaurant in the middle of town. Great menu, terrific food, fantastic service and a casual ambience. Although the entrees and mains were more than enough, we couldn't resist the sweets menu. Meaning, we left the Tipsy Fig feeling like a couple of guilty pigs!
The next morning we had breakfast at the Pilgrim vegetarian cafe on the main street. Even if you are not a vegan, this is THE place for brekky. you will have to fight the locals for a table, but it will be worth it.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere if you want a 'holiday' atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PithHelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We went there for a week-end break, with my family and the stay was brilliant. The owners are really nice and the family room was great. Plenty of space, simple but efficient, we were 5kms off the beach.
If it wasn't for the fact that the kids bedroom area communicate with the parents room (open plan layout) it would have been perfect)

Room Tip: great family or tourist stop over
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
3.0 mi away
Bannisters by the sea
Bannisters by the sea
#2 of 8 in Mollymook
562 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Lake Conjola
Ingenia Holidays Lake Conjola
#1 of 4 in Lake Conjola
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milton Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mollymook Shores
Mollymook Shores
#4 of 8 in Mollymook
107 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kings Point Retreat
Kings Point Retreat
#2 of 7 in Ulladulla
167 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ulladulla Guest House
Ulladulla Guest House
#1 of 3 in Ulladulla
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Village Motel

Property: Milton Village Motel
Address: 14-20 Princes Hwy, Milton, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2538, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Milton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milton Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milton Village Motel is situated 650 metres north of the Post Office with all rooms overlooking rural and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Milton Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing