We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merimbula Robyns Nest
Ranked #2 of 6 Merimbula B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed as a couple in a self-contained cottage for three nights and could easily have stayed longer! I would recommend an absolute minimum of two nights to thoroughly enjoy all this place has to offer.

It is not possible to fault this lovely retreat. Situated just out of Merimbula it is peaceful and scenic with woods to one side and lakes to the other. I can imagine it would be lovely sitting out on the private deck during summer. The cottages are immaculate and great attention is paid to detail from the comfy bathrobes to the lavender bags on the towels, to the bottle of milk in the fridge and the heating which was put on in preparation for our arrival.

The service was warm and accommodating - Robyn greeted me at the door and was very helpful with walking directions into town (a delightfully flat and scenic 45 minute stroll) and recommendations on all the best eateries (there are quite a few!). When we had a problem the staff were quick to respond and very accommodating.

Thank you Robyn and family for a relaxing and memorable stay. We hope to visit again and will recommend you to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHoliday012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, Owner at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thankyou for your kind words & we are pleased that your stay was fondly memorable. We do try to make sure everyone enjoys their stay with us in what we feel is our little bit of Paradise. We look forward to your return visit whenever that may be. Regards Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were on a drive from Sydney to Melbourne via the coastal road and Robyns Nest was an excellent first stop.

If you are following a GPS, before the actual place where it says it is, there is a turnoff that is well signed. They have a private road to their facilities.

Lots of parking and at the bottom it opens up to this spectacular view so right from the moment you get out of your car you feel relaxed already.

I didn't think a bed and breakfast can be so huge! They have conference facilities, self contained cabins and even a pool. Check in was easy and Robyn even gave us some advice on the local area. Our room was situation in the main house and we couldn't be happier. I hear people say things about the decor but for my wife and I, it adds to the charm.

My wife and I like to open EVERYTHING! The bed was great with lots of pillows. heating was excellent, bathroom was clean with a great shower. There were robes in the closet (great touch). There was a separate full kitchen outside our room which was great, with a microwave and a dishwasher (Robyn told us later that we didn't have to rinse the dishes but it's a habit). Oh and the port... thanks very much! Oh and there were board games to use BONUS!

We didn't really explore their facilities since we were just an overnight stay. But it was quiet, views were excellent. Met the friendly cat that ran like a dog and walked with me while i took photos. Oh and a kangaroo walked (jumped) around the car while I was exiting one time, very surreal.

The breakfast was great and my pregnant wife ate everything which is a good sign. Fresh squeezed orange juice was great! Birds chirping outside and kangaroos hopping around through the window while you eat... is there a better way to start a day.

As promised Robyn, here is my review of our stay. Thanks for having us and if we are ever in the area again, we will surely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shisnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, Owner at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write the review & thankyou for your comments. We try very hard to meet the requirements of all our Guests and it is great that we are succeeding. Thankyou for staying with us & we look forward to having you stay again. Good Luck with the upcoming birth your Baby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

In a beautiful spot. Level of appointment is high. You could pay the same money in a dozen Hotel/Motels within walking distance and get much less for your money than this gem. Not close to the beach - you would have a 10 min drive. But for business travel, or a fantastic couples getaway this is great value.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, Owner at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to write the Trip Adviser comment. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to having you stay again in the future. Regards Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice to find a purpose built B&B in Merimbula, a town dominated by motels & apartments. Large main house with seperate family cabins. Pool & tennis court available.

Robyn's Nest sits on the shores of a lake and the outlook is beautiful. The rooms in the main house are very large and comfortable, although the styling is a bit "twee" by today's standards. The property and rooms are impeccably clean though. The breakfast room is pleasant & adjoins a large lounge area & verandah overlooking the lake.

Management were very accomodating & pleasant. I asked to have breakfast earlier than normal and Robyn was happy to provide this.

Overall an enjoyable, albeit only one night stay. I hope to return one dayn

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonman106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, Owner at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thankyou for your review. It was my pleasure to be able to make sure you had a good (early) start to your day. Its what Hospitality & Hosted accommodation is all about & as you say sets us above our competition. Hope the golf went well. We would welcome you again in the future. Regards Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hi Robyn,
We would just like to thank you for a wonderful stay!
We thoroughly enjoyed the comfort, warmth and relaxation of our little cottage. We also enjoyed a nice big walk around the Lake and your property.
It was awesome that we were able to bring up our own food and be able to use all the utensils to make mini pizzas for dinner in the kitchen of our cottage.
The spa bath was a real treat as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, Owner at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thankyou for your review & we are delighted that youe enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return. Regards Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our experience here was very positive, having stayed for a couple of night while driving up the Sapphire Coast. The grounds are large and well kept. We were there in May so it was too cold to use the pool but it looked clean and well kept. The facilities in our apartment/house were spacious and clean. I might prefer a less institutional looking decor (curtains and carpeting definitely from another era in design, although clean and in good condition). Kitchen was very well appointed and there was an excellent outdoor grille. You can easily buy provisions in town or shop at a larger store such as the BuyLo in Eden to stock up for your stay here). Robyn clued us in on where to find good seafood in town and the grill got good use. The walk into town on the wood promenade, which follows the rim of the lagoon, is very pleasant and there is a wide variety of wild fowl to view on the way. This is a great place to stay and very well located.. I'd suggest that Robyn's Nest consider providing WiFi free of charge in keeping with the trend. This lovely place isn't a five star large hotel where such charges are imposed and having to pay for it reminds one of having to pay to bring a suitcase on an airplane. Otherwise, Robyn' Nest gets a big "A" in my book.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, Manager at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thankyou for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Robyns Nest. As our property is so large In order to provide a reliable wifi connection we have had to outsource this task to a local provider. In the past we did have a free wifi setup but found this to be unreliable and unrealistic especially in the busy seasons. However we do endeavour to constantly better the way we provide services and accommodation to our guests and will try to work out a more favourable scenario for the future. If you are ever back down this way we hope you will consider us for a second stay.

Regards Robyn and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place is the perfect location if you want to be away from the crowds, without being too far away to pop into town for groceries, a meal etc. You get half-way down the access road and feel the relaxing environment creep up on you!

The staff were also fantastic - we had booked way more accommodation than we needed through another website and they were quick to adjust so we got a room that was actually suited to us (the initial booking would have been great for a larger family, but was un-necessary for a couple with a toddler sleeping in his own travel cot).

I very much hope to go back for longer one day!

Room Tip: Phone them directly to discuss your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, Owner at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thankyou for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again if you can return. If possible we will always make any changes that improve the quality of stay for our Guests.
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merimbula
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#7 of 15 in Merimbula
131 reviews
12.4 mi away
Tathra Beach House
Tathra Beach House
#1 of 1 in Tathra
133 reviews
2.5 mi away
NRMA  Merimbula Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Coast Resort Merimbula
Coast Resort Merimbula
#10 of 59 in Merimbula
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#10 of 15 in Merimbula
80 reviews
3.6 mi away
Balconies Dolphincove
Balconies Dolphincove
#1 of 6 in Merimbula
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merimbula Robyns Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merimbula Robyns Nest

Address: 188 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Merimbula
Price Range: $123 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merimbula Robyns Nest 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute lake frontage set on 100 acres of bush within the town boundary, 5 star rated, 3 minutes drive from the shopping center for the discerning Guest. Self-Contained cottages and traditional hotel style suites with breakfast included are available. Buildings have been built in a Federation style with all modern amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merimbula Robyns Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing