We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location to relax and explore the town of Merinbula”
Review of South Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Seas Motel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently situated on the main street of the town from where one can easily walk around and explore the beautiful town of Merinbula. There are close by restaurants and eating places and ample space just to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel, on our way to Melbourne. When we checked in we asked if there was wifi. The answer was yes. We payed 80 AUS for the night, went to our room and turned on our Ipad, because we had to find a hotel in Melbourne for the following day. There was no wifi in the room, so we went to the reception and there we could get online. When we wanted to talk with the owner about this he turned from nice to going crazy out of nothing. He started to slam his hand in the desk and yelled at us. He said he wanted to throw our Ipad out the window. When I asked him and his wife if he was serious he picked up the phone and threatend to call the police. His wife told us it was better if we left the reception. I asked to talk to the owner because I wanted to complain about his behaviour. He told me he was only the manager and not the owner. He almost slammed the sliding door in my head and lucked the door. We went back to our room, totally choked about their behaviour.
The day after we went to talk with then again about this, hoping he had calmed down and properly appologize for his temper. He wasn't there his wife informed us. We asked for her to call the owner. She wouldn't and after some talking she gave us her card and took my mailadress, and inform that she would have the owner writting us. I have been writting the last 10 days to her, but get no replies.
We found out afterworth, that they are the owners themself. They had only had the hotel for one week. Crazy owners who scream at their guests and lie.
There is nothing wrong with the hotel it self (except the wifi doesn't work in the rooms :o] ), but I would recommend to take one of the other hotels in town. There are quite a few hotels at the same rate just before you get into town. We had seen rooms at some of the other hotels and only picked South Seas Motel, because they had wifi and was in the center of town.
I work as a travelagent an have been at hundreds of hotels but have never been to a hotel where the owner threatens his guests. Pick another hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stockmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southseas05, Owner at South Seas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Mr Stockmarr..We regret that your stay was not satisfactory but we did our best to help you and let you stay in the reception to use our internet for free for a length of time as it was raining and the wifi did not have a signal in the room and when we asked you to leave as we were closing the reception you did not want to leave. The wifi is now fixed and we always assure our guests the best of our attention and comfort at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed one night but definitely considering coming back. Well located within a short walk of the waterfront and shops, takeaways etc
Got a free upgrade to a very nice room. Very clean and well presented. The place doesn't look much from the front but it's nice inside and they look after you well. The breakfast was pretty good also. There's a small pool and BBQ area which is well kept with pool towels available. There's a bit of noise from the road during the day but it seemed quiet enough at night.
All in all, recomended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Have travelled the East Coast fom Townsville to Frankston Victotia and out to Broken Hill and found South Seas Merimbula the best I have stayed. Rooms clean and everything needed was supplies in room. Cleaning was above excellence. Anything extra asked for was supplied immediately. Close to all town shops and clubs. Room prices affordable. We live in the Cooma District and now realise for these prices we will be able to go to the Coast and have a lovely week-end more often on the budget prices. I would highly recommend this Motet to everyone. Last but not least the Husband and Wife team who run and own this Motel are so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. Lola and Des

Room Tip: Our room had a private balcony - our room was ground floor and there was no excessive noise - doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Great location in main part of Merimbula. Could see the water from the room we were upgraded to free. Clean, well equipped room. Would stay here again. (P.s meals at RSL Club were great)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jana_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was warmly welcomed but received comment (because I was half an hour early), that everyone was checking in early including a bus load of guests.As I noted the motel was right on the main road, I asked for a quiet room if possible. Was told as I was the last to book all rooms had been allocated, and nothing could be done.
Another comment was then made if there was noise ( I was refering to the main road) I should ask the adjacent guests to quieten down ? As it turned out the group did have a session in one of the rooms until about 2.30 into the next morning.
The room was basic and from the notices found in the room it seems the proprietors are endeavouring to progressively upgrade the premises. The room was sparten and somewhat tired. The carpet could have done with freshening up. Nevertheless in fairness the tariff reflected the status of the accommodation.
If one is looking for a budget motel with convenient access to the town proper then this motel would still suit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tastony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Friendly staff and lovely room. Comfy beds. Good value for money. Just a short stroll to shops and restaurants and parking out the front of the room. We also ordered a cooked breakfast which was lovely.

Great value for money

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
#12 of 15 in Merimbula
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#7 of 15 in Merimbula
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#3 of 15 in Merimbula
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merimbula Gardens Motel
Merimbula Gardens Motel
#11 of 15 in Merimbula
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Motel

Address: 12 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range: $75 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Motel, offers Deluxe, Standard & Budget Motel accommodation as well as fully self-contained 2 & 3 level apartments. Located in the CBD of Merimbula on the 'Sapphire Coast' of Southern New South Wales. We are ideally situated, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Sydney Melbourne Coastal Drive Route. South Seas accommodation is undoubtedly Merimbula's best located Motel located in the CBD easy walking distance to everything from the Shopping Centre, Supermarket, Clubs & Restaurants. With the Lake located just 150 meters from the Motel and Apartments. Stay in and relax in the Garden and Spacious Lawns Area or on the Sundeck beside the large Solar Heated Salt Water Swimming Pool. Perhaps dining outside is more inviting, use the free BBQ facilities and dine in the large secluded outside dining area or use the newly renovated Function Room that seats 70+ people for your next, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking. Groups are well catered for with discounted Package Deals available for Fishing, Golf, Bowls, Whale Watching, Coach Tours, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking.South Seas offers 20 rooms with something to suit everyone from Travellers or Executives to short breaks, long stays or planning your next extended or family holiday. Deluxe and Executive motel units have individual cooking facilities; most Standard rooms have scenic balcony views. All rooms have Tea and Coffee, Toasters and Microwaves and direct dial Telephones. South Seas also offers a cooked al-a-cart breakfast delivered daily to your room or groups can dine together in the function room if they so desire. Wi-Fi Internet and BBQ are offered free to all guests.South Seas Motel offers clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and in a central location at a fraction of the cost.Interstate coaches stop directly opposite the Motel, while Merimbula Airport is within 2km. Why not enjoy your next visit to Merimbula by staying at the South Seas Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing