We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room in a great spot”
Review of South Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Seas Motel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Friendly staff and lovely room. Comfy beds. Good value for money. Just a short stroll to shops and restaurants and parking out the front of the room. We also ordered a cooked breakfast which was lovely.

Great value for money

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for South Seas Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at South Seas during the October Long Weekend and we had a great stay.
Our room was very clean and we were happy with the facilities that our room had inc microwave.
We arrived a little late and our checkin was prompt and courteous.
The bed was comfortable and the linen fresh and crisp.
The only down side to our room was the sunlight coming through at about 5am had us both fully awake - I would suggest to the owners that they need to purchase block out curtaining or dual blinds to allow guests to have a reasonable sleep in.
Our daily cooked breakfast was yummy and easily the best scrambled eggs Ive had for quite some time.
A great location and clost to all that Merimbula has to offer.
And YES, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that offers complete darkness if you would like to have a sleep in
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie1977Berridale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Location: perfect, restaurants and shops next door, café right in front (fabulous fresh bread)
Check-in : very nice and welcoming clerk
Wifi: 50 mega offered, enough to check the mail, we were offered 2 vouchers for our 2 laptops
Large parking space right at the door, with an outside table, chairs and ashtray
Room: large, very clean (we had to move a bed, there was not a hair underneath, bravo!), electric heating mattresses, we adored them! Equipped kitchenette with table and chairs
Bathroom: on the small side but satisfactory
A vacation motel as we like them, unpretentious, comfortable, at a reasonable price
Would I return? Definitely

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maramanocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were staying at a nearby Dive Lodge and for various reasons, we decided to move. We checked the internet accommodation agents and came up with the South Seas Motel and Apartments. After checking Trip Advisor and seeing the number of favourable reviews, we decided to book in for the remaining 3 nights we were staying here to dive.

As we were originally in a self contained apartment, we wanted the same. Whilst not a full kitchen, so long as you are able to use a microwave to cook, it's ok. The bed is comfortable and the room was very clean. It is central to everything in Merimbula's shopping district. No scuba gear washing facilities of course, but we managed. (great shower!)

We will recommend this to our friends and and will most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a kitchenette, so if you want one, make sure to ask!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveMedic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Booked one night midweek in late may for $69.00. Room was on the smaller side but was very clean and has a small kitchen. There was a wall mounted heater and fan. A wall mounted plasma T.V. The Motel is a minute walk to the town center. Value for money this hotel would be hard to beat. The bed was comfy and the sheets and pillows in great condition. I would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkF54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

I'd decided to spoil myself with a 'proper' bed having been on the road in a small campervan for some time. The colder weather spurred on this decision but being on a tight budget, I had to shop around for the best deal. Fantastic rate offered by South Seas - so I checked in. Great reception - felt very welcome. Large room with extra's like electric blanket, kitchenette, good heater, great location. Dated decor but really clean and tidy. Worth every penny and more!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This motel is a neat, clean, tidy establishment which is situated right in the centre of Merimbula. Very convenient walking distance to everything in town. Rooms are what you would expect to pay for in the advertised price range.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#4 of 15 in Merimbula
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#9 of 15 in Merimbula
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merimbula Gardens Motel
Merimbula Gardens Motel
#11 of 15 in Merimbula
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Motel

Address: 12 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range: $79 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Motel, offers Deluxe, Standard & Budget Motel accommodation as well as fully self-contained 2 & 3 level apartments. Located in the CBD of Merimbula on the 'Sapphire Coast' of Southern New South Wales. We are ideally situated, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Sydney Melbourne Coastal Drive Route. South Seas accommodation is undoubtedly Merimbula's best located Motel located in the CBD easy walking distance to everything from the Shopping Centre, Supermarket, Clubs & Restaurants. With the Lake located just 150 meters from the Motel and Apartments. Stay in and relax in the Garden and Spacious Lawns Area or on the Sundeck beside the large Solar Heated Salt Water Swimming Pool. Perhaps dining outside is more inviting, use the free BBQ facilities and dine in the large secluded outside dining area or use the newly renovated Function Room that seats 70+ people for your next, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking. Groups are well catered for with discounted Package Deals available for Fishing, Golf, Bowls, Whale Watching, Coach Tours, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking.South Seas offers 20 rooms with something to suit everyone from Travellers or Executives to short breaks, long stays or planning your next extended or family holiday. Deluxe and Executive motel units have individual cooking facilities; most Standard rooms have scenic balcony views. All rooms have Tea and Coffee, Toasters and Microwaves and direct dial Telephones. South Seas also offers a cooked al-a-cart breakfast delivered daily to your room or groups can dine together in the function room if they so desire. Wi-Fi Internet and BBQ are offered free to all guests.South Seas Motel offers clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and in a central location at a fraction of the cost.Interstate coaches stop directly opposite the Motel, while Merimbula Airport is within 2km. Why not enjoy your next visit to Merimbula by staying at the South Seas Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing