We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the same as it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the same as it used to be”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times before, warm welcome with treats, free Internet, loads of help, and much more.

This time we got over charged, ordered our room for 1 night for $139 over the phone and when we got home we was charged $170, make sure you book online so the price is locked in! free Internet suddenly costs more, no one at the desk, cable tv barely works, untidy outside, king bed is like laying on a rock, why is the tiny fridge full of drinks you don't want that costs loads more?, the only thing that made it worthwhile this time was the spa, will be trying a new place next time - how disappointing!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cioko32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear you were not happy with your recent stay with us and I thank you for your feedback regarding this. I will be taking your information on board and address it accordingly in order to ascertain where we let you down. I would like to point out that if you were quoted $139 on the phone you should not have been charged $170.00, unless there was a different room type chosen on arrival or if there were more than one person staying, which was not originally spoken about. Either way I would be happy to review your booking if you could give me the name it was booked in and exactly when you stayed. If you have a valid case I would be happy to compensate you in some way as this should not have happened. If you would prefer to call direct to the motel, please feel free to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
51
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good room, but what expected for price, which is top for country motel.Good location over road from Golf Club which provides typical cheap large food, did not use breakfast facility as left early.
$10 charge for wiFi access way out of date!
Albert

Room Tip: Before booking ask if WiFi free
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertarmMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice and big. Cleanliness pretty good. The hotel grounds were untidy and pool dirty. Reception staff not very well presented. Hotel lacked pride in its presentation. Was expecting higher standards for nearly $200 per night. Was ok.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beauk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I often travel down the South Coast with work and every time I do I always stay at the Fairway Motor Inn at Merimbula. All of the rooms have recently been refurbished and the owners Debbie and Peter are the perfect hosts where nothing is an effort. You can use the charge back facility to your room form the Golf Club right across the road or if you wish to experience some fresh seafood you cant go past Wheelers restaurant just 2 doors down. Maybe you dont want to go any where there is a tennis court, swimming pool and BBQ area to just kick back a top family orientated place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter if that is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were just looking for an overnight stay for a quick getaway but you could stay much longer as the rooms come equipped with a small but useful kitchenette. The rooms are recently renovated and much larger than the normal traditional motel rooms. Beds are super comfortable and the bathroom is sparkling. Reception is very friendly and efficient. Set in beautiful gardens, there is also a pool but for warmer times than August. Wheelers Restaurant is two doors down or you can dine at the Golf Club across the road. We chose Wheelers and were not disappointed. We would like to stay a little longer next time. There is no restaurant on site but breakfast could be delivered to your room or there are cafes in town nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Quite poor hospitality. When I arrived there was no one at reception I had to wait several minutes, ringing the doorbell several times.
The hotel is organized as a motel. At the door of the room there was not the light that lit up so it was difficult to insert the key. The mattress was hard.
The hotel is several kilometers outside the town. To find it I had to ask for directions at the airport staff that is just a short distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frv_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayMotorInn6000, Owner at BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear FRV_9,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We recognise not all of our rooms have received their lighting upgrades, however this will be completed very soon. Our beds in all rooms are only a year old and we receive excellent comments about them. We are sorry these weren't to your liking. As you have stated we are in fact a motel and not a hotel and we stand by our award of Best Deluxe Accommodation in the South Coast Region for 2012.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +61 2 6495 6000.


Sincerely,

Debbie & Peter Gardiner
Owners
BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at this motel a number of times over recent years and have always chosen a room in the back row, because of its size and shape. On one occasion we had three grand- children with us and were not squashed. The refurbishments that have been done in recent times are a distinct improvement.
As it is across from the Golf Club it is great for golfers but that club has a very good bistro and we have eaten there regularly. We breakfast at Waterfront in town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back provide a more practical space with the TV visible from the whole room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcyJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Merimbula
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#10 of 15 in Merimbula
43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
#6 of 15 in Merimbula
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn
Address: 180 Arthur Kaine Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this award-winning, eco-friendly Merimbula motel located across the road from the renowned Merimbula Golf Course and minutes from the beaches of the Merimbula district. The Best Western Fairway Motor Inn offers newly renovated four-star accommodation in Merimbula. All rooms are large and spacious with 32" LCD cable TV and high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy the resort facilities, including outdoor pool, tennis court and sun bed. Other facilities at this Merimbula motel include Mini bars and King / Queen Pillow Top Mattresses and ample free parking. Guests staying at the Best Western Fairway Motor Inn will be close to a variety of activities such as boat cruises, whale watching (seasonal), sailing and scuba diving. Golfers will enjoy being opposite the golf course and club. You can also experience the excellent local restaurants, including the Wheelers Oyster Restaurant located next door. For superior customer service and an ideal location in Merimbula, make a reservation at the Best Western Fairway Motor Inn today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merimbula
Merimbula Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing