We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Crankys”
Review of Cranky Cafe

Cranky Cafe
Ranked #8 of 66 Restaurants in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Australian, Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Dinner at Crankys”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Enjoyed our meal at the only restaurant on Fishpen - great to have a restaurant in walking distance.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    169
    59
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza & fish!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We had takeaway from Cranky's twice during our week in Merimbula. It was delicious!
We tried both the pizzas & the seafood and both were very enjoyable. By far the best food we had during our stay.
Would recommend to anyone- even our 3 year old loved it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missannabelle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice fish and chips”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We only sampled the fish and chips here but they were very good.
I have heard the coffee is good as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TestBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we left hungry and CRANKY”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

after arriving at 4pm and seeing the cafe open until 5pm we were hoping for a tasty snack, alas that was not to be. evidently lunch had finished at this time and there was no food menu on offer.
we were told we could wait for the take away to open at 4;30pm to get out fish and chips, we stuck around.
and 4:40 and no sign of the take away opening we went back inside to enquire, we were told by another staff member that the take away was open at 5pm and we had to wait.
following that we felt it better to spend our money elsewhere, we had a lovely bbq at our motel and enjoyed the pleasant evening outside.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D0mi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had lunch there and food was avesge, with my vegetable frittata at least several days old. Dry and tasteless. However we went back the next night to the pizza and fish place at the back. Which is still Crankys, and had a Morroccan pizza which was delicious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank snazzyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranky Cafe also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Been to Cranky Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing