We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice take away”
Review of Cranky Cafe

Cranky Cafe
Ranked #8 of 66 Restaurants in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Australian, Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice take away”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We had the fish and chips. Flathead and gem fish plus chips.
Nice fish and we both enjoyed it.
Best take away in Merimbula so far.
Definitely will eat their food again.

Helpful?
Thank Malaraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    168
    57
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Gippsland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Day or Night great place to visit.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place is set directly opposite beach access and playground/park area on a very, very, quiet circuit road. You can get a very nice breakfast here, coffee or visit the rear of the place at night for great take away Pizza or Fish 'n' Chips. My mother and I very happily ate breakfast here twice and had one take away dinner on our short trip. There were even good quality foodie mags to read while you relax and soak up the sunshine and atmosphere. The service was prompt and friendly, with great coffee you could not want for more. This place is family friendly. You can tell the produce is made with that "Tender Loving Care" factor. I would certainly go back again if the opportunity arose.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solo-Quilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great coffee and friendly service”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had 4 days in Merimbula and ate breakfast here every morning. BLT and Egg & Bacon Roll are awesome. Nice to see a cafe generous with bacon on a breakfast with bacon in the title!!

Service delivery was fast, coffee delicious and always hot.

We were told the owners recently purchased the business, good luck and hope to visit again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aeroguyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Convenient... but no quality”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've eaten here numerous times before and it's ok, convenient location and friendly staff...but this last time on our stay we were really quite disappointed.
Coffees just weren't that good and we found ourselves getting in the car to go around to another place for our morning caffeine fix.
We had a lazy breakfast one morning and the ingredients were there but the execution was very poor. Overcooked eggs, watery spinach, split hollandaise....all very average and pretty exy too. The baked beans were good, which was a pleasant relief.
To round out our week of disappointment we decided to have fish and chips, again only because it's convenient from where we're staying but sadly again we were not impressed. Some of the fish was raw in the middle and the fries (not chips !) we're obviously done in seriously aging oil, as were the battered fish. The only salvation of this fish and fries (not chips) was the generous serving size. Next time we'll make the effort to go up to Wheelers....
(btw folks.....skinny cut fries are NOT 'chips' !!!)
Summary...everything we had was really pretty average, we'd rather get in the car and go to other places to ensure our satisfaction for coffees, breakfasts and other snacks.
Shame, 'cause the staff are nice and it's a really convenient location in the fishpen. Oh well...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rroger_rramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good coffee and cakes”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good coffee and a lovely fresh mini muffin in a quiet part of town. Staff were friendly. Worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justanatureboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranky Cafe also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Been to Cranky Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing