We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel...not exactly walking distance from town”
Review of Kingfisher Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Motel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Excellent motel...not exactly walking distance from town”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Booked this motel from an online booking sight for part of our honeymoon driving holiday. The map makes it seem *much* closer to town than it really is...the map doesn't show that the motel is at the top of a very steep hill just before going into town. You really can't walk it. That said - it's a motel, you're not likely to stay here without a car!

Rooms are spacious and clean, and the view is quite good. The owners feed the birds too, so you get a bit of a wildlife show in the mornings.

Bed is...okay. A bit hard, but not terrible either. I'd *probably* stay there again if I was back in town. I'd weigh up the cost vs a motel actually *in* town...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This motel is very clean, has great views from every room and really good value for money. We really enjoyed our stay here. The only downside for us was the location. It is a 20 minute walk into town downhill, most of the way on the side of the highway, although we found parking was no problem in town even during the Jazz festival. If you want a bottle of wine with dinner the Kingfisher is a bit of a walk back up the hill.
Again as previous people have said, the birds are fantastic and the owners very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam82trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here one night on a trip to Melbourne. Room was very clean and comfortable with a great view down into Merimbula. Didnt use the pool as it was a little chilly. lots of birds and resident kangaroos my daughter loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Recommended by a friend from town, we never would have found the Kingfisher on our own but it is a real gem! Clean, comfortable and fairly priced; tasty breakfast on the balcony overlooking the dozens of birds and several orphan kangaroos being fostered by Jeanine the mistress. We'll be certain to stop again whenever in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nashville_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked this motel at last minute and were not let down.
Spotlessly clean and a wonderful view of the bay area - we awoke to a host of birds flying down near our balcony, truly a special experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Up the hill away from the busy town isa quite, friendly piece of paradise with heaps of bird and who knows what they will be fostering. maybe a wallaby and maybe you could cuddle or feed. Very comfortable and clean and a great view toward the ocean

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtimetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I have stayed at the Kingfisher about 5 times now, the first time in 2002. It is my home away from home. Janine and Baron are so welcoming, the rooms are so clean and bright and well-equipped. The peace is only broken by the incredible birdlife! The in-house movies are great - I always manage to catch up on some film I missed at the cinema. I usually travel alone, and always feel safe at the Kingfisher. My favourite motel ever - I wish I were there now.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#3 of 15 in Merimbula
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#4 of 15 in Merimbula
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#9 of 15 in Merimbula
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Motel

Property: Kingfisher Motel
Address: 105 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every unit has its own private balcony with OUTSTANDING ocean views.The Kingfisher Motel is situated on 2 acres of land with an abundance of wildlife. Enjoy the tranquility with a no children policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingfisher Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing