We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning find in a regional town”
Review of Zanzibar Cafe - CLOSED

Zanzibar Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Merimbula, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A stunning find in a regional town”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My partner and I had dinner here on a Saturday night. The food is stunning to say the least. The service is excellent, very friendly and quick.

The servings are quite small but very filling. We had a lamb main and white fish (flathead) with a sauce which included spinner crab meat. To accompany the mains we had a side of spaetzle, pumpkin, sage, parmesan. Presentation was supurb and very delicious.

For deserts we shared "local" peach melba, with almond, white chocolate & raspberry as one and "chocolate opera". A really nice touch was a cleansing dish provided before the deserts of a vanilla mouse with raspberry jelly - a treat in itself.

Not cheap but a great dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    22
    12
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“hairy flower”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The experience was clouded by the purple flower decoration on my partners plate. The hostess told us that she had personally studied it and that is was a curly part of the flower root and for our suffering we would receive a bonus vegetable dish.The alleged flower root was very dark coloured and looked human. This was after the 3 serving staff's interaction that i also found rude, with unnecessary discusssion between the three, with obvious biases toward locals sitting at a near by table compared to us visitors in the restauarant.
The food alone was interesting and spoke for itself. However i would not recommend repeating the experience follwoing our recent experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The restaurant offers a degustation or a la carte menu. We chose the a la carte which was wonderful. The flavours were very delicate and memorable. It is not a cheap meal but for a special night out well worth the visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“best in town”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Fine dining is rare outside of the cities but Zanzibar does a great job. Our waitress was a little uncertain with the wines - we would like to see the labels - however this did nothing to detract from the food offering which was excellent, utilising the best local produce and professional cookery. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sajehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Simply amazing!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Recommend to all, the food and service are just perfect :)
The staff are really attentive and knowledgable, and the food is to die for. I've been here a few times now and love it even more each time. Well worth it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosethorn1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar Cafe also viewed

 
Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing