We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pelican Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here on recommendation by comments in here. 100% correct. Bruce & Terrie are one of the most helpful hosts, well informed on what is happening and where everything is. Terrie was so helpful when booking in, as I bk incorrectly, but offered to change rm and also as we were on a motorbike,offered different parking for the bike,, room was great, nice and quiet, clean. Great value of the breakfast, healthy and plenty of it. Will be recommending this motel to all our friends.
Keep up the great wk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Pam1006,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast.
Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review and thank you for passing on your recommendations to you friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    52
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
85
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langwarrin, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had one great week there, the managers couldn't be more accommodating with local info and tips on where to visit. Very clean, ultra clean infact, I think the girls there are "clean freaks". Lovely pool and BBQ area, great location in town, close to everything, would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Just chat to the managers, they'll be very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Lucinda,
thank your kind comments and for posting a lovely review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to have some quality time with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
977 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I think it's Terrie and Bruce's friendliness and attention to detail that gives such a good impression and leaves the visitor with such positive memories. The Pelican is otherwise a very ordinary motel, after all, and one of many in Merimbula. The décor of the rooms is not all that nice -- unless you like four walls of bare dark red brick, plus dark stained timbers, circa 1990. The bathrooms have been upgraded but remain simple laminate and tile and plastic affairs in white and blue. The water views/glimpses and proximity to the Boardwalk are good but probably outshone by other properties. The location on a main road gives proximity to shops and clubs and service stations and a bakery-cafe, but also means traffic noise. So the motel's success must be attributable to the hard work and consistency of the proprietors, who actively seek extra guests by organising coach tours (five nights at the motel, with day trips to attractions in the region). I stayed twice, once in room 5 (at the front but partially shielded from the road by a brick wall) and once in room 12, upstairs and farther back from the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alys-Schatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Close to EVERYTHING in town A++.
Owners went out of their way to help (even drove us to the Airport)!!
Pool was located OUT OF THE WIND so was very enjoyable place to relax & unwind.
Not a 5 star but with 3 1/2 stars it had everything you needed.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review.
Glad you had a enjoyable and realxing stay and hopefully we will see you next time you fly to Merimbula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drouin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Pelican and honestly could not fault it. Upon arrival we were greeted with a very friendly welcome and lots of info on what to see and do in Merimbula. Room was lovely, clean and modern with plenty of room. Grounds and pool area just lovely and a laundry with washing machine and dryer available for guests. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and will definately stay at Pelican Motor Inn on our next trip to Merimbula.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacTravelling, Owner at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Rhonda, Thank you for your lovely review.
We are glad you had a lovely stay and thank you so much for your recommendation.
We will catch up with you next time you are in Merimbula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the Pelican after seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor.
We were not let down, from the greeting at reception to the tips on how get the best out of our stay both Terri and Bruce excelled.
Rooms and pool area are perfect.
Thank you both for a lovely stay and the laughs we had during our stay.

Room Tip: With a sore knee the rooms at the front have the best of both Worlds. No stair, not far from the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PommieJames56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi James,
thankyou so much for your review, happy you had a great stay and we managed to get a laugh from you.
Hope your knee is on the mend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed last week & was very surprised on how enjoyable the stay was. We are not really into staying at a Motel, we like are luxuries but the Pelican provided us with something we have never experienced before whilst on holidays. Looking forward to seeing you both on our next holiday.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thankyou Kate,
it was lovely of you to take the time and give us a lovely review.
Glad you had a great stay and we will see you next time you travel our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#3 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
#5 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Motor Inn

Property: Pelican Motor Inn
Address: 18 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Merimbula, the Pelican Motor Inn is the closest AAA rated 3.5 Star property to the heart of town and offers all the comforts and conveniences for a memorable Merimbula holiday. The Pelican Motor Inn is in a central Merimbula location within 80 metres of the Post Office and an easy stroll to Merimbula-Imlay Bowling Club, RSL, shops, Restaurants, Pictures, beaches and the beautiful Lake Merimbula. Merimbula/Pambula and Tura Beach Golf Clubs are only a nine iron away. All 25 of our Merimbula motel units have newly renovated bathrooms, new split system air-conditioners / heating, queen size beds and ground level access, many have scenic views over the township and Merimbula Lake. Family rooms have cooking facilities. All rooms now have HD Televisions and microwaves. Enjoy a BBQ at our great BBQ area, take a dip in the solar heated saltwater pool or just sit and relax in the garden area. For large group bookings enjoy dinner or drinks in the 80 seater marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pelican Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing