We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel in perfect location”
Review of Pelican Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
1 review
“Excellent motel in perfect location”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Owners Bruce and Terrie could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Provided us with maps and things to see in Merimbula, even gave us directions to caravan park so we could see Kangaroos in the wild nearby. Rooms were large and clean with very good bed and shower. Great views of town and lake. Had a wonderful private pool and hottub(spa) with BBQ area which we used after Bruce and Terrie provided everything we needed other than the steak. Grocery store across the street to buy food for BBQ. There were many colorful parrots flying around the property which added to the ambience. Motel is in the center of town so easy walking distance to lake,shops, restaurants, etc. Price was very reasonable for location and amenities and would highly recommend this motel to anyone staying in Merimbula.

Room Tip: All rooms would be great but better views from 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjohnston09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for you lovely review.
One of the best parts of our job is to take the time and chat with our guests.
Glad you enjoyed your stay, the BBQ and managed to see the kangaroo's.
Hopefully we will see you both back in Merimbula one day.
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    54
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
86
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We drove into the centre of town and chose the Pelican at the Tourist Office (they are excellent but it did amaze us how many of the volunteers in these offices didn’t know what was a couple of hundred miles up the road and had never been, although they may have visited Europe) because of it’s excellent central location. Run by a lovely, helpful MacDonald family, they told us where to view Kangaroos but after one leaping out on us early in the trip and wrecking the car, we’ve gone off the big rats, was this a MacDonald’s revenge for the Battle of the Shirts? It’s a typical style good value motel, which is great for touring and we had the option to park at the door, great for humping suitcases. We didn’t have time for the pool but it looked spotless, free WiFi and good clean, comfortable rooms, with Merimbula a couple of minutes stroll away, which is like many of the no horse towns round that coast and we must admit we got to like them, quiet but very pleasant.
One thing about Australia that surprised us was the amount of Fish & Chips on sale, far superior to anything you’d get in England, Scotland’s another matter, good value in ever so expensive Australia and they seem to use a Tempura type batter, making them light, with fish caught that day and they can make chips too, delicious. We had them three times on our tour, a different fish each time, as well, we just got a take away and were in heaven. The ubiquitous well priced, gambling subsidised, Bowling club, with good food and facilities, was a couple of minutes away, too.

Room Tip: There's rooms where you can park at the door or with a view up a few stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to give us a review.
So glad you had a lovely stay and enjoyed Merimbula's fish and chips.
We hope you can make it to our shore's and visit us again one day.
The Macdonald Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here in march and by far the best place I've stayed in merimbula, great location right in the heart of town, walking distance to everything. Host Bruce and Terrie were great any questions of the area they were willing to help. Beautiful rooms with a amazing view of the lake. Always willing to help with things to do in the area. Will definetly stay here again on our next trip. Regards CM & RP

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for you lovely review.
We are so glad you manaaged to see the kangaroo's and had a great vacation.
Hopefully we will see you both back in Merimbula one day.
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in late February. We have also stayed here on a couple of occasions in previous years.

On one level the Pelican is a fairly standard coastal town motel. However, it deserves a very good rating on several points. It is very conveniently located right close to the centre of Merimbula in really easy walking distance to shops, cafes, etc. There is only one motel closer to these facilities. While the decor is a bit dated the motel was spotlessly clean and the owners are in the process of doing some upgrading work on the rooms. The bathroom in our room had just been redecorated.

The service from Bruce and Teri was really friendly throughout and the staff we encountered were also cheerful and friendly. We appreciated getting a jug of fresh milk delivered to our room on arrival - no long life milk here.

There is free wireless internet - I usually have my own wireless modem but the signal wasnt great and so access to free WiFi was much appreciated.

We paid $115 a night which was off-peak and we thought this a really very good price given the location, friendly service and the upgrade work going on.

Room Tip: Make your booking direct rather than through Wotif (the price is the same in our experience) and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I must admit we were a bit surprised as we pulled up in front of the motel after what we had read on Trip Advisor. It was a basic motel, complete with a dark brick feature wall. However, the bed was fine and it was adequate for a one night stop over.

Room Tip: If you're in town on a Thursday night, the trivia at the local pub is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjwjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We booked the Pelican on line after travelling from Sydney on our way to Melbourne. Couldn't have been happier with the accommodation and service/information given by both Terri and Bruce. Told by another couple that Bowling Club was excellent value for money for food. J&S

Room Tip: Room ground floor rear courtyard v good position
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fowkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

on a five week trip around Australia, we found this to be one of the best run, friendliest and convenient motels. Owner Bruce was extremely helpful with our needs in Merimbula and further on our trip towards Sydney. Free wifi was a useful bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Fairway Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#9 of 15 in Merimbula
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#10 of 15 in Merimbula
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Motor Inn

Property: Pelican Motor Inn
Address: 18 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Merimbula, the Pelican Motor Inn is the closest AAA rated 3.5 Star property to the heart of town and offers all the comforts and conveniences for a memorable Merimbula holiday. The Pelican Motor Inn is in a central Merimbula location within 80 metres of the Post Office and an easy stroll to Merimbula-Imlay Bowling Club, RSL, shops, Restaurants, Pictures, beaches and the beautiful Lake Merimbula. Merimbula/Pambula and Tura Beach Golf Clubs are only a nine iron away. All 25 of our Merimbula motel units have newly renovated bathrooms, new split system air-conditioners / heating, queen size beds and ground level access, many have scenic views over the township and Merimbula Lake. Family rooms have cooking facilities. All rooms now have HD Televisions and microwaves. Enjoy a BBQ at our great BBQ area, take a dip in the solar heated saltwater pool or just sit and relax in the garden area. For large group bookings enjoy dinner or drinks in the 80 seater marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing