We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable motel”
Review of Maclean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maclean Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Maclean B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Basic but comfortable motel”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Well-priced and basic motel with a view of the Clarence River. The staff there were friendly and rang to let us promptly to let us know we had left some thing behind. The room was clean and reasonably spacious with a fridge and aircon/fan, although the decor was in that daggy 70s style which most motels have. The motel itself was located about a 5 mins drive to the main shops in Maclean and about a 10 -15 min drive to where all the action is in Yamba, so not the most convenient spot however it was very quiet and peaceful there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very comfortable. Our room was basic but very clean and the bed was to our liking. Convenient, quiet location. We were towing a large trailer and found parking was easily accommodated. Recommended. Marg L.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MargL305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Welcoming smile and reception was a perfect start. We had a very peaceful night and woke to see a beautiful view of the Clarence river. Our room had everything that we needed except for a Toaster. ( perhaps if we had asked for one, our lovely host may have given us one to use) The bathroom had all toiletries etc. Good quality towels and hand towels. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We loved the little bouquets of lavender and the jug of fresh milk. Keep up the good work!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on our way to Brisbane. The room was spotlessly clean, bright with great attention to detail throughout! Magazines to read, fresh sheets and towels, swimming pool, outdoor area to relax and eat breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for Sean the proprietor who was extremely welcoming.
Lovely relaxing place to stay with the most wonderful views of the Clarence River from our room. A brisk walk into MacLean the most gorgeous Scottish township!! I will stay in Maclean on my way back home!!! Well done Sean and Kerrie-Ann

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kburnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Maclean Motel is situated just off the Highway in a nice spot overlooking the Clarence River and on the outskirts of town.
The rooms are adequate - small - but clean and offer all the essentials for a budget conscious traveller.
Too far to walk into town for dinner.
We thought a wee bit expensive at $85
If arriving at night be careful as the driveway is not lit.
The Neon Motel sign is in the centre of the two driveways.
Very nice Proprietors.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The friendliest of staff, Sean and Kerrie-Ann host to your every need.  You can tell, they know what taking care of their guest is all about. It's amazing....Such a tranquil vision from this Motel, each door overlooks the Clarence river, every day waiting for the sun to roll over the horizon.    

Such modest hosts may well need to boast about their exceptionally clean rooms, including a microwave and fridge in each room while each guest is spoiled with a TV/DVD player, with an array of free movies.....but alas, they leave it to their guests to encounter, and I was one lucky person to feel what a Motel should consist of.   My advice is only to use these facilities before or after the amazing sunset over the clarence river, that only mother nature could pamper such a well balanced Motel.

Fruit Bat Sky Fest at Dusk
You have to see it from your front doorway of the Maclean Motel room, to believe it.  Fruit bats swarm over the Clarence river sky like an excited but friendly bunch of revellers going to a music festival....amazing!!!

The morning after
Waking in the morning, breakfast will arrive at your door, at whatever time you ask.....and then off to their pool for a morning dip to start a day of discovery.

I don't normally comment on accomodation, but I think it is well worth putting some words together for such a great two nights spent....hope to be back again, if we manage to come back to Australia.....

Room Tip: See the room first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We were looking for a quiet place to stay for one night off the Pacific Hwy whilst driving to Qld. We only booked at the last minute 2hours before we arrived and were lucky to get a room. They were soon after booked out. It was a surprise to be so nice. The owners look after it well. The bathroom was bigger than you would expect and the view was lovely and we even had a table and two chairs outside to sit and enjoy the view. We will return and recommend ths lovely motel to friends. Previously we have stayed in motels in Yamba but this was much nicer.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maclean
1.3 mi away
Waterview Motel
Waterview Motel
#1 of 1 in Maclean
76 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Maclean Hotel
The Maclean Hotel
#2 of 3 in Maclean
31 reviews
8.4 mi away
Yamba Motor Inn
Yamba Motor Inn
#5 of 11 in Yamba
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Plantation Motel
Plantation Motel
#1 of 1 in Tyndale
20 reviews
9.4 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#1 of 11 in Yamba
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Squeakygate Retreat and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maclean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maclean Motel

Property: Maclean Motel
Address: 65 Cameron St | Old Pacific Highway, Maclean, New South Wales 2463, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Maclean
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maclean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some country pubs choose to blend contemporary style with period features, while others still cling to their history and heritage, an aspect many visitors love and respect. But whether you prefer old-world charm or chic modern, a stylish suite or a cosy room with simple furnishings, our eclectic mix of rooms to stay offer something to suit all tastes, plus each one exhibits a high standard of cleanliness and maintenance.A rural retreat, guaranteed to lift the mood of any weary traveller going up the coast or down the coast we have the prefect stop over. Country pubs with accommodation can offer a peaceful retreat that enables you to switch off from the everyday pressures of life while fully appreciating picture-postcard.Aspect That Maclean has to offer. Expect your hosts to greet you with a smile and try their best to make you feel at home; in contrast to some hotels that can sometimes seem impersonal. After a strenuous day of sightseeing enjoy a satisfying evening meal, then settle down with a nightcap — in front of a roaring log fire in winter or outside under the stars on a summer’s evening If you are intending to stay at a Great Country Pub, Then Maclean hotel is your first choice.Room RatesPricing ranges from - $25 a night in our bunk rooms to- $50 a night in our queen rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maclean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing