We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't wish for better.”
Review of Mandarin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Macksville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 16, 2013

On arrival we were greeted in a very friendly manner and offered suggestions of places to eat dinner. Being a Monday we found this most helpful as I'm sure most travellers have found several restaurants closed on a Monday. Our room was exceptionally clean, comfortably furnished and with a selection of magazines to read. The motel is set back a block from the highway which was far enough to not be bothered by the noise from the plethora of trucks which pass through this town. Bliss! I would have no hesitation in recommending the Mandarin to fellow travellers. Congratulations to all the staff for doing an exceptional job.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank You Cecily,my staff and I appreciate good feed back like this as it encourages us to continue to try and improve our standard of service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great value and service , friendly proprietors , clean and quiet , the breakfast is highly

recommended. Great attention to detail - if you leave something behind they let you

know very promptly! I can unhesitatingly recommend the Mandarin - Australia is

sometimes pilloried for poor service (not by me) so stay here if you want to experience

good old-fashioned Aussie service. Jeff K.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thanks Jeff,
You are so right good Aussie service is still alive you just need to stay in the wright places look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband & I had a lovely night in a room with a Spa bath, we found the room very comfortable and exceptionally clean and fresh.
We had a beautiful hot breakfast,found the staff very helpful and polite. The Mandarin is located off the highway and in a quiet location.
We would not hesitate to recommend "The Mandarin" to anyone and already have, we will stay again when next in Macksville.

Room Tip: Non Smoking was our choice for health reasons[Asthma]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Macksville is a little gem that the public has not found as yet and thanks to people like you hopefully more people will discover us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay on a drive to Qld nice and quiet, clean and well equipped. Very welcoming hosts Alan & deborah. Only a short walk to RSL for dinner. Great find, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words,management and staff endeavor to give quality service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Once we discovered this motel a few years ago we have never stayed anywhere else when travelling the Pacific Hwy between Brisbane and Sydney. Located in town right behind the local RSL it is away from all the noisy highway traffic but still close to all the shops etc.
The rooms are spacious, always spotlessly clean and the undercover secure parking for your vehicle is an added bonus. This motel is a credit to its owners as well as the Golden Chain Group itself. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms used so far have been very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MervG663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thanks Merv for the great review we really enjoy our returning guest and endeavor to treat you as part of our family.Look forward to your next visit
Regards
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my second time at the Mandarin and I tried another place to save a few bucks recently but the highway noise was soooooo loud. Not here but! This place has huge rooms with a desk, lounge double bed and massive bathroom. I would not stay anywhere else in Macksville. Great hosts too very friendly and happy to pull up a chair and chat for hours. Greta when you travel alone for business. Thanks and will be back.

Room Tip: There are no bad choices here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

We enjoy interacting with our guest and find the Hot Marmalde Brekky Room allows us to do this.
We give our housemaids feedback from all our guest , staff really get a buzz out of knowing our guest have taken the time to comment on the cleanliness of the premises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was in town for the Annual Halfway Havoc Car/Minitruck Show and we needed a place to stay off the main road with secure parking.
We found the Mandarin met our requirements perfectly. Our car was safely tucked away downstairs in the undercover parking. The place itself is quite modern and appears to be recently built.
Service was great and the Rooms were quite spacious! Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and up to date. Most other Show-goers also stayed here with no complaints either. Our stay was too easy with no fuss. You cant go wrong.

We will definitely return next year!

Room Tip: Twin room was so spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boss_Ricky_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thanks guys,we are pleased our facilities suit your purpose , and look forward to your stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macksville
4.2 mi away
The Nambucca Motel
The Nambucca Motel
#4 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nambucca River Tourist Park
Nambucca River Tourist Park
#1 of 3 in Macksville
54 reviews
6.7 mi away
Motel Miramar
Motel Miramar
#1 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mid Coast Motor Inn
Mid Coast Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Macksville
27 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Motel

Address: 24 Princess St, Macksville, New South Wales 2447, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Macksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Macksville
Price Range: $108 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandarin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mandarin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing