We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find this quality outside of major towns”
Review of Mandarin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Macksville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lake Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
“Hard to find this quality outside of major towns”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my second time at the Mandarin and I tried another place to save a few bucks recently but the highway noise was soooooo loud. Not here but! This place has huge rooms with a desk, lounge double bed and massive bathroom. I would not stay anywhere else in Macksville. Great hosts too very friendly and happy to pull up a chair and chat for hours. Greta when you travel alone for business. Thanks and will be back.

Room Tip: There are no bad choices here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We enjoy interacting with our guest and find the Hot Marmalde Brekky Room allows us to do this.
We give our housemaids feedback from all our guest , staff really get a buzz out of knowing our guest have taken the time to comment on the cleanliness of the premises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    60
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
65
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was in town for the Annual Halfway Havoc Car/Minitruck Show and we needed a place to stay off the main road with secure parking.
We found the Mandarin met our requirements perfectly. Our car was safely tucked away downstairs in the undercover parking. The place itself is quite modern and appears to be recently built.
Service was great and the Rooms were quite spacious! Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and up to date. Most other Show-goers also stayed here with no complaints either. Our stay was too easy with no fuss. You cant go wrong.

We will definitely return next year!

Room Tip: Twin room was so spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boss_Ricky_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks guys,we are pleased our facilities suit your purpose , and look forward to your stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our fith time at the Mandarin. We always stay here on our syd-gold coast drive and will continue to do so. The hotel rooms are really good. Comfortable bed, nice bathrooms and most importantly always spotless. This place is great value for money.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Kelly,
Glad to get your feed back
We look forward to your stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I booked a twin room overnight for my niece and myself. Large room with beds diagonally opposite so plenty of space and separation. Modern, spotlessly clean, large bathroom with spacious shower and vanity bench. Although we had the window open all night there was no noise from the traffic on the Pacific Highway. The window probably faced south/south-east and there was a pleasant view of the quiet suburban street. Another great feature is the car park under the building (all rooms are upstairs) so cars are out of sight. Would strongly recommend the Mandarin Motel as a great half-way stop between Sydney and Brisbane.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the outside of the building as the streetscape is pleasant. Rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Our motel was built by ex moteliers so with a mixed bag of experience we were able to come up Mandarin Motel .Glad your experience with us was a great one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed one night on our way up to the Gold Coast. We found the Mandarin Motel thru Trip Advisor and booked based on the great reviews- all true! The woman working the office was very friendly and helpful, got us checked in and set up with welcome biscuits and milk, and gave us some recommendations on places to have dinner nearby. Our room was huge, nicely decorated and very clean. Bathroom was also enormous with a great shower and handheld shower head. Off street parking. Nice and quiet despite being so close to the highway. Bed was really comfortable. Minifridge was a big plus for us and held everything from our esky. Would've gladly stayed longer if we had the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks guys,for the great feedback.we endeavor to please and glad we were able to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

It was just a stop over on our way to visit friends in Newcastle. We just needed a bed for the night and something to eat. Enquiring over the phone, the host was more than helpful and very friendly. We found the off highway location after missing the turn off the first time, but that was my fault. At check in, we were advised on quite a few places to eat, all within a really short walk. A couple of pubs, a club and a few take aways all came highly recommended. We went for the pizza overlooking the river, sensational. The room was huge. Beautiful decor, relaxing spa, comfortable bed and black out curtains. A lovely breakfast and we were on our way, we'll always stop there from now on. PS it was so peaceful and comfortable, we slept in longer than we planned, quite unusual for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Than you,
Glad you enjoyed our warm hospitality in our Brekky room.
Hope you will stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a fabulous find!

Our very first impressions when we first turned into the driveway were good and the Mandarin certainly not only didnt disappoint, it exceeded expectations.

Where to start?

The room / rooms are immacualtely clean, as well as oversized to ensure a very confortable stay.

The kitchenette is well equipped and for once I didn't have to wash the crockery & utensils before we used them.

The bathroom is modern and gleaming - not a speck of mould or tired grouting in sight.

The dining & lounge areas are very functional and reading material is provided.

Despite there being an open air function with a very loud microphone at the local park, once the doors were closed we didn't hear a sound; in fact I almost missed seeing the fireworks over there from the balcony. They were an added bonus.

very importantly for travellers, the bed was very comfortable and easily afforded us a good night's sleep.

So there are the important things,but it's also the small things, like fresh milk instead of longlife or those dreadful sachets and the provision of a bucket, water and a wiper to clean the windscreen before venturing on the next part of the journey.

We will regularly be making a long trip south and the Mandarin will always be our first choice for our first stopover.

This place is perfect for our needs and i have no hesitation in
highly recommending it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks Guys,
Always great to get such positive feed back
Glad your stay with us was a pleasant one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macksville
7.8 mi away
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
582 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Nambucca Motel
The Nambucca Motel
#4 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
115 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
#1 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mid Coast Motor Inn
Mid Coast Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Macksville
24 reviews
6.8 mi away
Riverview Boutique Motel
Riverview Boutique Motel
#1 of 4 in Nambucca Heads
159 reviews
5.8 mi away
Destiny Motor Inn
Destiny Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Motel

Property: Mandarin Motel
Address: 24 Princess St, Macksville, New South Wales 2447, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Macksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Macksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandarin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mandarin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing