We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Mandarin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Macksville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed one night on our way up to the Gold Coast. We found the Mandarin Motel thru Trip Advisor and booked based on the great reviews- all true! The woman working the office was very friendly and helpful, got us checked in and set up with welcome biscuits and milk, and gave us some recommendations on places to have dinner nearby. Our room was huge, nicely decorated and very clean. Bathroom was also enormous with a great shower and handheld shower head. Off street parking. Nice and quiet despite being so close to the highway. Bed was really comfortable. Minifridge was a big plus for us and held everything from our esky. Would've gladly stayed longer if we had the time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thanks guys,for the great feedback.we endeavor to please and glad we were able to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 200 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

It was just a stop over on our way to visit friends in Newcastle. We just needed a bed for the night and something to eat. Enquiring over the phone, the host was more than helpful and very friendly. We found the off highway location after missing the turn off the first time, but that was my fault. At check in, we were advised on quite a few places to eat, all within a really short walk. A couple of pubs, a club and a few take aways all came highly recommended. We went for the pizza overlooking the river, sensational. The room was huge. Beautiful decor, relaxing spa, comfortable bed and black out curtains. A lovely breakfast and we were on our way, we'll always stop there from now on. PS it was so peaceful and comfortable, we slept in longer than we planned, quite unusual for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Than you,
Glad you enjoyed our warm hospitality in our Brekky room.
Hope you will stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a fabulous find!

Our very first impressions when we first turned into the driveway were good and the Mandarin certainly not only didnt disappoint, it exceeded expectations.

Where to start?

The room / rooms are immacualtely clean, as well as oversized to ensure a very confortable stay.

The kitchenette is well equipped and for once I didn't have to wash the crockery & utensils before we used them.

The bathroom is modern and gleaming - not a speck of mould or tired grouting in sight.

The dining & lounge areas are very functional and reading material is provided.

Despite there being an open air function with a very loud microphone at the local park, once the doors were closed we didn't hear a sound; in fact I almost missed seeing the fireworks over there from the balcony. They were an added bonus.

very importantly for travellers, the bed was very comfortable and easily afforded us a good night's sleep.

So there are the important things,but it's also the small things, like fresh milk instead of longlife or those dreadful sachets and the provision of a bucket, water and a wiper to clean the windscreen before venturing on the next part of the journey.

We will regularly be making a long trip south and the Mandarin will always be our first choice for our first stopover.

This place is perfect for our needs and i have no hesitation in
highly recommending it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thanks Guys,
Always great to get such positive feed back
Glad your stay with us was a pleasant one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've previously stayed at the Mandarin Motel a couple of times (have reviewed here before) and this visit was another awesome stay. The Customer Service, Rooms, Staff are all A++++. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Robbie,
Always great to see you.We look forward to your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Room has been designed to be very spacious, has enough room for a comfortable lounge to watch TV. Bathroom was large and modern, but it is the little things that are important, ie the fridge is built up of the floor so you can see in it ti get drinks out etc. I stay in many motels and I will be staying here again. This the first time I have written a review, I was impressed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neal w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Glen,Great to get feedback,we are continuously trying to improve in all areas of guest comfort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great location, quiet, clean, spacious, good breakfast. All this at a very reasonable price and friendly staff and management. Close proximity to hotels and RSL which have good meals. Will stop here whenever I am travelling through.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrisbaneChristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Christo,Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us our eateries always supply great meals and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very quiet, clean and spacious room. Friendly and helpful staff. Short walk to all local shops and restaurants, and charge back facilities with most of the local restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank AlisonW346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Alison,Glad you found our little gem in Macksville and look forward to seeing you again some time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macksville
7.8 mi away
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 7 in Nambucca Heads
594 reviews
6.7 mi away
Motel Miramar
Motel Miramar
#1 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
142 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
#1 of 7 in Nambucca Heads
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Nambucca Motel
The Nambucca Motel
#4 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mid Coast Motor Inn
Mid Coast Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Macksville
26 reviews
14.6 mi away
Rockpool Motor Inn
Rockpool Motor Inn
#1 of 5 in South West Rocks
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Motel

Address: 24 Princess St, Macksville, New South Wales 2447, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Macksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Macksville
Price Range: $105 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandarin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mandarin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing