We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious Beach House in Paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bowker Beach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bowker Beach House
Bedroom - Bowker Beach House Bedroom - Bowker Beach House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Bowker Beach House
Bedroom - Bowker Beach House
Bedroom - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Kitchen and Dining - Bowker Beach House
Kitchen and Dining - Bowker Beach House
Bathroom - Bowker Beach House
Bathroom - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Bowker Beach House - Lord Howe Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lord Howe Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amydampne...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious Beach House in Paradise!”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I recently travelled to Lord Howe Island for our honeymoon. We chose Bowker Beach House for its privacy, location, amenities, and its luxury! When we arrived, it far exceeded our expectations – Lisa & Rod had thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible; from pre-organised bike hire, to beach towels, picnic basket, snorkelling gear, stand up paddle boards, yoga mats, a fully self-catered kitchen with better appliances to what we have at home…! Their hospitality was second-to-none, from meeting us at the airport on arrival, giving us a brief tour of the island, recommending restaurants and activities on the Island, stocking the fridge with essentials on arrival (wine, antipasto, crackers, fresh fruit, bread, tea, coffee, milk…) Even with 2 days of rain, we were more than comfortable at Bowker Beach House, which is equipped with an extensive library, board games, and great DVD selection. We would highly recommend staying at Bowker Beach House to anyone considering a touch of understated luxury on beautiful Lord Howe Island. It was truly a honeymoon to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellor...
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation on the most beautiful island in the world”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Bowker Beach House is the perfect place to stay on Lord Howe. It is a brand new beautifully designed and built home nestled in the forest just across from the crystal clear lagoon. The house has been fashioned into separate living and sleeping wings. And there is a separate kitchen with first class cooking and cleaning (dishwasher) facilities. The drinks fridge was very well stocked for our week visit but if that isn't enough then the liquor store is just around the corner. The bathroom is enormous, relaxing and kept sparkling clean by Lisa. There is a separate laundry to wash all those dirty clothes after trekking, cycling, climbing and swimming all over Lord Howe. There are also bikes, a kayak, paddle boards and very good quality snorkelling gear. Lisa was the perfect host, took great care of us and arranged fishing, mountain climbing and transport. Internet access is pretty slow, so rather than download movies be content to enjoy a wide election of DVDs or read from a splendid library.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful clean super modern home among the trees.
Liked least: Slow internet access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dac6054
Paynesville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exquisite Perfection in Paradise”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is very rare to find accommodation that matches the photographs shown on the website however, Bowker Beach House is exactly as shown and more! This home away from home is extremely luxurious with total attention to detail. Our high expectations were exceeded!

This one bedroom house has only recently been built so it has all the latest fittings and modern comforts. It is quiet, totally private and easily accessible to the main part of town. There are many areas where you can go both inside and outside this house to relax and enjoy the surroundings. There are also many things included such as different sporting equipment, wine, and some basic supplies (check out what is on offer). We choose Bowker because of these factors plus we had the flexibility to eat when and where we liked (either at the house or at restaurants/cafes) because we weren't locked into meal packages that some of the high end resorts offered.

Lisa and Rod were incredible hosts, so helpful and friendly, but very discrete. This is definitely the place to stay on Lord Howe Island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern luxurious self-contained home
Liked least: Didn't dislike anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendan w
Dalmeny, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soft luxury connects to the beauty of palms all around.”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As you enter this striking beach house you are immersed in its natural setting. The wooden decking and the large glass windows connect you with the outdoor setting from every room. We loved the indoor to outdoor living space. Thanks to wonderful hospitality from Lisa and Rod we settled in with fresh bread, wine and deli treats. We were shown around the island and given all the benefit of local knowledge which matched our interests in bird life and snorkelling. We had bicycles arranged on arrival and in the evenings our lovely hosts delivered us to any dinner venues. Island hospitality is really part of Lord Howe's charm and we would love to return. An idyllic holiday and superb beach house with charming hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajh2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A little piece of Paradise”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our first time on Lord Howe Island and our first at Bpwker Beach House.
All our expectations were exceed and the attention (caring and discrete) provided by Lisa and Rob was first class in all respects.
Being a short walk to the lagoon beach was a real bonus.
Our only regret was that our stay was (of necessity) as short one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ambience.
Liked least: The wet windy weather, which our hosts could not influence
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EileenLyn
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“"The JEWEL of Lord Howe"”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

With a supremely splendid beach house & a hosts whose hospitality is second to none...
Yup, we were in Shangri-la!!

With heartfelt appreciation,
Thank you very much Lisa.

http://eileenlyn.wordpress.com/2014/08/24/%E3%80%90-lord-howe-island-%E3%80%91/

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Private Luxury on the best Island in the World.”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked a week at Bowker in December for a stay in March. You have to book ahead for a World Heritage Island getaway where there are limited beds available. But that is the whole attraction to this magnificent jewel in the Tasman Sea.
Lord Howe Island is a unique place on earth, and if you like to get away from crowds, and experience nature - this place is for you.
Bowker Beach House is one-of-a-kind as well. Brand new accommodation, perfect for singles or couples wanting privacy, luxury, and that unique experience.
It's perfect location means a short walk to the shops or the Bowlo for some of the best fish you will ever taste. And a very short stroll to the beautiful lagoon.
Lisa & Rod spare no expense to make your stay comfortable and memorable. No need to hire bikes or kayaks, no need to buy wine, its all there. Ready for you as soon as you arrive. The Island tour, the Taxi service and good old Island hospitality make this a very special place.
Bowker Beach House!
For lovers of Nature.
For lovers of Unique Accommodation.
For Lovers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy & Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing