We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best honeymoon accommodation on the island!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bowker Beach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bowker Beach House
Bedroom - Bowker Beach House Bedroom - Bowker Beach House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Bowker Beach House
Bedroom - Bowker Beach House
Bedroom - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Lounge - Bowker Beach House
Kitchen and Dining - Bowker Beach House
Kitchen and Dining - Bowker Beach House
Bathroom - Bowker Beach House
Bathroom - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Exterior - Bowker Beach House
Bowker Beach House - Lord Howe Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lord Howe Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Faith B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best honeymoon accommodation on the island!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lisa and Rod were wonderful and generous hosts - so helpful with everything at any time.
Compared with other luxury accommodation on the island, Bowker Beach House is reasonably priced, and I believe the best option for honeymooners. Completely private and one of a kind, my husband and I couldn't ask for more. The house is gorgeous and the attention to detail is evident everywhere - no expense spared. The location of the house is perfect, right on the main road in the middle of the island, across from the lagoon with its own access. We loved the free use of bicycles, paddle boards, kayak, backpacks, etc which made our stay complete. We'll definitely return one anniversary!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deep bath, luxurious bed, access to bike, paddle boards, etc
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhondat77...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent four days at Bowker Beach House and enjoyed it so much we tried to extend our stay - with no luck.
Nothing was too much trouble for Lisa, our host, who picked us up from the airport, took us on a quick tour around the island and made sure we had bikes, canoes, paddle boards and anything else we needed. A small totally private beach house - the newest development on the island - a spacious design, high quality fittings and furnishings and loaded with everything you could think of - coffee machine, gourmet snacks, beautiful linen, videos, games, wine - you name it. We're planning our next holiday there now.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the accomodation, extras and the level of service
Liked least: Tucked away amongst the trees it was a bit cool for winter
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
705Cathy1...
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“Peaceful and luxurious beach house.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a short window in time to have a relaxing getaway. The Bowker Beach House was everything we were hoping for and more! With luxury oozing from the bathroom to the kitchen, we loved the comfort of this beautiful home. The love that the owners have for this beautiful property shows! Every attention to detail in the design, decoration and inclusions is evident, with guest privacy being a priority. With such a central location on the island, it made cycling or walking to restaurants and shops so convenient.
We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesMS20...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in paradise”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Bowker Beach House in late April 2014 and loved it! It is luxurious and fabulous. It's one of the few stand-alone holiday houses on Lord Howe Island and this affords absolute privacy. At the same time the house is just across the road from the beautiful lagoon beach and walking or cycling distance to attractions, other beaches and restaurants. The house is beautiful with thoughtful attention to detail. The design, furnishings and decor are high quality, stylish and comfortable. Wonderful bed, cosy sofa, private outdoor areas, coffee machine, wine, nibbles, beach gear - it's all there. Special mention to Lisa and Rod who've concocted this bliss. Wonderful, friendly hosts who are there when you need them and not when you don't. It's one of the best places I've ever stayed anywhere.

Generally, Lord Howe Island is paradise. Beautiful scenery, quiet but with plenty to do or perfect for doing not much, and it has some excellent restaurants and cafes. The locals are friendly and welcoming. I reckon LHI is Australia's best kept secret. We can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stylish, private and comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duckorf
Leeton, Australia
1 review
“My island home.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Waking that first morning to the sound of the ocean and with dappled sunlight playing on the walls so pleasingly, was the perfect start to a perfect winter break.

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exceptional, perfect”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is the place for discerning travellers. The attention to detail and perfect condition of the premises, the owners and the kit included is the best we have ever enjoyed, anywhere.
Everything you need is there, from 5 bottles of wine, cheese, snacks, fresh fruit and even flour for cooking some fish. Even a teapot and tea leaves, coffee percolator, hundreds of books, 40 odd DVD's of recent and current movies. All included in the price!
Location is very central, close to beach with a full array of water toys, boards, snorkels and beach chairs - literally as much as you would have at home, if not more.
The property is private, beautifully appointed and very modern, can not be faulted a real 5+ star facility. Cleanliness, features and ease of living is all 100%. The bed was superb also!
You will not be disappointed!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and very functional.
Liked least: Could not fault it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B
Bells Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“paradise in paradise”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have visited Lord Howe Island a number of times and had seen Bowker Beach House under construction and decided to try it on our next visit. This proved to be an Excellent decision!
Bowker Beach House is a little bit of paradise on an Island paradise. The walk to the front door along the raised boardwalk gave us a little hint of what was in store .This beautifully crafted and presented little cottage had everything we needed for our stay. A well appointed little kitchen, a beautiful bathroom with a deep tub for a soak after a day hiking The lounge, complete with cable TV and an excellent music system was perfect for the evening relax and a charming outdoor deck complete with BBQ which we made good use of, cooking up dinners of freshly caught kingfish. Lisa has thought of absolutely everything there were masks and snorkles , beach equipment , a handy little picnic basket paddle boards and the surfboards come with a couple of blocks of fresh wax!. Bikes are provided as well . The weather was perfect during our April stay so we were outdoors most of the day, at the beach or hiking or playing golf -in some ways this was a bit of a shame as the Bowker Beach House library is so wonderful, all my favourite authors lined the shelves and more that I yearned to discover , I need to visit in winter so I can curl up and wade through them.
We enjoyed walking across the road to watch some spectacular sunsets
Bowker Beach is top of our list for a return visit.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing