We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accomodation, beautiful destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lorhiti Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lorhiti Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great accomodation, beautiful destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just spent 7 nights at Lorhiti Apartments.Everything you require is supplied. Pete and Deb are fabulous. Nothing is too much trouble. I would hazard a guess that they are the best on the island!

We had the most relaxing wonderful holiday (and it really was a holiday with no mobile phone access!). Lord Howe Island is so beautiful. There is so much to see and do. We think it is the best holiday we have ever had.

We would not stay anywhere else on the Island except Lorhiti. The accomodation was so comfortable, clean and welcoming. We went out every night for dinner. It was such a treat to be taken to a restaurant and then driven back to Lorhiti again.

We loved walking along Lorhiti's lovely private path to Ned's Beach and swimming and seeing those amazing fish. The family of Woodhens living in the tropical garden at Lorhiti was a bonus to see.

Deb and Pete were great to talk to. They couldn't have done more for us. They made you feel so welcome and they made you feel so relaxed. We had lots of laughs together.

I was so excited about coming to Lord Howe Island and Lorhiti. It was more beautiful than I ever could have imagined.

Hopefully we can visit again one day.
Andrea

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review . It is fantastic for other guests to hear what you thought about your stay at Lorhiti .

Our caretakers Deb & Pete are pretty special people and it really shows in all the fantastic comments and reviews that the guest send us . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that they looked after you so well .

From reading your review it shows that you really did have a wonderful holiday and enjoyed everything on offer at Lorhiti . It is rewarding for all of us to know that you had the holiday you dreamed of and everything met your expectations .

We look forward to looking after you next holiday .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    34
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
209
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Lord Howe is an amazing place, and these apartments are well situated close to Ned's beach, where the fish will nibble your toes. Nice gardens. Pleasant apartment, but not furnished to luxury standard, and some of the kitchen cupboards smelt a bit musty - I suspect most guests eat out rather than self-cater. 5 stars for the island, 4 for the accommodation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your Lord Howe island experience with others . We are so glad that you appreciated the beauty of the gardens and found the apartments well situated . We are very lucky to have the close proximity to Ned's Beach . It really is a beautiful beach to swim , snorkel and hand feed the fish .

We do hope to look after you again when next you visit beautiful Lord Howe .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went to Lord Howe for a quiet relaxing holiday – we got it. Lorhiti typified LHI – it was laid back, it had birds and plants in a garden setting and it was delightfully quiet. It has two outdoor undercover areas including the bbq area. Its location is great – easy walking distance to everything – it is up a small hill but not a hard walk. It has its own easy bush track down to Ned’s Beach where feeding the fish had us acting like kids (we are both in our 50’s).
Lorhiti is small and consists of six units. Each unit has a front verandah which is perfect for coffee or the afternoon drinks or doing nothing. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets. We had spare towels; the kitchen had all the necessary things for self catering; there is a tv and dvd player; the lounge was very comfortable. Plenty of room for two people. The unit was very clean and well maintained.
We were met at the airport as promised and given a guided tour of the island by Di. We were driven to our restaurant every evening and someone from the restaurant drove us home afterwards. We could have walked to the restaurants but were lazy. Having read on tripadvisor about Pete and Deb, we didn’t meet them as they were on holidays. Instead we met Di and Jessie. They were great – cheery, fun, bubbly, very happy to help or advise or talk about the island. Their energy was daunting.
There is no mobile phone reception on LHI, we didn’t try to do internet, we took ebook readers. We didn’t hire bikes – we happily walked everywhere. We saw everything we wanted to. We had a great time. Lorhiti was a special part of it.

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 6 have only one shared wall - others have 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of your stay at Lorhiti .

We really appreciate you taking so much time to detail your experience for others to share . You have covered everything that we offer in such a positive light and while thanking you for your review , we are also mindful and happy that we were able to meet your expectations and provide a service and special place for you to enjoy your stay .

We are sorry you didn't get to meet Deb & Pete , whilst they enjoyed a well earned holiday but so glad that you were able to be looked after well by Di & Jess .

We very much enjoyed having you with us and hope to look after you again on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had never been to Lord Howe and treated ourselves to a week there at the beginning of October. We chose the Lorhiti based on the excellent recommendations it had received on Trip Advisor. I can't fault the dedication and friendliness of the caretakers Pete & Deb, who were always on hand to help. The unit and gardens were immaculate, and the location pretty central to everything with a private track to Ned's Beach. So technically, the Lorhiti is an excellent choice for a couple and I endorse all the positive comments written by others. I just wanted to share a couple of personal negatives, which were nothing to do with the actual Lorhiti apartments, and may not even be a factor for others.
Firstly, the grounds, although beautifully maintained and lovely, are very small, so there is no privacy from your neighbours at any time. The unit walls are thin, and you have to hope you don't have early risers next door either side if you want a lie-in! You can also easily hear anyone speaking in a relatively normal voice through the wall. Hearing guitar practice next door from dawn to dusk over a period of about 4 days (even over the TV) quickly lost its novelty. I can however see that if you are lucky enough to be sandwiched in between quiet middle aged couples you will have no complaints! Finally, if the weather turns rainy, the damp definitely gets into the doona and soft furnishings. Again this isn't specific to the Lorhiti, Lord Howe can be a damp place.
Now that's off my chest, we did thoroughly enjoy our time at the Island and wouldn't hesitate to come again, but I think we would definitely try and come at a quieter, dryer time! After all, you come here to experience the great outdoors, and if we'd had 100% good weather none of the above negatives would have come to light..

Room Tip: Rooms at either end of the row of units would probably be a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience .

It is lovely to hear that you could not fault the dedication and friendliness of the caretakers Pete & Deb and also that you found the unit and gardens immaculate, the location central to everything and appreciated the private track to Ned's Beach.

It is also nice to hear that you found Lorhiti to be an excellent choice for a couple and endorse all the positive comments written by others.

With only 12 guests on 4 acres , it is the first time we have received a comment that there is not a lot of privacy . There is so much peace and beauty to be found in our palm and banyan forest.

I am sorry that the weather spoiled some of your stay and seemed to keep you in doors for perhaps more than you intended on your holiday .

Trip advisor is a good medium for guests to share their experience and we do thank you for your input .

We very much appreciate you finishing your review with " if we'd had 100% good weather none of the above negatives would have come to light".

We do hope we can look after you on a return visit and put a bit of sun on for you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast,Qld
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from Lord Howe having spent some of our week in the Lorhiti apartments as we were only able to stay 4 nights due to availability. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was well equipped with everything needed to cook. Deb and Pete (onsite caretakers) are a great asset to this property, as they couldn't do enough to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. It is this welcoming touch that can make or break a holiday regardless of the accommodation and they certainly made ours. Ned's Beach is absolutely stunning and a beautiful private bush track through to the beach makes for easy accessibility. It is also a bonus that Lorhiti don't allow small children at the property, as the second property that we stayed at did and we were constantly woken in the early morning by slamming doors and children running around and around their apartment and shouting. When you are on holiday it is great to have the serenity that Lorhiti provides.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedickens_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review . We are so pleased you were able to spend most of your stay with us and very sorry that we could not fit you in for the full time .

It is so good to read your review and know that you found the apartments spotless , enjoyed the location and close proximity to Ned's beach and appreciated the help and friendliness shown by Deb & Pete . They are a fantastic couple who love looking after the guests , which is reflected in the many reviews and wonderful feedback we receive .

We are especially pleased that you made mention of the peacefulness you found at Lorhiti . We do feel the 4 acres provides a quiet tranquil haven for our 12 guests .

Thank you again for making to time to post a review . We do hope to look after you when next you visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 9 nights on this idyllic island paradise. Lorhiti was a very good choice of accommodation and an easy walk to most restaurants and activities. Pete and Deb are a lovely couple who keep the whole property immaculate - the garden is beautiful!
We thoroughly enjoyed all the walks, the cycling, the kayaking and a great tour to North Bay in a glass bottom boat - we were lucky enough to see three turtles (first of the season).
Had some lovely restaurant meals - our favourite was the Greenback Eatery - the freshest fish we have ever eaten!
We hope to return one day - perhaps when the water is a little warmer and the seabird chicks are hatching.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for making time to post your review . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also appreciated the help and care shown by Deb & Pete in making your stay enjoyable .

We look forward to looking after you when next you visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week for an anniversary and couldn't have made a better choice. The hard working managers were friendly and fun and nothing was any trouble. The units are spacious and clean, and the gardens are meticulous. And apart from all this, this lodge has its own private track to the beautiful Ned’s Beach – and can you believe Pete rakes it in the morning lest his guests are forced to encounter fallen leaves on their journey along the sandy track! Pete and Deb collected our groceries from the local store to save our aching arms and legs; gave us lifts “home” when they found us wandering aimlessly around the island; dropped us off at restaurants each evening and even joined us and fellow guests for a spirited barbecue in the lodge’s gazebo. Perfectly located being private yet only a few minutes’ walk from everything (restaurants, bar, beaches, equipment hire, walking tracks, museum, attractions etc). Deb and Pete keep an eye on your whereabouts in case they need to send out a search party (but they never did have to, thanks to their careful and detailed directions). A wonderful experience – highly recommended, and would return in a heartbeat, given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Don't worry - they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
WOW !!! What a fantastic review . Thank you enough for sharing your very enjoyable experience . It was a real happy read and seeing your review makes us feel very proud , knowing our guests are continually enjoying their stay at Lorhiti .

It is lovely for Deb & Pete to hear your praise for the wonderful work that they do . They thoroughly enjoy looking after all the guests and although they are not looking for praise it is really appreciated when their hard work gets recognised .

It is fantastic to read your review and hear how much you enjoyed your stay .

Thank you so much and we hope to look after you in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
0.5 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#3 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorhiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorhiti Apartments

Property: Lorhiti Apartments
Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorhiti Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LORHITI BOUTIQUE SUITES. An oasis of seclusion in one of the best locations on Lord Howe Island, Lorhiti is the closest resort to stunning Ned's Beach and central to Island facilities, beaches, tours, and attractions.Six Bali/Thai style one bedroom King Suite apartments surrounded by a 2 hectare oasis of secluded tropical gardens. Property Features: BBQ, gazebo, laundry, private beach access, stunning gardens, transit lounge and library, away from main roads, public telephone, free evening transport to restaurants, 24 hour caretaker. Rooms Features: modern amenities, flat screen TV/CD/DVD, free movies, free in-room Wi-Fi, king or twin king single beds, full kitchen, sandwish press , airy veranda's, ceiling fans, insect screens, King & King single bed, en suite bathroom, electric blankets and heater, excellent lighting, beach towels, linen, towels, ceiling fans, coffee plunger and sandwich press, iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, back pack, hair dryer, clock radio, sarongs and bathrobes, insect spray and air freshener, torch, games and cards and umbrella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lorhiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorhiti Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing