We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet, clean, well located property”
Review of Lorhiti Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorhiti Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from Lord Howe having spent some of our week in the Lorhiti apartments as we were only able to stay 4 nights due to availability. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was well equipped with everything needed to cook. Deb and Pete (onsite caretakers) are a great asset to this property, as they couldn't do enough to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. It is this welcoming touch that can make or break a holiday regardless of the accommodation and they certainly made ours. Ned's Beach is absolutely stunning and a beautiful private bush track through to the beach makes for easy accessibility. It is also a bonus that Lorhiti don't allow small children at the property, as the second property that we stayed at did and we were constantly woken in the early morning by slamming doors and children running around and around their apartment and shouting. When you are on holiday it is great to have the serenity that Lorhiti provides.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suedickens_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic review . We are so pleased you were able to spend most of your stay with us and very sorry that we could not fit you in for the full time .

It is so good to read your review and know that you found the apartments spotless , enjoyed the location and close proximity to Ned's beach and appreciated the help and friendliness shown by Deb & Pete . They are a fantastic couple who love looking after the guests , which is reflected in the many reviews and wonderful feedback we receive .

We are especially pleased that you made mention of the peacefulness you found at Lorhiti . We do feel the 4 acres provides a quiet tranquil haven for our 12 guests .

Thank you again for making to time to post a review . We do hope to look after you when next you visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Lorhiti Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 9 nights on this idyllic island paradise. Lorhiti was a very good choice of accommodation and an easy walk to most restaurants and activities. Pete and Deb are a lovely couple who keep the whole property immaculate - the garden is beautiful!
We thoroughly enjoyed all the walks, the cycling, the kayaking and a great tour to North Bay in a glass bottom boat - we were lucky enough to see three turtles (first of the season).
Had some lovely restaurant meals - our favourite was the Greenback Eatery - the freshest fish we have ever eaten!
We hope to return one day - perhaps when the water is a little warmer and the seabird chicks are hatching.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for making time to post your review . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also appreciated the help and care shown by Deb & Pete in making your stay enjoyable .

We look forward to looking after you when next you visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week for an anniversary and couldn't have made a better choice. The hard working managers were friendly and fun and nothing was any trouble. The units are spacious and clean, and the gardens are meticulous. And apart from all this, this lodge has its own private track to the beautiful Ned’s Beach – and can you believe Pete rakes it in the morning lest his guests are forced to encounter fallen leaves on their journey along the sandy track! Pete and Deb collected our groceries from the local store to save our aching arms and legs; gave us lifts “home” when they found us wandering aimlessly around the island; dropped us off at restaurants each evening and even joined us and fellow guests for a spirited barbecue in the lodge’s gazebo. Perfectly located being private yet only a few minutes’ walk from everything (restaurants, bar, beaches, equipment hire, walking tracks, museum, attractions etc). Deb and Pete keep an eye on your whereabouts in case they need to send out a search party (but they never did have to, thanks to their careful and detailed directions). A wonderful experience – highly recommended, and would return in a heartbeat, given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Don't worry - they're all good!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

WOW !!! What a fantastic review . Thank you enough for sharing your very enjoyable experience . It was a real happy read and seeing your review makes us feel very proud , knowing our guests are continually enjoying their stay at Lorhiti .

It is lovely for Deb & Pete to hear your praise for the wonderful work that they do . They thoroughly enjoy looking after all the guests and although they are not looking for praise it is really appreciated when their hard work gets recognised .

It is fantastic to read your review and hear how much you enjoyed your stay .

Thank you so much and we hope to look after you in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just a short hop from Mainland Australia, (2 hr flight) and you find yourself in Paradise.
Greeted by Deb & Pete at the Airport we were made to feel like family in no time at all.
On the way back to our accomadation we were given a short tour of the island just to familarise us with our new surroundings(a very nice touch to the start of our holiday).
On arrival at our apartment we were very impressed with the cleanliness and layout of our rooms, it is an ideal setup for a couple, offering plenty of room for you to move around comfortably. You want for nothing, all you need to bring with you are your clothes.
If you wish you can prepare your own meals in the apartment,there is a well designed kitchenette,or if a barbeque is your thing,then there is a Gazebo with an enclosed barby in the gardens
The king size bed is "comfort plus" very enjoyable.
The whole lay out of "Lohiti Apartments" and its surrounding gardens is of a very high standard,
offering guests privacy.serenity, and beauty.
Your hosts Deb and Pete are just like the icing on a very nice cake, friendly, and nothing you may require is any trouble to them
Eating out is a very enjoyable experience,with all the resturants offering high quality meals.
The local Kingfish is a must try at "Greenbacks" Resturant.
The beauty of the Island is some thing you must see for yourself,with lots of birdlife to view, and the locals are friendly and courteous.
If you like taking scenic walks,then there is plenty of those to do also.
All island tours are very informative and enjoyable.
Lord Howe lifestyle reminds me of the way Mainland Australia used to be 40 years ago, when people had time for a chat and had a very laid back way of life,
To sum it all up,people who appreciate a beautifull pristine environment,laid back lifestyle,and friendly people, then Lord Howe is a must visit.
To make your holiday complete then the "LORHITI APARTMENTS" and the "DEB & PETE" package, is something you should seriously consider, their Rates are very competitive.

Room Tip: For that little bit of extra privacy room 6 is the pick, even though all rooms are side by side and...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Wow !! Thank you for your fantastic review . Even though we know Lord Howe and beautiful Lorhiti , it was a real pleasure to read your review and hear of your wonderful experience . Thank you so much for making time to share with others , your informative description of your stay .

A big special thank you also for your praise of Deb & Pete . It really is a credit to them to get such continuous good feedback . They thoroughly enjoy looking after the guests and it shows by the comments that guests post .

Thank you again . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to visit Lorhiti .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

There's plenty of room in the apartments and absolutely nothing else needed for our stay. Modern appliances and the king size bed was superb. Everything you could want is there - robes, beach towel, sarongs, information, bbq, and if you must wash - a washer, dryer and line. Hosts Deb and Pete couldn't be more nicer or more helpful - plus there's abundant wildlife just in the gardens. Only a short walk to Neds beach where you can bbq, feed the fish and snorkel to your hearts content. We were lucky enough to see a couple of dolphins (in winter) cruising around. If you aren't able to get around so well, go to Wilson's and hire a car - their prices are very reasonable Also the prices in general on LHI are quite comparable to the mainland, - similar to small country markets and taking into account the distance travelled some might seem a trifle high eg coke but the meat and fish prices are really cheap and the goods are of high quality. The Bowling Club had a delicious fish, chips and salad meal and well worth it. We had a huge breakfast at the Anchorage and it was big enough to keep you going all day - again very reasonable price. The nature, the pristine waters, the wildlife all make for a trip of a lifetime - just stay at Lorhiti for the absolute complete holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be the same - peaceful, quiet, restful
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your review . It is so good to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the help and thoughtfulness shown from Deb & Pete .

It is lovely to know you enjoyed everything Lorhiti has to offer and we do hope to welcome you back again soon . Thank you for making time to share your review with others .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our accommodation and the grounds were excellent, as were Pete & Deb, the onsite managers. The gardens accentuated the experience of Lord Howe especially when 2 woodhens with their 2 chicks entertained us with their antics the last day we were there. Other birds were also pretty and entertaining. There was plenty of space to relax and it was very clean and comfortable. We prepared the majority of our meals in the self-contained kitchen that was equipped extremely well. The communal BBQ in the garden is great too and we cooked a number of evening meals there - oil was provided as well as paper towel to let us leave it clean for other users.
The private access to Neds Beach was a feature - walking down under the banyans and then being able to feed such a variety fish was a unique experience.
We were fortunate to have good weather and to do a Chase 'n' Thyme tour the morning after we arrived. The tour around the island with Peter Phillipps was exceptional and we learnt so much. Coffee at his house with his wife was great. The commentary gave us a great insight into the life and history of the island and allowed us to plan what we would like to do during the week ahead. Peter's slide night was also really good.
Thompson's Store, Joy's Shop and the Co-op provided most of our supplies together with fish from Ocean View - and the fish I caught off the jetty.
The Museum is worth a few visits and the cafe there makes very good coffee - the best we had on Lord Howe (and the best price).
We chose to walk and, although the hill to Lorhiti is "good exercise", we were able to do and go where we wanted. I loved the view's from Kim's Lookout and Malabar. The island is laid back and relaxing and Lorhiti facilitates that relaxation with excellent accommodation and excellent grounds. Pete & Deb are a super bonus.
Our only disappointment was that the wi-fi was out of action the whole time we were there and providing free wi-fi had been one of the factors in our choosing Lorhiti.

Room Tip: No preference - all good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your very informative review . I really enjoyed taking my time and absorbing what you had to say about your trip and experience at Lorhiti . It is a real bonus for other guests to be able to hear first hand about your stay .

It is nice you made mention of Deb & Pete as so many of the guests do as they really do go out of their way to make guests feel at home and try and accommodate any requests . Their helpfulness shows , with the amount of guests that comment and thank them .

We do apologise about the lack of internet . We are in a remote area and are at the mercy of the elements that knocked out a part that picks up our signal . We got straight onto it and the technician ordered a part only to have it arrive and find he needed something else . It is very frustrating for us also when trying to run a business . We are very sorry and can appreciate how disappointing it is as we ourselves usually book a property because it has internet . I hope it was not too much of an inconvenience and do hope you will come back to visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lorhiti was a great place to stay on Lord Howe- cycling up the path to the apts from town helped stretch the legs after lots of walking and snorkelling and was always a good chance to see more Lord Howe Wood hens

Deb and Pete were very friendly and helpful, the apts are roomy and comfortable and the private track down to Neds beach for a snorkel with the fish and sharks was a real plus.

We didnt cook as we were on holiday but the kitchen was very well equipped and the lunge spacious and comfortable

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review .It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lorhiti and appreciated the friendly service provided by Deb & Pete . They really love looking after the guests .

It is always good to hear what our guests thought of their stay and it's nice to know you found the apartments roomy and comfortable and enjoyed the private track and close proximity to beautiful Ned's beach . We are very lucky to have such a beautiful spot right on our door step .

We do hope you will return to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#6 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
80 reviews
2.2 mi away
Capella Lodge
Capella Lodge
#2 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorhiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorhiti Apartments

Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: $216 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorhiti Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LORHITI BOUTIQUE SUITES. An oasis of seclusion in one of the best locations on Lord Howe Island, Lorhiti is the closest resort to stunning Ned's Beach and central to Island facilities, beaches, tours, and attractions.Six Bali/Thai style one bedroom King Suite apartments surrounded by a 2 hectare oasis of secluded tropical gardens. Property Features: BBQ, gazebo, laundry, private beach access, stunning gardens, transit lounge and library, away from main roads, public telephone, free evening transport to restaurants, 24 hour caretaker. Rooms Features: modern amenities, flat screen TV/CD/DVD, free movies, free in-room Wi-Fi, king or twin king single beds, full kitchen, sandwish press , airy veranda's, ceiling fans, insect screens, King & King single bed, en suite bathroom, electric blankets and heater, excellent lighting, beach towels, linen, towels, ceiling fans, coffee plunger and sandwich press, iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, back pack, hair dryer, clock radio, sarongs and bathrobes, insect spray and air freshener, torch, games and cards and umbrella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lorhiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorhiti Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing