We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week in paradise”
Review of Lorhiti Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lorhiti Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One week in paradise”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The accommodation and grounds were excellent, as was the staff and the gardens accentuated the experience of Lord Howe. access to Neds Beach was a feature and the top shop and Joys (the main shop) was within walking distance, however the steep hill to Lorhiti was a bit challenging, given we are in our seventies. everything was provided, such as soap powder and even oil for the excellent barbacue. We dined in each of the two
great pagodas.

Nothing was left wanting!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation and gardens excellent . It is also nice to hear that a special feature was the attentive staff and close proximity to Ned's beach . Deb & Pete are always happy to help the guests wherever they can.

We were sorry to hear that you found the incline to Lorhiti challenging . It sounds like you managed , but had we been aware of any problem, we would have been more than happy to organise a hire car for you . It is a 40 second walk or a 15 second cycle from the flat up to the entrance of our driveway . I am in my fifties and like a lot of our guests , still cycle up the incline into our property. Even walking most find the gradual gradient not too arduous , but do appreciate the fact that guests in their 70's would find it more difficult . If we can be of any help with transport on a future holiday , please let us know and we will be only to happy to help.

I think you have done really well coming to such an energetic island and making the most of the walks available .

Thank you also for your comments on the complimentary items supplied for your washing and the bbq . It is really nice to hear they are appreciated . We try to provide as much as possible for our guests , especially items guests would normally need to buy like oil and washing powder that they would use so little of .

We appreciate your feedback and do hope to welcome you back to Lorhiti soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    34
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
210
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Wonderful island, accommodation real beaut, Debbie & Pete made us very welcome indeed and could not do enough for us. Our favourite restaurant was Pandanus. We fequented the Museum a number of times as the lady there made terrific coffee and homemade cakes yum o! The only fly in the ointment was the weather which was pretty crook so we were unable to do exactly what we had in mind due to rain and very high winds. Hopefully on our next visist we might get some sunshine! A trip around the island with Peter Phillips was exceptional and we learnt so much. Coffee at his house with his wife was great fun.

Room Tip: No need to choose a room at Lorhiti as they are all the same and very very clean. No hesitation in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review on Lorhiti . We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Deb & Pete made you welcome and looked after you .

Thank you also for sharing other information on your dining and tour experiences . It is good to know you will be back , so we will look forward to looking after you again then .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent 11 nights at Lorhiti and it truly is a home away from home. Plenty of space to relax, very clean and comfortable and a private 'deck' at the front of the room gave the opportunity to relax outside in the tranquil environment. We prepared the majority of our meals in the self-contained kitchen that was equipped extremely well. The communal BBQ in the garden is great too. Birds were often flitting about the garden and woodhens pecking about the garden everyday.
Just a short walk to Ned's beach makes it a perfect location. In fact, Lorhiti is central to so many things - to Joy's Shop one way, Post office and Anchorage Cafe/Restaurant the other way & Top Shop just around the corner. Riding bicycles is the best way to get around so there's plenty of bike parking on site too (as there is with anywhere you go on the island).
Deb & Pete are wonderful hosts too... friendly and helpful at all times. Thanks for everything.
We must also thank Gary for all the information he provided throughout our enquiries and making our reservation - fantastic and also very helpful. Lorhiti comes with our recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreenaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review . It is great to hear your comments and so good to know you enjoyed your stay at Lorhiti and everything we have to offer .

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your stay with others and look forward to welcoming you back to Lorhiti in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A week spent at Lorhiti was not enough. The apartments are spacious and spotlessly clean. All tastefully furnished and decorated. We cooked all our own meals and the kitchen was large enough with everything you could possibly want and more. All quality appliances and crockery. It was a pleasure to cook there. The huge bed in the bedroom, great en-suite bathroom and plenty of shelving and cupboard space. The grounds are delightful and tranquil. The private walking trail through the banyan forest down to Ned's beach was delightful - great to go for an early morning walk and snorkel. The managers, Pete and Deb were friendly and always willing to help with anything at all. We highly recommend Lorhiti. Compared to other places on the island it is very good value for money as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lani i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review .

We are so pleased that you choose to stay with us and that you enjoyed everything Lorhiti has to offer. It is lovely to know you appreciated the facilities we offer and loved the close proximity to beautiful Ned's beach.

We look forward to welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Lorhiti apartments had everything we possibly could want for a great holiday. Location, just minutes from Neds beach for great snorkeling. Comfort, large apartment style rooms with very comfortable bed, full kitchen and lounge room with free wifi and television. Setting, beautiful landscaped gardens complet with their own family of Woodhens---in fact bird watchers dont even need to leave Lorhiti as most endemic bird species were present. Hospitality, Peter and Deb will fuss over you from the minute you arrive until you leave--nothing you need is too much trouble for them. Value, I had a peep into a few other lodges on the island, including some that have a very posh reputation and a price to match---- I was surprised that several had rooms that looked much smaller than at Lorhiti [some were like a motel] and without the same facilities.
Overall, we are lucky we picked the Lorhiti and would not hesitate about coming back. Peter recommended several good restaurants but it was also good to have the full kitchen to have the choice to have breakfast and some meals at "home" as eating out every night can be expensive on Lord Howe. Cant wait to get back.
P.S. do "Rons Ramble"......it was a great 3 hour hike through lovely forest and beaches and Ron is quite a character and full of information.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
WOW !!!!! What else can we say except a huge thank you for sharing your wonderful holiday experience with others .

We really appreciate your brilliant review and are so happy that you enjoyed everything Lorhiti has to offer .

Thanks also for noting the effort and time that Deb & Pete put into making sure the guests have everything they need for a relaxing stay . They really do go above and beyond to look after the guests , but on top of that , they love doing it .

Their hard work and care has been acknowledged by Trip Advisor who have awarded Lorhiti the Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and now again in 2013. This is awarded to less than 10% of all properties World Wide listed on Trip Advisor . So we are very proud .

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lorhiti .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Lord Howe Island and it didn't disappoint. As they say, it is a magical unspoiled destination. For us, Lorhiti was the ideal place to stay and lived up to the high ratings it has achieved over the years. Well located only 5 mins walk to Neds Beach and 3 mins by bike down to the shops, a bit longer coming back up hill of course but the exercise doesn't go amiss. The apartments, situated in a lovely, tranquil garden setting are spacious, spotlessly clean, comfortable and well furnished. Peter & Deb, the on site managers, were great hosts and extremely helpful and informative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjayebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on your stay at Lorhiti . We are so pleased you enjoyed everything Lorhiti has to offer and that the property lived up to the high ratings mentioned previously on Trip Advisor .

We are very proud of our property and so very fortunate to have such a prime location as the closest accommodation to beautiful Ned's beach .

It is nice to hear you found the apartments spacious , spotlessly clean & enjoyed the tranquil garden setting .

It is always good to hear that Peter & Deb, were great hosts and extremely helpful . They really do everything possible to help the guests enjoy their stay .

We look forward to welcoming you back . Thank you for you high recommendation .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonee Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently spent a week in a one bedroom apartment at Lorhiti.
These apartments are very well located in a quiet,central position on the island. All the main attractions are within an easy walk or bike ride and the surrounding bush land is just beautiful. They are roomy,very comfortable and clean with lovely gardens and outdoor areas.
The managers, Deb and Peter, couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Transfers were quick and efficient and included a brief history and orientation tour of the island.They also offer a pick up service for your shopping and will drop you to restaurant of your choice for dinner.
Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Lorhiti and would love to return ASAP!

Room Tip: All the apartments are one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne00_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review . It is great for us to hear how you enjoyed your stay at Lorhiti. It is also good to know you appreciated the central quiet position of the property along with the lush surroundings and clean apartments .

Thank you for your kind comments on your hosts Deb & Pete. They always enjoy looking after the guests and do their best to make sure that they get the most out of their Lord Howe holiday .

We look forward to welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
0.5 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#6 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#3 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorhiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorhiti Apartments

Property: Lorhiti Apartments
Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorhiti Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LORHITI BOUTIQUE SUITES. An oasis of seclusion in one of the best locations on Lord Howe Island, Lorhiti is the closest resort to stunning Ned's Beach and central to Island facilities, beaches, tours, and attractions.Six Bali/Thai style one bedroom King Suite apartments surrounded by a 2 hectare oasis of secluded tropical gardens. Property Features: BBQ, gazebo, laundry, private beach access, stunning gardens, transit lounge and library, away from main roads, public telephone, free evening transport to restaurants, 24 hour caretaker. Rooms Features: modern amenities, flat screen TV/CD/DVD, free movies, free in-room Wi-Fi, king or twin king single beds, full kitchen, sandwish press , airy veranda's, ceiling fans, insect screens, King & King single bed, en suite bathroom, electric blankets and heater, excellent lighting, beach towels, linen, towels, ceiling fans, coffee plunger and sandwich press, iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, back pack, hair dryer, clock radio, sarongs and bathrobes, insect spray and air freshener, torch, games and cards and umbrella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lorhiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorhiti Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing