We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self contained accommodation”
Review of Lorhiti Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorhiti Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

In a great venue, Lorhiti provided a very relaxing unit in which to recover from lots of exercise, if not your thing - just to chill out. Spacious and very clean with all that was needed to enjoy a relaxing and convenient holiday. Remember that Lord Howe is about the scenery, flora and fauna and this far from the coast you cannot expect good TV coverage or any mobile coverage. Be prepared to walk or ride up a hill - excellent exercise after some of the good food available in the township. Showers slightly hard to maintain a constant temperature. Loved the eco friendly perspective of the whole island and reefs were stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cala9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your Lorhiti experience with others .

It is nice to know you found the property and apartments , convenient , clean and spacious with everything you required . It sounds like you got out and about and made the most of your Lord Howe holiday . It's great to know we could contribute to your whole experience and make your holiday more enjoyable .
We look forward to looking after you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 305 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lord Howe Island was a trip come true. You know the price of that airticket is all worth it with the first breathtaking views of the island even before you land. We are glad to have chosen to stay in Lorhiti - our garden apartment was spacious, clean, fully equipped and about 10 mins ' walk to the island's little town area. Debra was a warm and cheerful host - she made us feel at home and was always able to advise on the best restaurant to go for dinner.

We were initially a tad worried about travelling there in winter, but it turned out to be a great decision. The weather gave us cool hikes, rainbows all over the island everyday and a tranquil experience without the peak summer crowd. Stay for at least 5 days if you don't want to regret not taking in enough of the amazing island just because you want to save on a night's expenses.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_and_Jem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Jo & Jem

thank you very much for making time to write a review and share with others , your experience at Lorhiti . We are so pleased you enjoyed your apartment and found it spacious and well equipped . It is nice to know that Deb's friendliness and advice helped make your holiday .

We hope to see you back at Lorhiti again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We wanted something special for a 60th birthday. Did we choose the best place or what!!
Flying in we started to get excited when we could see Lord Howe Island.
We knew the holiday was going to be perfect after being met at the airport by Pete and Deb, given a brief tour and description of the island, and then taken to our Lorhiti apartment.
As soon as Pete and Deb welcomed us into our apartment we felt at home, and knew that we had chosen the best accommodation for our holiday. The apartment was immaculate, the setting perfect and the gardens beautiful.
Lorhiti gave us the freedom to do our own thing by dining at home in comfort or by dining out.
We enjoyed just sitting on the balcony watching the white tern sit on it's egg and also watching the banded rail and woodhen when they came by to check out the new arrivals.
Ned's beach being so close to Lorhiti was a definite bonus, not far to walk to feed the ever hungry fish.
We stayed eight nights but it was not long enough. We enjoyed Pete and Deb's company and nothing was too much trouble for them. Always willing to help with advice and assistance.
We will definitely be returning to Lorhiti for the next 60th birthday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Sandra_hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Ian and Sandra ,
thank you very much for making time to write a review . It is so nice reading your review to hear how your holiday was enjoyed from the moment you were met at the airport . It seems like you were ready to enjoy everything Lord Howe had to offer from the moment you arrived and we are so pleased that you were delighted with your choice of accommodation .

It sounds like you had a fabulous 60th and we look forward to looking after you when you return for the next 60th .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had planned a trip to Lord Howe for so long and heard so many great descriptions of the island but it was even better than we had expected. The fact that we had chosen Lorhiti Apartments was a real bonus. Debra and Peter made us feel completely at home and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our apartment was modern, well-equipped, very clean and comfortable. We didn't expect the bonus of the beautifully-kept gardens and loved sitting on our deck for breakfast watching the almost tame white terns in the tree right in front of us.
Lorhiti is a five-minute walk through the banyan forest to Ned's beach where we fed the fish as they swam around our feet. We watched the mutton birds arrive at night there also, and scuttle past us into their holes in the ground. The 'village' and Lagoon beach are only 15 minutes walk away, or five minutes by bike. In the evenings it was great to be driven by Peter to our choice of restaurant and brought home again by minibus. We'll definitely be back on beautiful Lord Howe, and definitely stay at Lorhiti.

Room Tip: All rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Di ,
thank you so much for your review . It sounds like you had a wonderful holiday and we are so pleased that we could provide , service , accommodation and a setting that helped make your vacation that little bit more special .

It is also good to know that you will definitely be back on beautiful Lord Howe, and definitely stay at Lorhiti. We look forward to looking after you again when next you visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Lorhiti for 4 nights, and it was simply fantastic. Upon arrival at Lord Howe, we were greeted by Peter, who took us around on a tour and explained a lot about the Island. Then we also met Debra, whom, together with Peter, manages the apartments. They are great people and will go the extra mile to ensure everything is perfect for your stay :)
Our apartment was immaculate and very comfortable. It's very spacious, the bed is huge (and amazing), and everything you need is there - only have to bring your clothes. It's very close to Ned's Beach - it's nice to take this small track to get there - and there's also one good track nearby that leads to The Clear Place and the Valley of the Shadows, where you feel like you've entered a Lord of the Rings scene.
We absolutely loved to stay at Lorhiti - sadly it was not enough time to see and do everything we wanted to - but then we have a reason to come back, and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Many thanks for your review and taking the time to post the great photos . We do really appreciate you sharing your holiday with others .

It's nice to hear that Deb & Pete went that extra mile for you to make sure you were well looked after . They enjoy helping all the guests with anything they require during their stay .

It is good to see you mention you will be back . We look forward to looking after you on your next visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lorhiti and our time was made even more pleasurable by outstanding managers - Debra and Peter - who went well above and beyond themselves to make our stay so comfortable – and they were so willing to share any extra information we required about the island. It was great too to have the presence of the mutton birds on the property at this time of the year – and the white terns nesting in the Cape lilac outside our apartment, gave hours of enjoyment! Great location higher up on the island

Room Tip: All 6 would be equally good as they are all surrounded by garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on Lorhiti with others .

It is good to know your stay was enhanced with the wonderful help of Deb & Pete . They really do enjoy looking after all of their guests .

We hope to see you back at Lorhiti again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay with the best couple running the place.Deb and Pete are getting quite a fan club and rightly so.Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are so warm and friendly with it.Lorhiti apartments are in the best spot very close to neds beach and are spotlessly clean and well maintained.As for the island as a whole all I can say is I wish everywhere was like it, trouble free, welcoming and beautiful. Hopefully we will be back one day and Lorhiti will be our place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your review . It is good to hear that Deb & Pete's Fan club is continuing to grow !

Nothing is too much trouble for them and it is nice when others notice what a great job they do in ensuring the guests have the best holiday possible .

It's fantastic that you feel we have the best spot on the island and were happy with the location and close proximity to beautiful Ned's beach .

We hope to see you back one day .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
84 reviews
1 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#5 of 11 in Lord Howe Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorhiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorhiti Apartments

Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: $174 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorhiti Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LORHITI BOUTIQUE SUITES. An oasis of seclusion in one of the best locations on Lord Howe Island, Lorhiti is the closest resort to stunning Ned's Beach and central to Island facilities, beaches, tours, and attractions.Six Bali/Thai style one bedroom King Suite apartments surrounded by a 2 hectare oasis of secluded tropical gardens. Property Features: BBQ, gazebo, laundry, private beach access, stunning gardens, transit lounge and library, away from main roads, public telephone, free evening transport to restaurants, 24 hour caretaker. Rooms Features: modern amenities, flat screen TV/CD/DVD, free movies, free in-room Wi-Fi, king or twin king single beds, full kitchen, sandwish press , airy veranda's, ceiling fans, insect screens, King & King single bed, en suite bathroom, electric blankets and heater, excellent lighting, beach towels, linen, towels, ceiling fans, coffee plunger and sandwich press, iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, back pack, hair dryer, clock radio, sarongs and bathrobes, insect spray and air freshener, torch, games and cards and umbrella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lorhiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorhiti Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing