We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Lorhiti Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lorhiti Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed 6 nights ( 2 extra than planned) in April at Lorhiti Apartments. The apartments were immaculately clean and very well equipped, with all the extra touches, we especially enjoyed the white fluffy blankets perfect for the cool evenings.

Deb and Pete were fantastic and very helpful when our flights were cancelled due to storms and we were 'stuck in paradise' for 2 extra nights. They were very accomodating with helping helped us rearrange out international connecting flights so we could enjoy our extra 2 days on the island.

Lorhiti is in a great location just a short walk to fish feeding at neds beach, and 5min on the bike to the Lagoon and local shops.

We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fliss_J_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for making time to write a review . We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything Lorhiti has to offer and appreciated the clean apartments and extra touches that Lorhiti provides .

It is nice that you were able to enjoy the extra 2 days , due to the flight cancellation . Deb & Pete were only too happy to help you sort out your flight arrangements .

We hope to look after you again , when next you return to Australia .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    34
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
211
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Lorhiti for our Lord Howe Island holiday in April-May 2012, after a travel agent recommendation. We were delighted with our choice.
Lorhiti is a small apartment complex set in beautiful rainforest gardens in a private location. Many of the island’s bird species can be seen and heard not far from your door, including the once rare woodhen. Lorhiti is the Island’s closest accommodation to Ned’s Beach, where the fish-feeding and snorkelling is a highlight. Lorhiti is an easy walk - or downhill bike ride - to the ‘cbd’ which includes Thompson’s Store, the surf shop, post office, co-op and The Anchorage café where you can get a great coffee. Lorhiti is also not far from the Top Shop where you can buy meat and salad packs and grocery items, and a reasonable walk to Joy’s Shop which is a little like a local IGA store. Lorhiti is also close to some great dinner choices including Pandanus and Greenbacks. Write your name and room number on the board outside the office and you’ll be driven to your choice of restaurant for the evening meal. The restaurant staff will drive you home when you’ve finished your dinner. What a great idea!
Our apartment was pleasantly decorated and comfortable. The open-plan lounge/dining/kitchen had all we needed for our week’s holiday. The kitchen is well-equipped if you want to ‘eat in’ and you’ll want to make use of the outside barbecue in its own gazebo area. In the lounge area there’s a flat screen tv with a selection of dvds. Take your camera’s connection cable so you can look at your photos. There’s wireless internet connection which is handy for a quick check of emails from home. The bedroom has a king-sized bed which was one of the most comfortable beds we have slept on, very welcome after a day’s walking, swimming and cycling. It was lovely to wake up and see the palms and gardens through the window.
Our stay was made particularly enjoyable by our two wonderful hosts, Deb and Peter McAteer. From Pete’s greeting when he met us at the airport, and Deb’s welcome on our arrival, to our departure from Lord Howe Island, nothing was too much trouble for them. They went out of their way for us, even helping us with a very special event. We appreciated their hospitality, their kindness and their friendship.
We loved our stay at Lorhiti and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We are looking forward to our next visit to beautiful Lord Howe Island, and we will be more than happy to stay at Lorhiti again.
Marilyn and Paul

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz1NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Marilyn & Paul .......WOW ......thank you so much for your excellent review . You should be travel writers . You have painted such a wonderful description of your stay with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed all that Lorhiti has to offer . Thank you also for sharing your photos with us . They are fantastic . Your review is very much appreciated by us all , especially Deb & Pete and I know it will help so many other travellers with information about a stay at Lorhiti .
Thank you again SO much . We look forward to having you back with us when you return to Lord Howe .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We recently spent 9 nights at Lorhiti Apartments. Deb and Pete who manage the establishment added to our holiday in many little ways, beginning with meeting us at the airport. They helped us organise and collect a meal first night as it was a public holiday and we had arrived well into the afternoon. They gave us all the advice we needed and checked all was fine quite regularly. We really enjoyed the peaceful setting of Lorhiti and decided it was just far enough up the hill to return from a bike ride without being exhausted!! We were most impressed by the trusting nature of the island, not worrying about locked doors and even having orders from the Top Shop delivered to the fridge. We had a busy (doing lots of island activities)but refreshing break at Lorhiti.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review on your stay . It's great to hear that Deb & Pete looked after you from the begining to the end of your stay . They really do love looking after the guests at Lorhiti . It is nice to hear that they checked on you regularly to make sure that all was going well for you and that you had everything you needed . It sounds as though you were on the go and kept busy during your stay . We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday away with us at Lorhiti . We hope to welcome you back for your next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Even though it was a little cool (Mid May) it was still warm enough for swimming every day. The apartment was immaculately clean and well fitted out. There is a 5 minute walk to Ned's Beach on a private track. There is a five minute walk down the hill to the Post Office and Thompson's Store and another five minutes to the main part of the village with Joy's Shop which has more provisions for self-catering.
Deborah and Peter do a very good job as managers of the apartments, and are very friendly. Everything was well organised. The shuttle service to any of the restaurants works well. Then the restaurant drives you home. This was much appreciated because those unlit roads are very dark at night, even with a torch.

Room Tip: Our garden unit (No.1) was quite dark inside but the management said this was on the agenda to be re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDITH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Judith , thank you so much for making time to share your experience with other travellers .

It's great to hear you found the apartment immaculate and the location of Lorhiti very central .

It is enjoyable fter an energetic day to relax and take a lift out of an evening to the restaurants , so I am glad to hear you made use of the courtesy transport to and from the restaurants .

Thanks again for your review and we hope you may come back to visit us in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadensis, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect when we booked Lorhiti, not knowing much about Lord Howe Island, but boy were in in for a delightful surprise. The setting is beautiful with ancient banyon trees, lovely gardens, and all necessary amenities. Pete and Deb were extraordinary hosts, giving great suggestions, arranging any activities we requested, and just being extremely kind, helpful and thoughtful - even down to the day room provided on the day of departure. Super clean grounds and rooms, accommodations comfy cozy and very well maintained. My husband and I had a wonderful time - Don't miss it!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here - it's a very quiet place, and even though the rooms are attached al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Susan , thank you so much for your wonderful review . Great feedback like yours makes it very rewarding for us all at Lorhiti . Debra & Pete do go that extra mile in helping the guests and it is so nice when guests appreciate their efforts .

We are so glad you were delightfully surprised on arrival and enjoyed the grounds , apartments and all that Lorhiti has to offer .

We hope to have you back with us again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

When we arrived Pete and Deb met us with smiles and made us feel relaxed and welcome immediately. We loved the quiet rainforrest setting that was well maintained with wild birds just metres from our door. The location of Lorhiti is fantastic, close to Ned's beach for swimming, snorkling and fish feeding and with access to many walks. All facities are well maintained. It was nice to have options of eating out or cooking our own meals. We had our own privacy, but everyone was so friendly and happy to have a chat in passing and share experiences. I want to go back.

Room Tip: book a garden unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Many thanks Bronwyn for taking time to share your experience of Lorhiti with other travellers .

It is so nice to know you felt warmly welcomed on arrival and enjoyed the special experince of a stay at Lorhiti .

The rainforest setting is beautiful and it is lovely to see so much birdlife , close up and seemingly unconcerned by people .

We really appreciate you telling others about your time with us and hope to see you back on Lord Howe .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a wonderful week exploring Lord Howe Island!
We found 'Lorhiti' a very comfortable, peaceful and pretty place to stay. Great spot..just minutes away from Ned's Beach, great spot for snorkelling and swimming. Loads of fishes!
Short bike rode or walk , mostly flat to main town and lagoon.
The rooms were large, modern and clean, with all we required to make ourselves at home.
Loved the new lounge.
Debbie and Peter were very helpful and pleasant hosts with lots of good tips for making the most of the walks, tours, restaurants and everything worth knowing!
Great holiday! We are very happy to recommend Lorhiti as a great place to stay on Lord Howe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanM778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you Susan for your glowing review . We all try very hard to provide great accommodation and friendly service in a beautiful peaceful setting , so it is good to see that this is what you experienced when you stayed with us .

We appreciate your kind words about Debra & Pete . They love looking after the new arrivals to Lorhiti and are more then happy to provide great tips on what ever you would like to do on Lord Howe .

Thank you for recommending Lorhiti as a great place to stay on Lord Howe. We hope to see you back with us again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
0.3 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#6 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#4 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorhiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorhiti Apartments

Property: Lorhiti Apartments
Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorhiti Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LORHITI BOUTIQUE SUITES. An oasis of seclusion in one of the best locations on Lord Howe Island, Lorhiti is the closest resort to stunning Ned's Beach and central to Island facilities, beaches, tours, and attractions.Six Bali/Thai style one bedroom King Suite apartments surrounded by a 2 hectare oasis of secluded tropical gardens. Property Features: BBQ, gazebo, laundry, private beach access, stunning gardens, transit lounge and library, away from main roads, public telephone, free evening transport to restaurants, 24 hour caretaker. Rooms Features: modern amenities, flat screen TV/CD/DVD, free movies, free in-room Wi-Fi, king or twin king single beds, full kitchen, sandwish press , airy veranda's, ceiling fans, insect screens, King & King single bed, en suite bathroom, electric blankets and heater, excellent lighting, beach towels, linen, towels, ceiling fans, coffee plunger and sandwich press, iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, back pack, hair dryer, clock radio, sarongs and bathrobes, insect spray and air freshener, torch, games and cards and umbrella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lorhiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorhiti Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing