We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place to Stay”
Review of Earl's Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Earl's Anchorage
Taree, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We knew we would have an enjoyable holiday from the moment Kathy met us at the airport. It was just like meeting an old friend! We stayed in Tarpon (bungalow 3) which had the deepest and longest spa bath you could imagine - perfect for relaxing after a long day's walking. The rooms were all very spacious; the bedroom had a very comfortable queen bed; the lounge had two 2-seaters that you could really stretch out on. The kitchen area had all the appliances and equipment you could want. There was even a washing machine and clothesline which some may appreciate due to the 14 kg baggage limit on the flight over. The owners also own one of the better restaurants on the island, Humpty Mick's, where on several occasions we enjoyed food equal to anything found in the major cities. Kathy telephones around 6pm each evening to ask if you require a lift to any of the restaurants, and the restaurant provides transport home. What a great service! We found a newly opened restaurant within 5 minutes walk called Greenback Eatery that serves the freshest seafood meals at a very reasonable price. The airconditioning was also a blessing as some of the evenings were quite cool. The only drawback was the location at the top of a hill on Anderson Road. All in all, Earl's Anchorage is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandaSandhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boambee east
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We have just returned from a 5 day holiday at Earls Anchorage and cannot praise the superb accom, excellent surroundings and wonderful staff. From the moment we arrived at the airport and driven firstly around the island and then on to the very well set-up unit our expectations were well and truly satisfied. We have in the past booked accom. through a search via the internet and can honestly say that one does not always get what is expected and can be very disappointing and costly, but this time we really hit the jackpot.
Would highly reccomend if you are thinking about going to Lord Howe to check out this great place and also include dinner etc at their restaurant "Humpty Micks" if not then its an experience of great food that you will be sorry that you missed. Our taste buds will never be the same again.Fine dining is made so much more wonderful by the excellent presentation and love of cooking that is shown by the staff that work there which in this case is above more then average of other establishments on the mainland that we have dined at. Congratulations to Earls and all involved with them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sootycatBoambeeEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Let me start with saying Lord Howe island is one of my favorite weekend escapes from Sydney. This little spec in the pacific has to be one the most incredible islands on earth with the perfect balance of limited development and amazing natural beauty.

When traveling to the island, I can not recommend Earl's Anchorage enough. The hosts John and Kathy are beyond outstanding, friendly and extremely accommodating. From the moment you are picked up at the airport, you feel as if you are being welcomed home. The accommodation is top notch all the way -- extremely clean and modern -- massively spacious -- and a convenient walk / bike ride to all of the Island's main beaches and hikes. Best of all -- it has AC for crazy hot days!

As for the Island -- well I think the pictures speak for themselves. This place is a true gem ... it really allows you to escape city life and immediately de-stress. I can't think of a better weekend get-a-way or holiday!

Kudos to John and Kathy for running such a top notch accommodation ... I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolatosyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We spent seven days at Earls at could nt fault a thing.
Lindy and her staff were all so friendly and informative as to the best way to get the most out of our stay as were all the locals who would drop in to the room to fill us in on timetables and stuff.
The cabin suited us perfectly, it was just like being at home.
None of us stopped for long between diving,snorkeling,climbing,photo shoots of fantastic sunrises/sunsets, riding ,fish feeding,turtle swimming eating great b.b.q fish caught on charter boats , I could go on for ever.
We are booking same cabin same time next year , just cant wait
All the shop and eatery people make you feel very welcome which is a refreshing change to a lot of destinations.
Well done to all on the Island see you next year.
Kevin,Paola,Joel, Mia and Rob.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kp_outthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My husband and I (from Colorado in the US) and two friends from near Byron Bay stayed for a week recently at Earl's Anchorage. We can't say enough about the experience and our stay there. The accomodation was perfect from the clean condition of the unit to the well stocked kitchen area and BBQ that we didn't have to clean! Every detail had been considered. We arrived on a Sunday and were met by Lindy (the property manager who always seemed to be there when we needed her) who took us on a tour of the Island (didn't take long as it isn't large) while our luggage was offloaded from the plane. What we didn't realize was how lucky we were to arrive without incident as for the next two days the airport was closed! After the tour she took us to our cottage where we found everything exactly like it had been pictured on the site. A real treat, no touched up photos here. Since it was off season there were few options available for dining and other activitites, but we found plenty to fill our time. We took all the available hikes (other than Mt. Gower which we decided to do too late and missed the 2 days a week the guided hikes were being offered), a glass bottom boat and snorkle trip (wth EHI, the only option open at the time, but well worth it) and a boat ride around the Island and out to Balls Pyramid (the sea stack about 25 km out) with Ian. Every day was terrific and even when the weather wasn't perfect it did not hamper our activities. Eating at Humpty Micks was great (tho expensive, think Sydney prices plus). Our fish fry at the Bowling Club and jazz night at Pinetrees were also excellent. We even found the fish who came right up to us at Ned's Beach to be hand fed were exactly like those pictured, again, a pleasant surprise. All in all I can't think of anything negative about the experience. The bikes which we were provided were adequate, but clearly the worse for wear. That is the only thing that could be improved upon, a little lubricant and a tarp to protect them from the weather would go a long way. All in all, however, it is a small thing, and we still managed to use them to get around when our destinations were a bit too far to walk. I would recommend this accomodation and the Island to anyone who is interested in an active, yet fairly quiet holiday. If you are looking for action or night life, go elsewhere, but after a full day hiking and taking advantage of the outdoor activities the island offered, we were ready for a quiet nite and an early bedtime. I spoke to someone as we were leaving who had been there 50 years previously and she said that except for the improved accomodation and eating options (during the season, I assume, since ours were very limited) the Island was basically unchanged.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyandDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

My fiance and I stayed at Earl's last year on our second visit to LHI. On our first visit some years earlier we had stayed at Milky Way, which was fine but we wanted a change.

I call my partner Mr Five Star and he would have loved to stay at Capella, but as already pointed out by others on the site, they have a seven star price tag!

Earls is new, clean, secluded with enormous living room, bedroom and bathroom. Check out their website for lots of photos to see what you get. It felt like we were staying in our own self contained house.The kitchen had everything we needed and we cooked our own food in there and on our BBQ for four of the five nights we stayed. Bathrooms come equipped with washing machines and some toileteries. The only thing that took some getting used to is the lack of blinds/curtains on all the windows except the bedroom (blinds that don't keep out the light - forget sleeping in). I felt a bit exposed for the first couple of nights but got used to it after a while. There are robes supplied - make sure you use them if you aren't an exhibitionist!

We stayed in August and were grateful for the reverse cycle air conditioning in both the bedroom and living room, as it certainly took the chill off a couple of cool evenings. They also have pay TV with great reception on all channels. We made the most of this on the couple of days when it was just too wet and rainy to go out. Each morning the room is serviced, all the dishes are washed up, beds made and the mini bar, snacks etc. replenished. The manager was a non-local when we stayed, which I think made us feel like we were getting independent advice on the various things to see and do, places to eat and shop etc.

We didn't bother with bikes, just walked to the shops with the backpacks that are included in the unit. Earls is located in the centre of the island, so you can easily walk to any of the shops, bottlo or beaches. We shopped at Thompsons, Top Shop and Joys - I'd recommend Joys for everyday groceries and Top Shop for fresh meat, fruit and veg. We made good use of the fish n fillet service - fill in your order form and leave it in the box at Joys, then wait for the fish to be delivered to your door. Great on the BBQ!

We were so impressed by the standard of accomodation we have booked another holiday to Earl's for August this year.

LHI is great place for nature lovers and those looking to get away from it all. We love to visit in winter as there are less people, the flights and accomodation are more affordable, and each time we have been, the weather has been good enough to go swimming on at least half of the days we stayed.

  • Liked — Private, modern, spacious, secluded, everything we needed
  • Disliked — Everything we needed, but would have liked curtains on the windows!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsFiveStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Earls consists of six private separate sunny cabins / cottages, probably the newest accommodation on this very low key island. Architecturally designed in a tasteful (and subtle) nautical theme, the cabins are well kitted out in a luxury apartment style. Self catering, however the local groceries aren't cheap, range is limited, and not so fresh (LH is a remote island so shipping costs of goods is passed on to the visitors) July / August is the low season so there is not much in dining choices - best to visit pre- July or post August
Very peaceful, well located and probably the best value on the island.


  • Liked — Spacious with sunny aspect
  • Disliked — Lack of window coverings to some windows
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happydaysSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#4 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl's Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl's Anchorage

Property: Earl's Anchorage
Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Earl's Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earl’s Anchorage on World Heritage Listed Lord Howe Island boasts a tranquil, private and central location with convenient and easy access to the main beaches and walks on both sides of spectacular Lord Howe Island. Earls Anchorage is surrounded by the endemic Lord Howe Island Kentia Palms, each bungalow on the six acre property offers absolute privacy to ensure your stay is completely undisturbed. The self-contained bungalow’s are each named after one of Jack Earl’s famous Australian yachts and have been uniquely designed by Arcoessence Architects to take advantage of the sunny (northern) aspect of the property. All six bungalow’s link via boardwalk surrounded by the sub-tropical vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Earl's Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing