We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Capella Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capella Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 28, 2006

I have been lucky enough to visit Lord Howe Island on a number of different occasions, and I would have to say that it is truly one of the most beautiful and enjoyable places for a holiday in Australia.

I was so pleasantly surprised to hear that Capella Lodge had been renovated and now Lord Howe had somewhere truly special to stay.

My husband and I were blown away by the quality, detail and care that this boutique hotel now possesses.

We had an absolute wonderful time, and our only complaint would have been that due to its popularity it was rather hard to secure the dates for our return stay.

I would highly recommend this hotel and this destination

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
212
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2006

My husband and 6 month old son stayed at Capella last November for 4 nights and thought that it was a fabulous experience. The Owners, James and Hayley Baillie, have done a remarkable job in the lodge renovation, menu selection and staff training.

It has the most fantastic, owe-inspiring view from its dining room and it is the perfect setting for sunset cocktails. By day, they send you off with picnic lunches to explore the island's many beaches. The island is truly a naturalists paradise.

I highly recommend staying at Capella Lodge- for its service and its boutique furnishings. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is so very accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2006

Lord Howe Island is such a delight. Knowing little about it, the plane trip in set up what a treat we were in for - stunning scenery, hills, green pastures, pristine coastline and azure blue sea.

And what we loved about Capella Lodge is how it capitalises on all that natural beauty. I don't think any other restaurant in Australia could compete with the views that you enjoy from the one at Capella, looking directly out at the rocky mountains as you eat is quite a dining experience. What's more, you enjoy the same view from your bedroom!

Whoever designed the Lodge has done a world-class job. Not only are the views stunning, but the cocktail hour makes it the friendliest place we've stayed in as well. Sitting in front of the big open fireplace, we had a delightful time meeting all the other guests.

Capella is not a cheap experience, but for the quality of the Lodge, the superbly fitted-out rooms, great breakfasts and dinners (included in the price), topped with the beauty of the location, it has to be one of the most luxurious and stunning places to stay in Australia. Lord Howe offers so much, it would be a shame not to include it in any travels around Australia.

Helpful?
10 Thank holidayzwithkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

I spent 5 days at Capella Lodge on Lord Howe Island in September 2005. It was one of the best experience of my travelling life, which is why I believe it deserves a mention on this web site. I don't really like doing this, because it would be lovely to keep Capella as a hidden secret, but she really does outshine any place that I have been to.
The attention to detail was probably one of the noticable differences that made Capella what it is today. From the rooms to the food, to the spa, to the staff's attitude, there is not one thing that I could fault with the property. Nothing is too much hassle for the staff, which is becoming a bit of a novalty these days. The rooms were so clean, and each night when I came in from the most delectable dinners, the staff had prepared an oil burner with the most beautiful scent, that just seem to waft through the room and welcome me back in.
I am a single traveller, and it was amazing how welcoming the lodge staff made me, never allowing me to feel like I was a "Loner" -that can be an empty feeling sometimes.
The Lodge is nestled on top of a slight hill, above lovers beach (a beautiful little alcove where I spent most of my lazy days!!). The lodge also arranged trips to Neds beach, and anywhere else that was interesting to see on the island.
All in all, it was really a fabulous experience, and have recommended it to many people, and will continue to recommend it for many years to come. Well done to all the people behind the scenes, you really know how to make some one feel special.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JaccBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
2.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#6 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Lodge

Property: Capella Lodge
Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capella Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as the pinnacle of luxury on World Heritage-listed Lord Howe Island, Capella Lodge rests atop romantic Lovers Bay. An inspired architectural design welcomes spectacular views of the ocean, reef and mountains into the Lodge.A short flight from Australia’s east coast transports visitors to a real ‘treasure island’. Capella’s nine contemporary island-style suites are designed to complement Lord Howe’s pristine natural environment. Luxurious surrounds, exceptional island-inspired dining and unforgettable ‘first-name’ service combine to create an outstanding Lord Howe Island lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capella Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Resort All Inclusive
Capella Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing