We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LHI - What a Place”
Review of Capella Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capella Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LHI - What a Place”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spent four days on LHI, staying at Capella Lodge. From the airport pickup to the trip home, they could not do enough you. This establishment is small with only 9 suites but it is not small on service, quality or helpfulness of the staff. As much as possible, the food is local and of great quality. Great wines too. Lots to do on the island. Recommend Ned's Beach, Mt Eliza climb (not easy but rewarding), glass bottom boat & snorkeling and riding your pusk bike about. The local museum is a must too. The weather at this time of the year can change quickly so be prepared. Great experience.

Room Tip: Any suite is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
206
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We visited Capella for a second visit and loved it as much as the first time. Mark and Libby do a great job and are funny and relaxed and the whole team are lovely. The Head Chef Peter Smit and his team create the most amazing food, we were treated to a degustation menu that was just incredible, six courses of perfection.(I was glad that I managed to fit in the honeycomb made from local honey to go with the blue cheese cheesecake) The two rooms we have stayed in were both lovely with stunning views of Gower and Lidgbird, I don't think it would be possible to ever get tired of that view, lord Howe island or Capella Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naginb0ttle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We went as a family of 4 in April 2014. We had known friends and family who have been to LH but never to Capella. We are a well traveled (mainly overseas) young family and my wife and I have stayed at several of the other Australian 'lodges' such as Saffire and Qualia.

To be frank we were quite amazed by both Capella and LH. As everyone else seems to comment, how is it that more people don't know about it / go there.

Capella as less 'stiff' than Saffire, and more gregarious than Qualia. Libby and Mark do a terrific job of making you feel more than welcome. It may sound like a tiny point but when we did the Mt Gower walk / climb Libby was there in her car after our 10 hour hike to pick us up at the gate. It perhaps saved us an 800 yard walk but those last 800 yards would have been torture! Libby and Mark did lots of 'little things' like this.....they add up to a superb experience.

Our girls muchly enjoyed canapes and 'mocktails' every evening, but Capella is not overrun by kids rest assured. The level of service was exceptional but perhaps not as 'stiff' as others. Just like clothing I guess, different styles for different people.

There is more to do on LH than one see's at first glance. We stayed 5 nights on this our first trip. We will be looking to go back for 3 days each March. We think we may have found our place where we are most comfortable.

Also; thanks Mark for getting the Spa fixed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in a Lagoon Loft. The Lofts have plenty of space, and the views, although filtered by the trees, are wonderful. The resort is modern and the hosts and staff are accommodating and very considerate about guest welfare. If whatever you want to do can be done on the island, they will try to ensure that you get to do it. The food was excellent and the wine choices were plentiful and varied. The presentation provided by the Curator of the small museum was extremely interesting, and should not be missed.
We thought that this would be our one and only visit to Capella Lodge. Now, we are not so sure. It is worth a second trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelnkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A wonderful stay. I had high expectations after a stay at Southern Ocean Lodge and was very happy with his luxury lodge. The Lagoon Lofts are beautiful and I was lucky for upgrade to Lidgbird which is amazing. Food and wine is wonderful. While the lodge is out of the way, this makes it so special. The views are amazing. If you do not want to ride a bike, get in early for a golf buggy. The hosts are more than accommodating with drop offs and pick ups. If you like relaxing and laid back, LHI is perfect. However there are certainly options for walks, hiking, snorkeling and day trips to keep you occupied.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

luxury accommodation. Would have liked a better pool - it's small and has no chairs round it. It's right at the bar and a bit public. Excellent food and fun social stuff with drinks and chatting with other guests at Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteBrisbane157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Superb location, this is a beautiful island with World Heritage status and the lodge is at the far end of the island, beautiful views overlooking Lovers Bay.This place only takes 20 guests and the total visitors are limited to 200, there are very few cars and bycles are provided as a good way to see the island.
The main area has the lounge area and dining area, the staff know their stuff and are excellent, food is really good and interesting and matched to wines.
We have also stayed at Saffire in Tasmania recently and we rate this place on a par with a slightly more relaxed feel to it which is well suited to a semi tropical island.
There are whole families here with the grandparents as well which is good to see and children are allowed to stay once they are over 6 years old. There are things for them to do but they do need to be able to partake of the swimming and snorkelling and cycling here to get the most out of it.
There is a children's menu for dining and drinks,non alcoholic are available in the rooms and the main area all day.
We have really enjoyed our stay here as it has been so relaxing despite some interesting weather.We are travelling for 2 months seeing as much as possible of this fantastic country and this has provided a total break for 4 days of just doing whatever

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
2.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#6 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Lodge

Property: Capella Lodge
Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capella Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as the pinnacle of luxury on World Heritage-listed Lord Howe Island, Capella Lodge rests atop romantic Lovers Bay. An inspired architectural design welcomes spectacular views of the ocean, reef and mountains into the Lodge.A short flight from Australia’s east coast transports visitors to a real ‘treasure island’. Capella’s nine contemporary island-style suites are designed to complement Lord Howe’s pristine natural environment. Luxurious surrounds, exceptional island-inspired dining and unforgettable ‘first-name’ service combine to create an outstanding Lord Howe Island lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Capella Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Resort All Inclusive
Capella Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing