We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”
Review of Pinetrees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pinetrees Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at Pinetrees earlier this year and chose this place due to its reviews. I had always wanted to travel to the island but had no idea what to expect when I got there. I was picked up from the airport by Rachael and was instantly made to feel extremely welcome. The island is stunning, paradise on Earth. Having travelled extensively to islands all over the world. This is the place! I can't commend my stay at Pinetrees highly enough. The food and company of other guests was excellent, but it was the hospitality of the staff that made my stay exceptional. The accommodation is not 5 star, but I never expected it to be. The rooms are very modernly furnished yet quaint and fitting with the history of the hotel. I felt like I was very privileged to be invited into this hotel as it feels like a home away from home, rather than clinically run hotel. I stayed for 6 days in March, but that wasn't enough. I told Jim at the airport that I would see everyone next year and I've already booked time off to come back, next time for 2 weeks. So see you all at Pinetrees again next March. I adore this island and Pinetrees is the place to stay due to its location on the island, the amazing food and the hospitality of the staff. The hospitality of the staff is what makes Pinetrees such a very, very special and unique hotel. As said, you don't feel like a guest at Pinetrees, you feel like a friend coming home for a visit. You guys rock. See you again next March. I am a female solo traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Iksana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Pinetrees Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 388 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 6 days on LHI in Sep. The island is UNESCO heritage listed, is the southernmost coarl reef in the world, has no mobile (cell) 'phone reception & few cars.
We stayed at "Pinetrees" a family run motel-style accommodation, which included all meals. The food was varied & excellent. The staff were all extremely friendly & helpful. The accommodation comfortable.The island, though small, offers diverse length & standard of walking tracks, as well as glass bottomed boat tours, snorkelling & scuba diving, kayaking & of course swimming. As only 400 visitors are permitted at one time, crowding is never a problem. Most people walk or cycle.
This was one of the best holidays (vacations) we've ever had - it combined a healthy dose of beautiful walks & gourmet meals with friendly honest people (doors are not locked) & a warm family atmosphere at Pinetrees.

Room Tip: The "pines" rooms were close to the tennis court & a short walk across the road to the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vacenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have a very full schedule during school terms and were looking for a quiet and relaxing time away from the normal activities. Coming from a regional area, we are fortunate to to able to travel four times a year in the school breaks but usually we are just as active on holidays as in the business! Well, Lord Howe and Pinetrees was perfect. Not only is it just a short flight from Brisbane or Sydney but the setting is world class. From the moment we were met at the airport by Dani (who leads her capable staff very well) to the sad afternoon seven days later when we left our highest expectations were surpassed. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and private. The meals and service of a very high quality. It is fun to hire the bikes (we had not ridden for 20 years but that was not a problem) and to explore the island. Get involved with the locals by playing golf on Fridays, lawn bowls and anything else that is going. Make sure you take the fishing trip. Between 5 non-fishers we caught 14 fish of which 5 were over 1.35m long and about 200kg of fillets!! We threw back the small ones (under 65 cms). The lunch bar-b-que of fresh fish was sent to the beach by Pinetrees the next day. What a great option to cycle to the beach and EVERYTHING to be there when you arrive. By the way, it is so relaxing and trusting at Lord Howe that you don't even have room keys and you can drink whatever you want on an honour system! If you need a recharge this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Transit Hill was private with garden outlook.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael_McFadyen, Owner at Pinetrees Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Steveberna,

Thanks for your wonderful feedback during your stay at Pinetrees. Luke, Dani, Jim and I all love hearing how much our guests have enjoyed their time with us. Our number of return guests ( even some 50 years later) show how special the place is. The BBQ's delivered to one of many beaches is a great way to explore the island and to settle in relax and enjoy!!.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Myself and 5 other friends stayed at Pine Trees for 6 days as part of the September Spring Wellness Retreat. Firstly, Lord Howe Island is astoundingly beautiful and Pinetrees is set in a very picturesque location close to The Lagoon. We attended Charlotte Dodsons Dynamic Hatha yoga classes twice daily (situated inside the Pinetrees boatshed overlooking The Lagoon- stunning setting), we hired bikes and cycled all over the island and completed some lovely walks as well as some R&R time. Throughout the holiday we were guided by very well informed friendly Pinetrees staff, who advised us daily on what might be an appropriate activity. On those occasions where we were out for lunch, Pinetrees provided us with a packed lunch or they transported a gourment BBQ hamper to our destination for the day.

For the more active folk, there was also the option of some bootcamp style activities daily. There was also the option of attending organic gardening classes with an agricultural ecologist AND not to mention the option of having spa treatments too...

We stayed in the very comfortable 4 bedroom cottage, the beds were comfortable and after a very full day we al slept remarkably well.

We attended marvellous cooking classes with Executive Chef Paul Brown, who was very engaging and approachable (as well as being a very talented chef). The food was divine at every meal with a wholefood option available at every meal. I highly recommend a trip to Pinetrees. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating is because whilst the accomodation is very comfortable, it is basic. However, I would rate my overall experience as 5 star, as Lord Howe Island and Pinetrees is well worth a visit and I cannot wait to return with my family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael_McFadyen, General Manager at Pinetrees Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thankyou for your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay during the wellness week.

It was a week packed full of fun activities and wonderful food. Due to overwhelming demand we are having it again this November. Keep a look out on our website for more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as an extended family in 4 bedroom cottage. Accommodation was tasteful, practical , very comfortable, quality linen and everything was available.
Staff were incredibly accommodating as family member had been very Ill and had incredibly specific dietary requirements. The chef provided tasty attractive individual meals with unfailing interest and imagination, we were delighted beyond our wildest dreams.
The location is ideal with such easy access to our almost private beach. Paradise on earth

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooksflyfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael_McFadyen, General Manager at Pinetrees Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thankyou for your feedback. It is always great hearing from our guests about the amazing time they had at Pinetrees. Being the only Guesthouse on the island with Beachfront access is a bonus.
As you said, just like your own private beach.

We are glad you enjoyed your meals during your stay and your family member was also happy given their dietary requirements and special needs. Our chefs are fantastic and anything is possible. We are always accommodating with special dietary requirements, kids or baby meals.

Thanks again for coming and experiencing Pinetrees. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I travel a lot for work, so for a week's holiday I wanted somewhere not too far from Sydney. When I discovered that Lord Howe Island was less than two hours flying and that Pinetrees was holding a walking and photography week at the beginning of August, my decision was made - even though my partner had never heard of the place and thought I was mad to go in midwinter. But by the end of it, he couldn't say enough good things about it.

A lot of that was down to the beauty and uniqueness of the island, of course, but a good deal of the credit also has to go to Pinetrees and its wonderful staff. The accommodation at the resort is fairly basic and there are no televisions or radios in the room, but that simply adds to the feeling that you are experiencing a beach holiday like we used to have in Australia twenty five years ago. The units are set up in old style motel rows under the imposing Norfolk Pines, and the social life happens in the main building which has a dining room, bar, lounge and wide verandah.

Meals are exceptional. We ate there for six nights running and never felt a desire to go anywhere else. In fact, at difficult times on the walking tracks, the main thought on our minds was "What's for dinner?" Breakfast was equally enticing, with three choices of main offered as well as a buffet of fruits and cereals. And the packed lunches on the trail and beach barbeques were very high quality. The wine list is short but excellent, and very well priced. The only improvement I would suggest is that it would be nice to have a proper coffee machine and barista.

Staff are uniformly helpful and pleasant - but who wouldn't be living in such an enviable environment? At the end of the week we felt sad to be leaving both Pinetrees and the Island. No question that we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gwen1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael_McFadyen, Owner at Pinetrees Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Hi Gwen,

We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Pinetrees and on Lord Howe Island. Yes it is a truly remarkable hidden paradise and not many people know about us, but with more and more people like you coming and experiencing the beautiful island word will get around.

Pinetrees prides itself on its exceptional food and experience during ones stay. We have 4 chefs who have worked with the likes of Gordon Ramsay, and Peter Kuravita so the food is always amazing.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

What better choice than Pinetrees Lodge Lord Howe Island for a holiday.From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we enjoyed friendly staff,amazing food,clean comfortable accommodation & surroundings.The Island itself is unforgetable.Thankyou to Jim and team for making our holiday an absolute pleasure.Marg & Bill

Room Tip: Garden cottages well set out.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael_McFadyen, General Manager at Pinetrees Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Hi Marg and Bill.

Thankyou for the great feedback on what a great time you had with us at Pinetrees.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
1.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#6 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinetrees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinetrees Lodge

Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: $708 - $1,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinetrees Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinetrees Lodge is the perfect place to relax and escape the stress of everyday life. We provide exceptional meals, personalised service, elegant accommodation and a beautiful waterfront location on Lagoon Beach. Our boatshed is a great place for a shower after your swim in the lagoon, or for a cold beer or champagne while watching the sunset. Enjoy world-class snorkelling, diving, surfing, walking, kayaking and gold, or just relax on Australia's most beautiful island. Stay with us once and you'll understand why so many guests come back to visit every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinetrees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinetrees Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing