We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinetrees Lord Howe Island”
Review of Pinetrees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pinetrees Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

What better choice than Pinetrees Lodge Lord Howe Island for a holiday.From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we enjoyed friendly staff,amazing food,clean comfortable accommodation & surroundings.The Island itself is unforgetable.Thankyou to Jim and team for making our holiday an absolute pleasure.Marg & Bill

Room Tip: Garden cottages well set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael_McFadyen, General Manager at Pinetrees Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Hi Marg and Bill.

Thankyou for the great feedback on what a great time you had with us at Pinetrees.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 408 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

Exceptional island holiday. Accommodation at Pinetrees Resort was basic but clean and very comfortable. Staff couldn't do enough to help make my stay a great one. Everyone very friendly, meals exceptional. Rooms aren't 5 star, but you don't spend much time in them anyway. Will definitely be returning again to Pinetrees. As a female solo traveller I felt totally comfortable as staff seat you with other solo guests for meals. Walking tracks are manageable on your own or you can join a guided tour. Lots to do and one week wasn't enough time. If your idea of a holiday is jumping in a car and doing lots of shopping then Lord Howe not for you.

Room Tip: I had a Palm Unit and these I think are the best because they get the morning sun, they are also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robfin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael_McFadyen, Owner at Pinetrees Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad to hear how you enjoyed your time with us. As a solo traveller, a couple or a group, Pinetrees goes 110% to making your time memorable. It is well known amongst our guests, that life long friendships are made while sitting in the lounge by the fire or on the boatshed deck watching a sunset, so mixing the tables up is something we know people enjoy.

See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Like the family run historic inns and lodges of the California Coast and Hawaii, Pinetrees Lodge tucked behind the shoreline of Lord Howe Island is a comfy retreat, meal-inclusive gourmand and wine haven plus a tradition of restful grace. Holding up to 80 guests in a variety of homey units without the distraction and noise of TVs, radios and cell phones, it’s a fitting close to my ten days here where my comforting unit offers me a cocoon and the great assortment of people here make it a lively dinner conversation venue if you want it.

It finely balances modern touches like iPod Sound Docks without sacrificing the traditional housing and central lodge which has indoor and outdoor dining. Sushi, kingfish sashimi and outstanding fish and chips are the go for Friday and each night’s dinner was a delight. I’ll be coming back here soon. Lord Howe is a wondrous destination, uncrowded, welcoming and diverse in attractions without being any way touristy. It truly is ‘The Last Paradise’ and Pinetrees is its longest running accommodation.

Oh and regarding the rat bait that the other person found, there is a concerted effort on the island by all citizens and businesses to eliminate rats which kill fauna here and have been on the island only since a ship wrecked here. There are traps around the island where birds breed as well as individual baits where the animals might come. It is not an indication of any problem here. I'm a country boy and used to spotting them. I haven't seen one in the ten days I've been on Lord Howe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank trippsterSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael_McFadyen, General Manager at Pinetrees Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thanks for your feedback tripster. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we are a family business with myself ( rachael) my husband Jim, Dani and Luke looking after Pinetrees.

The beauty of no TV's, radios and mobile phones gives us that uniqueness and also the opportunity for our guests to really "getaway" from it all.

Thankyou for mentioning the rat baits and how we DONT use them or even have them here at Pinetrees. You are correct in that the local government body utilises traps but not us here at Pinetrees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We had to stay at Pinetrees for 1 night due to flight cancellation. We were in a family suite to our suprise in the bedroom on the floor in clear sight was rat sack. Pinetrees is a family resort.
We had no clock,phone or television which is fine. The dinner at night was fine breakfast very basic.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NanapaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 29, 2012

This review is entirely inaccurate and offensive. We have reported this review to TripAdvisor on the basis that it does not meet TripAdvisor’s guidelines. We have asked TripAdvisor to remove this review immediately.

Pinetrees does not use ratsak or any other rat poison in its rooms. If the reviewer had raised this concern with us at the time, we could have cleared it up on the spot. The reviewer’s flight was cancelled, onward connections missed and they were unable to return to their hotel – no doubt a stressful and difficult situation. We are very sorry that they did not enjoy their experience at Pinetrees. However, the central allegation is simply untrue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Lord Howe Island is an escape away from the world, I adore the island, but when i am paying as much as Pinetrees costs I don't expect to have a showerhead that is green, covered in lime or whatever it was. To have the staff appear totally disinterested and forget my drink, food or mix up orders again and again and appear disheveled and hungover.

Yes, the food was exceptional. The dessert buffet was amazing and we had seconds.
But it was disappointing and when we return we'll go elsewhere for the same experience.
The picnic baskets a great idea.

Maybe we went on an off week.
We did meet Jim, he was a nice guy, friendly.
And one of the chefs helped us out with island hints.

But for the price there are many other islands i could visit and pay to get upgraded to somewhere nice with exceptional service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank OutandaboutAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

At first glance this appears to be an expensive holiday, but when you consider effort required to feed yourself, cook it, clean up, this becomes reasonable value. Great service, friendly staff, relaxes, simple delicious food..would stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed at Pinetrees for 5 nights...And if we go back, will stay there again! As a family run business they've managed to maintain their hospitality, friendliness and personalized service.
The accommodation is basic and clean. (They do provide fresh beach towels everyday, which is an awesome idea if you think about it!) The food is great! We ate in everyday and still weren't bored. Yummy and fresh!
As lunch options, you can either eat in, get sandwiches or a BBQ pack. Get the BBQ pack! They will deliver teh picnic basket and esky to which ever beach you want and pick it up for you. Best.Idea.Ever!
However, I have to make a special comment on the staff. They are friendly and watch out for you. I like sweet breakfasts, and as their hot buffet didnt have many sweet options, my friend asked them if they could do french toast..Next morning, they actually served me with french toast, without us mentioning it again!
Price wise, as the package includes food, it turns out to be quite reasonable, considering how expensive LDH can get.
Overall, the staff was great, the accommodation good, the food amazing and I wont hesitate to say, they made our trip better in several ways!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Global_Traveller_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#6 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinetrees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinetrees Lodge

Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: $718 - $1,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinetrees Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinetrees Lodge is the perfect place to relax and escape the stress of everyday life. We provide exceptional meals, personalised service, elegant accommodation and a beautiful waterfront location on Lagoon Beach. Our boatshed is a great place for a shower after your swim in the lagoon, or for a cold beer or champagne while watching the sunset. Enjoy world-class snorkelling, diving, surfing, walking, kayaking and gold, or just relax on Australia's most beautiful island. Stay with us once and you'll understand why so many guests come back to visit every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Pinetrees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinetrees Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing