We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Yarra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Anchorage is one of the few restaurants (maybe the only) on the island that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. We had several breakfasts here as well as a couple of dinners and morning teas. All the food was terrific, although the breakfasts were a little salty for my liking. The muffins are delicious!Thursday night is pizza night which was very much enjoyed after completing the Mt Gower hike that day. The wait staff are fantastic - attentive and very friendly. A definite winner on the island!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling81teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    128
    31
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“tapas night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Tapas Night. The food was amazing -especially the brussel sprouts! Had a really nice evening :) Also, were dropped off to our accommodation afterwards.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lole-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Outstanding food on offer. Great restaurant with affordable meals that range from snacks to 3 course meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You could also get different types of fresh bread and the staff were very friendly and the food tasted great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“Customer service at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We visited this cafe/restaurant several times during our stay and unreservedly recommend it. My wife is gluten intolerant and asked during our first breakfast visit if they had gluten free bread. 'No, sorry' was the reply,'but we'll make you some overnight and you can collect it this time tomorrow.' There are cafés in Canberra where we live, within walking distance of supermarkets that sell gluten free products, that don't or won't provide gluten free bread. We were impressed.

The food we ate was excellent, in particular the local fish, and the service was just great. Chloe, the staff member from Melbourne, rocks! Sure, it's a bit more expensive than a similar place on the mainland but you have to ship things to the island and that adds to the price. It's worth it. :)

Pete & Helen

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had three evening meals at the Anchorage and were very happy with the whole package. Contrary to other posters about Lord Howe, we found the restaurant prices reasonable, and if anything, a little cheaper than what we would pay on the mainland. And while the options were limited, there were small changes to the menu each day. We loved the Kingfish dishes, including the Sushimi entree, the prawn chilli twister entree was great, and the steaks were also well prepared. Desserts were done well, and they made a great coffee every time. The wine list is limited, but we always found something that hit the spot. Finally we found the staff to be friendly and helpful

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchorage also viewed

Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing