We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good ...but at night .....”

Anchorage Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Anchorage Restaurant, situated just a stones throw from the iconic Lagoon Beach, is the perfect venue, whether it be for morning coffee and breakfast, a quick lunch between walks or tours, a boozy afternoon in the sun, or a relaxing dinner after a hard days exploring. We are open 7 days for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Anchorage Restaurant is your go-to location during your stay.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very Good ...but at night .....”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is THE place to have coffee, several times a day. Not only because it is good but because it is the most convenient
and accessible place in 'town' - well the bunch of shops!

Dinner is quite tasty and very well presented but again 'Nouveau cuisine' (small serves on a big plate). Value is typical
for any restaurant in town. Views across the lagoon are beautiful as the sun goes down. One noticeable detraction is the smell of sewage wafting across on the breeze. It was particularly noticeable in the evening on the Western side (lagoon side) of the restaurant, but was not present during the day. Apparently we were not the only guests at our lodge to report the problem, so it does not seem like an isolated incident.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    141
    33
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Could do better.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

As others have mentioned, the food at The Anchorage, is quite good, if a little expensive. And I must say that the muffins, from the in-house bakery, are to die for and probably the best I have tasted. But the service at the restaurant is on auto-pilot. The young man who is either the manager or front-of-house, is an automaton! He rarely smiles, runs around like a mouse on steroids and dumps orders and drinks on the table without a glance. One of the female wait-staff seems to have taken on the persona of Basil Fawlty; muttering to herself and rolling her eyes at anything she perceives as a 'problem'. I overheard her saying, while watching a potential customer standing near a table perusing the menu, 'Well, sit down, sit down!'. All rather strange. The Anchorage could take a lesson from Pandanus, another LHI eatery, which has got the formula just right.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spudtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good quality but pricey.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was the first restaurant we ate at for dinner on LH. We found it to be good quality but very small serves and overpriced.Fine if you like the 'Big white plate small serve nouveau cuisine style '.
There were no vegetables or salad with our dishes and I guess this would have been an extra cost if requested. It is in a cafe with restaurant prices.We were ravenous and went home feeling like we had just had a taste rather than a meal. During the day the coffee was good and nice to relax there in the sun, and the breakfasts looked great. Their bakery is the best with lovely sourdough bread .Bit astounded that they wear no gloves when handling the bread and go from till to food and back again without a second thought.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I ate at six different restaurants during our stay and we had the best meal at the Anchorage. We had the Rosy Job fish. This was a whole fish which was deep fried and served with a spicy, red curry type paste, green mango salad and steamed rice. It was delicious. We also bought a number of their delicious muffins during the week. We did find the lunch time salad rolls to be very over priced. Most of the staff were lovely but unfortunately one was very stern.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank enialed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent location”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Anchorage was very convenient to Blue Lagoon Lodge and was open for breakfast right through to dinner. Food was excellent for all meals and the bakery an added bonus - their filled rolls were great to take on walks and their muffins just yummy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwi13john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Restaurant also viewed

Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 

Been to Anchorage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing